Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good but basic
I can recommend this along with make: electronics by Charles Platt for the beginner.
it is a basic look at electronics, very light on math directing the reader to online calculators instead of showing the relative equations. the overuse of arduino is the only downside for me. there are some very good ideas in the book which gave me ideas for hacks of my own.
if...
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK
Not exactly what I expected, when early on in the book there is a statement informing the reader not to worry about capacitors as they are not important in the context of this book. One has to worry that it is not going to be great. Sadly that proved true.
Published 12 months ago by Rob.B (Derby)


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good but basic, 11 Jan 2014
This review is from: Hacking Electronics: An Illustrated DIY Guide for Makers and Hobbyists (Kindle Edition)
I can recommend this along with make: electronics by Charles Platt for the beginner.
it is a basic look at electronics, very light on math directing the reader to online calculators instead of showing the relative equations. the overuse of arduino is the only downside for me. there are some very good ideas in the book which gave me ideas for hacks of my own.
if you are looking for a book to learn electronics as a novice, I highly recommend it. if you have some knowledge and want to learn the math and the subject in depth, try practical electronics for inventors, much harder going but fantastically in-depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and asset, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well laid out and easy to follow with plenty of examples and references to other good resources. Just what I needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 May 2013
By 
Frank Mill (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first half of this book is a stimulating description of a wide array of topics of importance in practical electronics. It's full of the useful sort of stuff you don't get in textbooks but which you need to know, eg how to choose and use transistors or how many different types of battery behave. The second half of the book covers the use of micro-controllers and is mostly based on the Arduino, however if you don't have one of these marvelous devices you'll probably want to fork out 25 to buy one.
Throughout the whole book the choice of projects are extremely interesting, eg how to use ultrasonic rangefinders or how to switch a relay from the a web page with an Android phone. The coverage of how to carry out each project is comprehensive and includes program code as well as the electronics.
All in all the book is an excellent motivational vehicle to help you learn practical electronics whether you just work through the book for fun or intend to carry on to bigger projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hacking Electronics: An Illustrated DIY Guide for Makers and Hobbyists (Kindle Edition)
Not exactly what I expected, when early on in the book there is a statement informing the reader not to worry about capacitors as they are not important in the context of this book. One has to worry that it is not going to be great. Sadly that proved true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for hobby electronics and Arduino, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If your not convinced about purchasing this book, then head over to Adafruit and see some of the super tutorials created by Simon Monk for Arduino and Raspberry Pi.

Excellent, clear guide for hobbyist electronics and DIY makers. Recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book !!!, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, takes you from the basics through to circuit board design, really interesting for the novice & an ideal book for leaning from, covers a lot of subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a book on Hacking, more a book on Arduino, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Jim (UK north west) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a book on Arduino I would give this 5 stars, however I bought a book on ' hacking everyday household items' which this is not !

How is buying an arduino and a shield and then connecting them up ( however well written) 'hacking ' ?

I already have several books on Arduino , so this book was of no use to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, loads of things to do, 7 July 2014
By 
jen (cornwall) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book,loads of things to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Well packaged great price bought for my brother
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners bible, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written with a wry sense of humour and aimed perfectly at the beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews