Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Top Gear Special ever!!!!
When I watched this special on TV I knew I would have to get it on DVD. The Top Gear boys have done some funny and great adventure specials before but I found this one really good. The DVD has extra deleted scenes unseen on TV.
A worthy buy if you enjoy Top Gear.
Published 8 months ago by Richie

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars top gear
I bought this as a present, apparently it's a good DVD and he enjoys watching it but myself I can't stand Jeremy Clarkson!
Published 6 months ago by D. Kilby


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Top Gear Special ever!!!!, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: The Great African Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
When I watched this special on TV I knew I would have to get it on DVD. The Top Gear boys have done some funny and great adventure specials before but I found this one really good. The DVD has extra deleted scenes unseen on TV.
A worthy buy if you enjoy Top Gear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Were Looking For The Source Of The Nile.....So Who Had It Last ?, 6 Jun 2013
By 
The Neon Weasel (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: The Great African Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
Here's 1500 chaps,go and buy a second hand estate car,and then meet up in Uganda.Your mission,should you choose to accept it,find the true source of the river Nile.And so,armed only with their wits,and the usual levels of incompetence,Jezza,Hamster and Captain Slow go blundering about in the hope of going where no motoring show has gone before.

So as you can see its business as usual for the Top Gear Trio,bickering their way across Africa,in three cars totally unsuited for the challenge.But that somehow rise how rise to the occasion,as do the boys themselves.There are plenty of laughs to be had along the way,including,thanks to the 12 certificate,language you wouldn't normally expect(it was beeped out on the BBC),and yes it is Jezza who is responsible.After the widely criticized India Special,this one sees them back on top form,and doing what they do best,Top Gear fans are going to love this one.There are some good deleted scenes,pity there isnt a play all selection,but if that is all I can find to complain about,show you just how good the African Adventure really is.

If anyone thought Top Gear was running out of steam,this proves that its as good as ever.So sit back and enjoy 114 minutes of brilliant entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: The Great African Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd was worth paying for as it keeps us entertained for hours along with the other dvd's we have in the series!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for men and boys, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: The Great African Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
Its not for girls, possibly.
All the men in the house love Top Gear. Are ages are 34, 7, 5, and 2 and a half. We all laugh out loud at the silly bits: the speed bumps, stealing bits off of each others cars etc etc. We love it when they convert the cars with A-Team inspired music. And as a father I feel my kids are learning something about other countries so its educational really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Jun 2014
By 
D. Smith (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: The Great African Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
I love the Top Gear adventures and this, I think, is rated as one of the best. It's entertaining and lighthearted, well worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars educative & enterntaining, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: The Great African Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
really mind capturing something new at the time . Very different Africa story. Educative, I strongly recommend also for other than car people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daughters Birthdat, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: The Great African Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
So amusing each time we watch the boys, we have a duvet day daughter and myself and laugh all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They're off to find the source of the Nile...and it's an adventure that's TRULY GREAT!, 16 May 2014
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear: The Great African Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
After the lads’ absolutely rubbish India Special back in 2011, I was hoping that Jeremy, Richard & James would come back in winning form for their next ‘Great Adventure’. Thankfully, my hopes were justified. Top Gear: The Great African Adventure is a true return to form for the show, and proof that while the series has stumbled in recent years, you can STILL rely on it to provide such essential entertainment when it really matters.

This time round, Clarkson, Hammond & May are given 1500, told to buy second-hand estate cars, and use them…to find the ‘true’ source of the River Nile.

Now, this adventure was broadcast as a two-parter back in March 2013. So instead of another Great Adventure Box-Set, the BBC and 2Entertain have instead released just the two-parter as a single-disc feature. No Director’s Cut treatment, just the two-episodes combined into one. And the release is perfect as it is.

The problem with the India Special was that it just felt forced and too staged. Unlike their legendary trips to (say) the North Pole or the U.S., the lads’ expedition to India was just them outstaying their welcome with little-to-no-reason. In Africa, they once again have an actual mission. Along the way, there’s PLENTY of discovery, hilarities, historical insights, fascinating culture, beautiful shots and edge-of-your-seat dangers, but Jezza, Hamster and Captain Slow also take turns to show each of their own ingenuity with the inevitable modifications to their cars, which are genuinely refreshing this time, as they’re actually useful to their own survival out in the wilderness.

Needless to say, all the highlights are unforgettable (particularly the haunting visit to Entebbe Airport, the brilliant car-ferry and the thrilling final moments), but like Top Gear’s most famous moments, there’s also a real sense of achievement and triumph when all is said & done. Of course, the discovery of the ‘true source’ of the River Nile is bound to be argued over fiercely, but it’s irrelevant at the end of the day. The quest is genuinely inspired, and it’s fascinating and unforgettable all the way; just like Top Gear at its BEST.

There’s a rich assortment of deleted scenes for the extras (over 20 minutes’ worth), and the new material is the icing on the cake for fans. They’re so good indeed that nothing else is needed for this DVD. Top Gear: The Great African Adventure features the lads back in winning form. Fans and completists have nothing to worry about. The next thing to look forward to now…is the Burma Special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great fun., 9 May 2014
By 
S. Brannen "Greybird" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: The Great African Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
A journey which was great fun and has a lot of laugh out loud moments. Great to watch on a miserable cold evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What else were you expecting?, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes they are allowed again to cause mayhem! Boy's with their toy's, car's un PC and very vary very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gear: The Great African Adventure [DVD]
Top Gear: The Great African Adventure [DVD] by Nigel Simpkiss (DVD - 2013)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews