Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars96
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The second story from Jon Pertwee's second year as Doctor Who comes to dvd. Originally broadcast in 1971, all six episodes are presented in a two disc dvd set with the story on the first disc and extras on the second.

This is another Pertwee story where the original colour version was wiped, and only a black and white copy was held. And which has been re-coloured for dvd release. This has taken nigh on four years of work, and the results are very good.

The story sees the Doctor investigating goings on at a prison where a new method of dealing with the worst offenders is being tried out. A machine that removes all evil impulses from the brain. The Doctor is suspicious of the procedure involved. At the same time, there's a peace conference going on in London, where tensions are high. And a missile with a very dangerous cargo is about to be destroyed.

All three things are connected. As an old enemy lurks in the shadows. A terrifying time for the Doctor and Jo awaits....

The second season of this era did result in a few changes from the first. It's a mixture of the hard hitting style of Jon Pertwee's first season - there are battles between U.N.I.T. and bad guys with stuntmen throwing themselves all over the place - and the slightly cosier U.N.I.T. family style that followed. It never feels stretched at six parts, though, as the plot develops at a decent pace and keeps a few things back until required.

This is also a strong story for Roger Delgado's Master, as there are some interesting insights into his relationship with the Doctor. The supporting cast are pretty good. It features veteran character actor Michael Sheard in the second of his six appearances in the show.

The cliffhangers are repetitive, but that's the only minor complaint with a solid six parter that features some excellent action and many good character moments. It's great to have it on dvd at last. And in colour as well.

Some may wish to be aware that there is one short scene where all the dialogue is in another language and has subtitles.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English.

It's also English audio captioned.

The extras include the usual ones for this range:

A commentary from various members of the cast and crew. This was recorded a while ago, thus Producer Barry Letts, who passed away in 2009, is amongst the contributors.

The Radio Times listings for the story as a PDF file. Along with a 1971 cereal promotion in similar format.

Production information subtitles.

A photo gallery of images from the story and it's production.

A trailer for the next release in this dvd range.

And specific to this dvd:

The Military Mind. A making of documentary about the story. Also made a while ago, thus present is Barry Letts along with Nicholas Courtney [the Brigadier]. This is a bit shorter than the usual ones at just twenty two minutes, but it contains some nice location work at Dover castle and is typically absorbing viewing.

Now and then: an eight minute [approx] look at the locations where the story was made as they looked in 1971 and as they are now. Which is short but good viewing.

Behind the scenes: Television centre. A 1971 documentary showing what goes on in one ordinary day at bbc tv centre. There's only a couple of seconds of Doctor Who related material in this, and it does have a very dated look. But not in a bad way. It's pretty good viewing though. An interesting look at the days of BBC tv centre in London, and it will bring back memores for those who remember tv when it wasn't on for twenty four hours a day. And the announcer wished you all a very good night.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
In many ways this is one of the best stories of Pertwee's era, and one of the best to feature his Doctor facing off against Roger Delgado's Master.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
"Three" was a somewhat harder character in his first couple of seasons.... It's got that brilliant moment where the Master hallucinates a malevolent Pertwee standing over him and laughing horribly! The setting in a Victorian-built jail (where there always seems to be a riot happening, no doubt influenced by the mind parasite) is forbidding. I also really enjoyed Big Jon chuntering away with stage-whisper heckling derision at the back of a lecture. Nobody could do arrogance like him, not even Colin Baker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Great story, Great special features, great recolorisation. Just great all round!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Five identical Cliffhangers (ok - not quite) but a great story with fantastic colour restoration and some budget injection (or loans of a rocket from the army.

