Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy lightweight protection for iPad body and screen – but feels cheap
This item from the Amazon Basics range constitutes basic protection for your iPad Mini’s body and screen. The body armour consist of a black plastic shell of approximately 3mm thickness. The screen protection is a coated plastic stick-on leaf with adhesive. Priced at entry level, this protection is both accessible and good value when one takes into account that...
Published 13 months ago by Kurt Steiner

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap. tacky Looks Rubbish.
This is an inexpensive protective cover for your i-pad which will protect it from scratches and bumps. The added screen protector will protect the screen.
Pure and simple?

Well actually no.
It must be one of the ugliest protective covers that I have seen.
It has nothing going for it at all.
The plastic is a magnet for finger prints.
I...
Published 11 months ago by Glenn Cook


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy lightweight protection for iPad body and screen – but feels cheap, 17 April 2014
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This item from the Amazon Basics range constitutes basic protection for your iPad Mini’s body and screen. The body armour consist of a black plastic shell of approximately 3mm thickness. The screen protection is a coated plastic stick-on leaf with adhesive. Priced at entry level, this protection is both accessible and good value when one takes into account that scratches to the iPad Mini’s body are, in effect, unremediable and screen replacement costs start from GBP85-00, or nearly 50% of the purchase price when you factor in postage & hassle (time lost).

The cover is easily fitted by starting with 2 corners, clicking them into the hard shell and then repeating the process for the remaining 2 corners. Cutouts ensure continued access to volume, screen rotation and on/off switch as well as jack and rear camera. Our iPad Mini is fitted with an Apple leather soft cover, which continues to work well with the hard shell fitted. With a thickness of some 3mm, the shell rim is hardly visible when looking at the screen.

The screen protector is the standard finicky self-adhesive plastic sheet which requires some practice to fit without bubbles and sticking out of the screen area.
All in all, this is a good affordable piece of advisable protection for your iPad Mini which can be easily fitted. It’s only minus is the flimsy appearance of the glossy plastic which takes away from the Apple iPad’s beautiful design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap. tacky Looks Rubbish., 20 Jun. 2014
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an inexpensive protective cover for your i-pad which will protect it from scratches and bumps. The added screen protector will protect the screen.
Pure and simple?

Well actually no.
It must be one of the ugliest protective covers that I have seen.
It has nothing going for it at all.
The plastic is a magnet for finger prints.
I fitted the cover to the i pad and the back was covered with marks the plastic is reflective- it made the whole thing look tatty.

In fairness it fitted perfectly with all the slots and holes in the correct place.
After a few maneuvers it fitted in place firmly.

Now I simply cannot imagine anyone who has shelled out for an I pad mini will want to encase their beautiful little machine in such a cheap looking shell.

It's a bit like Naomi Campbell or Kate Moss going to George at Asda.
Yes the clothes do their job but they can afford better?

UNLESS they want to disguise that they are carrying an I Pad and want to convince a potential thief that it is simply not worth bothering for a cheap tablet.

If ever there was a lump of plastic that could use a design makeover then this is is it.

It has all the attractions of a Council provided wheelie bin - and an aged one at that.

This is a cheap protector and looks the part.
If you want a really cheapo protector that looks naff then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hassle free for your Mini, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
The Honest Cynic (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is about as frill-free as you could possibly want, and the packaging photo is exactly what you get: The case, screen protector and a squeedgie to press out all the trapped air bubbles.

It's discreet scratch protection for the back of your iPad mini made out of lightweight polished plastic, snaps on easily (do two corners at a time if you want to avoid excessive force putting it on) and allows access to all the buttons, plug in ports and the magnetic strip for the smart cover, which is why there's no plastic on the left side.

Note that there's no soft tissue to wipe your screen before applying the screen protecting film, so I advise looking for some lint-free cloth like a lens wipe before applying to remove any finger grease and dust. Pair up with a smart cover for all round iPad protection.

The plastic is a magnet for greasy prints though, but if you want protection over glamour this is a quick and easy choice at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does a job, 30 May 2014
By 
Socks (Britain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This does what it is supposed to do, hence the four stars.

However it is fairly cheap looking and thin plastic, and is just...well... Plasticky...

But it does give the iPad mini some protection from scratches etc, so if this is the main function you're looking for, it will do that job. I personally want something a bit more protective than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, but does the job., 24 May 2014
By 
Clarke (Linlithgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The smart apple covers for the ipad mini don't come with back protector. This works with the covers and for a very low cost, protects the back of your ipad mini. It's easy to attach and very, very inexpensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VERY Basic!, 22 May 2014
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
AmazonBasics products are usually well made and very good value for money and I've been very pleased with most of the products I've owned by the brand. This protector for the iPad mini is very basic indeed - but it is pretty good value for money! Consisting of a shiny black plastic case which covers the back and sides and a clear screen protector for the front.

The product does the job OK and you certainly can't complain about the price - but you might just want something a bit more stylish for yourself. If you are giving an iPad mini as a gift this cover would make an ideal companion for the recipient to use until they got around to choosing something more personal for them self.

A very basic product which is very good value for money - a good first cover but you will probably want something better before long! Three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap as...plastic, 17 July 2014
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Supercheap, superplastic-y. It fits well, and certainly disguises your iPad, making it look like a cheap generic tablet. It will also stop it getting scratched or stained. As to how much protection it offers in terms of dropping, it's hard to say. If I was going out and about with my iPad mini I would probably stick this on for the 'stealth' factor and the off-chance it might save it from a cracked screen - if there was nothing else available. Also makes the iPad a little hotter, bue to less heat conducting from the metal back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for, 24 July 2014
By 
Dr. D. E. Goldwater "dodiceleedoo" (Bushey, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Does the job I suppose but made of very cheap feeling materials and gives no real protection to the front of the ipad. Does come with a screen protector which I feel gets in the way and does not really offer much protection.

This is mad cheap being under three pounds so for a budget option it's fine. I would go for something a bit more substantial to protect the precious iPad Mini
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars why pay yhrough the nose, 15 July 2014
By 
foxcylady - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sometimes you just get tired of paying through the nose for all things apple. This is a refreshingly well made addition to the world of mini ipad accessories which melds well with the Apple cover at a fraction of the cost. It sits nicely on the ipad mini and all cut outs are well finished and placed. For a basic cover it is surprisingly well made and a nice addition yo any ipad mini
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slick and beautiful to look at, 15 July 2014
By 
Katfishh (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a lovely shiny slick, strong black case. It has a very good fit, with very easy access to all of the controls.

Comes with a screen protector. DO take your time when fitting the screen protector so you don't end up with bubbles!

I would buy this for looks rather than 'protection' as if it's dropped this wont help much. You'll still need a good strong protective case to protect your precious ipad.

Good value and looks classy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews