Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cherry On Top..., 21 Feb 2006
This review is from: Cherry Tree (Audio CD)
'Cherry Tree', The National's 3rd album begins with the beautiful 'Wasp Nest', without doubt the best of the 7 tracks here. It's simplicity with just bells for percussion and Berninger's deep baritone voice make this mini-album worth buying just for the one track. 'All the Wine' is also great, used again on their new album 'Alligator'. The remaining tracks are decent especially 'About Today', another beautiful track, and 'I don't mind' as well. A live version of 'Murder Me Rachael' from their previous album makes up the numbers, and i think is used to add some life to the record however it seems out of place. Overall definitely worth buying, and give it time - repeated listens......their debut and 'Alligator' which followed this are their best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic EP, 16 Feb 2009
This review is from: Cherry Tree (Audio CD)
This EP by the National, released between their 2nd and 3rd full-length albums, has a real intensity; all of the songs are magnificently crafted, and deliver a huge punch. The song arrangements are in the main simple - in Wasp Nest, All Dolled Up In Straps and About Today, Matt Berninger's beautiful yet haunting vocals really stand out. Cherry Tree is fantastic for the build-up of energy, whilst I had already heard All The Wine from their ensuing album. The last two songs unfortunately didn't really do it for me - the live version of Murder Me Rachel seems, as commented the previous reviewer, out of place, while Reasonable Man just seemed to lack quality in my eyes. However I'm giving the EP a five star review on the strength of the first 5 songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic from a great band., 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cherry Tree (Audio CD)
If you've got BOxer or High Violet or Alligator from the National then this a must. Great little ep. Btw, if you Haven't got the aforesaid, then what are you waiting for???? This is a hidden gem from a great band - a must-listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cherry Tree EP, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cherry Tree (Audio CD)
This EP is fantastic, any National fan should love it. It has some fantastic songs on including About Today from the soundtrack of Warrior. I'd definitely recommend it. I think it was described by critics as "Like a Battered but Beautifully Butch Butterfly." Which despite being a terrible simile does kind of some up this EP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cherry Tree EP [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I don't really want to write 19 more words. I think Great would have sufficed. Fish trampoline paint poop tunnel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy it., 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cherry Tree (Audio CD)
First bought, trouble will find me,just from liking the album cover.never heard a note of theirs before. After that i bought all their music and cherry tree, is my favourite.
So sutble, deep, gentle, moving,haunting and complete. the production on this album seems to be the sonic picture that fits this band perfectly. they've found their voice,so to speak. lucky.......
It's all very well writing songs that chime within the bands members, but if the recording of those songs doesn't chime, then you've got a wreak.
this is sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not their best album, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cherry Tree (Audio CD)
Not their best album, I think. But it's a nice addition to a "The National" fans collection. I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good album, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cherry Tree (Audio CD)
I heard about 'the national' after hearing a song on a film called warrior (very good film). So bought the album. The album is abit gloomy and what some might call depressing. However in my opinion its because the songs have been written about love with lots of emotion so that comes over in the song. Id say listen to 'about today' and 'all dolled up' and if you like them then give it a go!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cherry picked, 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: Cherry Tree (Audio CD)
am i sad not to have one of the five-hundred or so red vynil pieces they let out of this little treasure.
even though i may agree on some of the things said above, it is the whole that blows me away and makes this EP invaluable to me.
cheery on top: about today. it's a simple, heart piercing song in a way that only songs that talk about something everyone felt at one point can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 12 Nov 2011
By 
kj coleman (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cherry Tree (Audio CD)
love the national
this is super melodic thoughtful moreish
love dolled up in straps
hes got a great voice
reminds me of alan measles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cherry Tree
Cherry Tree by The National
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews