Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy lightweight protection for iPad body and screen – but feels cheap
This item from the Amazon Basics range constitutes basic protection for your iPad Mini’s body and screen. The body armour consist of a black plastic shell of approximately 3mm thickness. The screen protection is a coated plastic stick-on leaf with adhesive. Priced at entry level, this protection is both accessible and good value when one takes into account that...
Published 15 months ago by Kurt Steiner

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap. tacky Looks Rubbish.
This is an inexpensive protective cover for your i-pad which will protect it from scratches and bumps. The added screen protector will protect the screen.
Pure and simple?

Well actually no.
It must be one of the ugliest protective covers that I have seen.
It has nothing going for it at all.
The plastic is a magnet for finger prints.
I...
Published 13 months ago by Glenn Cook


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy lightweight protection for iPad body and screen – but feels cheap, 17 April 2014
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This item from the Amazon Basics range constitutes basic protection for your iPad Mini’s body and screen. The body armour consist of a black plastic shell of approximately 3mm thickness. The screen protection is a coated plastic stick-on leaf with adhesive. Priced at entry level, this protection is both accessible and good value when one takes into account that scratches to the iPad Mini’s body are, in effect, unremediable and screen replacement costs start from GBP85-00, or nearly 50% of the purchase price when you factor in postage & hassle (time lost).

The cover is easily fitted by starting with 2 corners, clicking them into the hard shell and then repeating the process for the remaining 2 corners. Cutouts ensure continued access to volume, screen rotation and on/off switch as well as jack and rear camera. Our iPad Mini is fitted with an Apple leather soft cover, which continues to work well with the hard shell fitted. With a thickness of some 3mm, the shell rim is hardly visible when looking at the screen.

The screen protector is the standard finicky self-adhesive plastic sheet which requires some practice to fit without bubbles and sticking out of the screen area.
All in all, this is a good affordable piece of advisable protection for your iPad Mini which can be easily fitted. It’s only minus is the flimsy appearance of the glossy plastic which takes away from the Apple iPad’s beautiful design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap. tacky Looks Rubbish., 20 Jun. 2014
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an inexpensive protective cover for your i-pad which will protect it from scratches and bumps. The added screen protector will protect the screen.
Pure and simple?

Well actually no.
It must be one of the ugliest protective covers that I have seen.
It has nothing going for it at all.
The plastic is a magnet for finger prints.
I fitted the cover to the i pad and the back was covered with marks the plastic is reflective- it made the whole thing look tatty.

In fairness it fitted perfectly with all the slots and holes in the correct place.
After a few maneuvers it fitted in place firmly.

Now I simply cannot imagine anyone who has shelled out for an I pad mini will want to encase their beautiful little machine in such a cheap looking shell.

It's a bit like Naomi Campbell or Kate Moss going to George at Asda.
Yes the clothes do their job but they can afford better?

UNLESS they want to disguise that they are carrying an I Pad and want to convince a potential thief that it is simply not worth bothering for a cheap tablet.

If ever there was a lump of plastic that could use a design makeover then this is is it.

It has all the attractions of a Council provided wheelie bin - and an aged one at that.

This is a cheap protector and looks the part.
If you want a really cheapo protector that looks naff then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hassle free for your Mini, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
The Honest Cynic (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is about as frill-free as you could possibly want, and the packaging photo is exactly what you get: The case, screen protector and a squeedgie to press out all the trapped air bubbles.

It's discreet scratch protection for the back of your iPad mini made out of lightweight polished plastic, snaps on easily (do two corners at a time if you want to avoid excessive force putting it on) and allows access to all the buttons, plug in ports and the magnetic strip for the smart cover, which is why there's no plastic on the left side.

Note that there's no soft tissue to wipe your screen before applying the screen protecting film, so I advise looking for some lint-free cloth like a lens wipe before applying to remove any finger grease and dust. Pair up with a smart cover for all round iPad protection.

The plastic is a magnet for greasy prints though, but if you want protection over glamour this is a quick and easy choice at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VERY Basic!, 22 May 2014
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
AmazonBasics products are usually well made and very good value for money and I've been very pleased with most of the products I've owned by the brand. This protector for the iPad mini is very basic indeed - but it is pretty good value for money! Consisting of a shiny black plastic case which covers the back and sides and a clear screen protector for the front.