Cast on top form, Pertwee stories were not my particular favourite but he's had a good run recently. Great extras.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
one of best and i think masters last showing but such great story
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
Jon Pertwee comes up against Roger Delgardo's definitive Master in a 1970s classic, completed shortly before Delgardo's death in a car accident. Great plot, great acting and even the dodgy sets don't put off. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
1971's The Mind of Evil is not as cared for, or even as acknowledged as much as serials like Terror of the Autons and The Daemons in fandom these days. Mainly I suppose this is because it is the only Jon Pertwee story to exist completely in Black & White. This I find a shame as The Mind of Evil is one of the best realized and strongest stories of the whole Master season. Firstly, the cinematography by director Tim Combe is highly atmospheric and very realistic in terms of what the program's makers had to work with back then. Secondly, the 6 episode length allows for some of those brilliant character moments that get lost in the average pacy 4 parters, such as the Doctor and the Master's bickering and the Brig's comic moments. Furthermore, I strongly believe that the Black & White imagery lends much more realism and atmosphere to the story, the sets look more convincing and the location work sublime. My theory behind this comes from the 5 minutes of surviving colour footage that is included at the end of the tape, its looks terrible in comparison to the B&W scenes, the sets really show up there weaknesses when shown in the cold light of colour and are less impressive than in the current surviving format.

Both Jon Pertwee and Roger Delgado put in some extremely strong performances here as the Doctor and the Master. Jon Pertwee, as always, leads the story with no sigh of strain. Roger Delgado simply adds to this by having the Master ponder half the serials running time smoking cigars from the luxury of his chauffeur driven Roller. This only adds to the enjoyment of the character and the stupendous-ness of the story. The plot ain't half bad either, the whole concept of the Master stealing a deadly gas filled missile is something more believable than plastic control, doomsday files and Devils. I would even go so far as to say that this is Doctor Who at its best and most believable, the story very reminiscent of the popular police and crime series that pervaded our screens at the time.

Katy Manning only adds to the effectiveness of the serial, I always had a soft spot for Jo and here, with this being only her second story on Who, is at her emotional and characterful best. Her genuine affection for bad-boy-made-good Barnham is quite touching at times, she imbues Jo with another dimension rarely seen in the program of absolute emotion and care. To this end, Jo has one of her best outings in this adventure. Also on top form is the charismatic Brigadier Alistair Gordon Lethbridge-Stewart as played by long term regular Nicholas Courtney. Nic completes and makes any story his character is in instantly enjoyable for me, the Brig's relationship between both the Doctor and the Master is as equally important as the others vice-versa.

The now outdated BBC Video release of 1998 has seen this story cleaned up and had all its 6 episodes remastered in B&W as near as possible to the original broadcast standard. The exciting part for fans of the story and the Pertwee adventures as a whole comes in 2013, when all 6 episodes will be released on to DVD fully and digitally remastered in COLOUR!!! Even the troublesome episode 1 which could not be colour recovered like episodes 2,3,4,5,6 has been returned to full colour by a new member of the Doctor Who Restoration Team. This will make the story complete in colour for the first time in over 30 years. As I have stated clearly above though, I believe the story will lose alot of its atmosphere when coloured, but hey, its another cracking Pertwee story released as originally broadcast so I have no reason to moan, after all, I can always turn the colour down on my TV, but I can assure you that I am as eager as the next fan to watch this brilliant story in full colour!!!

Many thanks for your time in reading my review, it's greatly appreciated,
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
The Mind of Evil is one of the least known Pertwee stories and when I first saw it back in the summer on 1984, from a fuzzy black and white VHS copy, I instantly adored it. Until recently it was almost entirely represented by these black and white prints (albeit not as fuzzy as MY copy had been) save for a few colour minutes salvaged from part 6.

Enter the Doctor Who Restoration Team and the magnificent work of Stuart Humphries, aka Babelcolour.

Episodes 2 to 6 have used a magic-by-any-other-name process called colour recovery that uses chroma dots trapped in the film recordings to regenerate (almost Time Lord style) the original colours. After years of work these episodes look as good as we will probably ever see them unless a full colourisation takes place; which leads me onto the work of Babelcolour - a talented fan who has hand coloured key frames of episode one to make it look as near to the original quad 2" tapes as is possible. Its a stunning piece of work (aided by Peter Crocker of SVS)

The extras are in depth and fascinating (albeit tinged with sadness as some of the participants are no longer with us) and all in all this is the release of the year for me. A great story now looking the best it has for 40 years
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
the doctor at his best Vs the master
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.