Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars15
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.49

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2006
'Cherry Tree', The National's 3rd album begins with the beautiful 'Wasp Nest', without doubt the best of the 7 tracks here. It's simplicity with just bells for percussion and Berninger's deep baritone voice make this mini-album worth buying just for the one track. 'All the Wine' is also great, used again on their new album 'Alligator'. The remaining tracks are decent especially 'About Today', another beautiful track, and 'I don't mind' as well. A live version of 'Murder Me Rachael' from their previous album makes up the numbers, and i think is used to add some life to the record however it seems out of place. Overall definitely worth buying, and give it time - repeated listens......their debut and 'Alligator' which followed this are their best work.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
This EP is fantastic, any National fan should love it. It has some fantastic songs on including About Today from the soundtrack of Warrior. I'd definitely recommend it. I think it was described by critics as "Like a Battered but Beautifully Butch Butterfly." Which despite being a terrible simile does kind of some up this EP.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
If you've got BOxer or High Violet or Alligator from the National then this a must. Great little ep. Btw, if you Haven't got the aforesaid, then what are you waiting for???? This is a hidden gem from a great band - a must-listen.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2009
This EP by the National, released between their 2nd and 3rd full-length albums, has a real intensity; all of the songs are magnificently crafted, and deliver a huge punch. The song arrangements are in the main simple - in Wasp Nest, All Dolled Up In Straps and About Today, Matt Berninger's beautiful yet haunting vocals really stand out. Cherry Tree is fantastic for the build-up of energy, whilst I had already heard All The Wine from their ensuing album. The last two songs unfortunately didn't really do it for me - the live version of Murder Me Rachel seems, as commented the previous reviewer, out of place, while Reasonable Man just seemed to lack quality in my eyes. However I'm giving the EP a five star review on the strength of the first 5 songs.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
I don't really want to write 19 more words. I think Great would have sufficed. Fish trampoline paint poop tunnel!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
First bought, trouble will find me,just from liking the album cover.never heard a note of theirs before. After that i bought all their music and cherry tree, is my favourite.
So sutble, deep, gentle, moving,haunting and complete. the production on this album seems to be the sonic picture that fits this band perfectly. they've found their voice,so to speak. lucky.......
It's all very well writing songs that chime within the bands members, but if the recording of those songs doesn't chime, then you've got a wreak.
this is sublime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
I heard about 'the national' after hearing a song on a film called warrior (very good film). So bought the album. The album is abit gloomy and what some might call depressing. However in my opinion its because the songs have been written about love with lots of emotion so that comes over in the song. Id say listen to 'about today' and 'all dolled up' and if you like them then give it a go!!!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Not their best album, I think. But it's a nice addition to a "The National" fans collection. I like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
Love this group. This, like thier other albums is brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
am i sad not to have one of the five-hundred or so red vynil pieces they let out of this little treasure.
even though i may agree on some of the things said above, it is the whole that blows me away and makes this EP invaluable to me.
cheery on top: about today. it's a simple, heart piercing song in a way that only songs that talk about something everyone felt at one point can be.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.79
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)