The product does the job OK and you certainly can't complain about the price - but you might just want something a bit more stylish for yourself. If you are giving an iPad mini as a gift this cover would make an ideal companion for the recipient to use until they got around to choosing something more personal for them self.

A very basic product which is very good value for money - a good first cover but you will probably want something better before long! Three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does a job, 30 May 2014
By 
Socks (Britain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This does what it is supposed to do, hence the four stars.

However it is fairly cheap looking and thin plastic, and is just...well... Plasticky...

But it does give the iPad mini some protection from scratches etc, so if this is the main function you're looking for, it will do that job. I personally want something a bit more protective than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but Cheerful, 1 May 2014
By 
Neil Goodacre - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you want to, you can spend a small fortune on cases for your iPad mini. I know this first-hand as my wife and son both have one, and it's nice to know that there is a (much) cheaper alternative available.

However, the product you get is quite obviously inferior to the Apple-branded stuff. As soon as you take it out off the box this thing feels flimsy, like the plastic out of a box of Milk Tray. It fits nicely enough, but unlike the Apple kit, makes no attempt to protect your buttons. Whereas the bona fide stuff has rubber button covers, this just has holes. It's shiny too, and soon becomes covered in finger prints.

But, for all that, it does do the job. It will protect your iPad from knocks and scrapes and you shouldn't have to worry about the paint chipping. There are vastly superior versions out there but they are vastly more expensive. With that in mind, I'd say this has its place and I'm sure you could do a lot worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Plasticky but a good first shell, 17 April 2014
By 
will_de_beest (South Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A new iPad Mini owner will probably be more concerned with installing apps and downloading movies, but a tablet - more, even, than a smartphone - is vulnerable to knocks and scratches from day one, so some form of protection should be a top priority.

This kind of snap-on shell would be my choice for a first protective layer. It covers the three essential requirements: scratch protection for the screen, impact protection (albeit modest) for the back, and - not to be underestimated - an easier grip to reduce the chance of dropping the thing in the first place. (It is very shiny, though - a more textured surface would be safer still.)

It's not a thing of beauty, or one that'll give lasting satisfaction like the similar but nicer Incipio Feather cases I've had on my iPhones, but it'll keep your new iPad out of trouble while you decide how you'd prefer to protect it. And even when you have, keep that film on the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fancy free way to protect your iPad Mini and iPad Mini 2, 13 Jun. 2014
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Amazon Basics have branched out into many areas and the latest is smartphone and tablet covers.

This iPad Mini cover fits both the original iPad Mini and the newer Retina screen iPad Mini (or iPad Mini 2). It is formed with one solid piece of plastic that clips on to the sides of the device when pushed in firmly. There are gaps for the camera, volume and power buttons, as well as charging, speakers and headphones.

The plastic used is fairly thin and I feel it may snap if taken off too many times, but these cases are designed to stay on and just protect the device while they are fitted, so this shouldn't be an issue for general use.

The fact that this is an excellent price and even comes with a screen protector makes this case easy to recommend for those looking for a cheaper solution to protect their new tablet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight and functional, 28 Jun. 2014
By 
D. P. Mankin (Ceredigion, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This product is lightweight and functional. It's reasonably designed and easy to fit onto your iPad Mini. My criticisms are (a) it might prove more difficult for those with arthritic fingers, which is problem with so many small(ish) products nowadays from dental floss to jars); and (b) it's a little flimsy (something highlighted in other reviews). I guess some people might feel it's rather cheap and nasty looking (a classic disposable product in today's globalized world). I take the view that its a plastic product serving a very specific function and thus by its very nature it's not going to look or feel particularly sturdy. What matters is simple: does it do what it's meant to do? And the answer to that is: Yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, but does the job., 24 May 2014
By 
Clarke (Linlithgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: AmazonBasics Protective PC Case with Screen Protector for iPad Mini Black (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The smart apple covers for the ipad mini don't come with back protector. This works with the covers and for a very low cost, protects the back of your ipad mini. It's easy to attach and very, very inexpensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews