Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book.
I am a trainee secondary school teacher who had no ideas on how to differentiate, particularly in a top set where everyone appeared to be of a similar ability.
The book gave me some great practical advice and some fab ideas on how to make differentiation fit in my lessons when I am at the stage where I have so much else to think about.
Published 16 months ago by Becky210

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple, straightforward and useful
A good introduction and helpful guide to differentiation of children (into different needs, desires, skills and other categories) within the school classroom environment. Quickish read (less than three hours).
Published 21 months ago by GregFenn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book., 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a trainee secondary school teacher who had no ideas on how to differentiate, particularly in a top set where everyone appeared to be of a similar ability.
The book gave me some great practical advice and some fab ideas on how to make differentiation fit in my lessons when I am at the stage where I have so much else to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another jam-packed must-have!, 22 Feb. 2014
By 
S. Mellor "Bookmark" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven T's of Practical Differentiation (The Alphabet Sevens Series) (Kindle Edition)
I have long been a fan of Sue Cowley and her straight-talking style. This book really didn't disappoint - while I knew the basics and have always used differentiation in my teaching, this book served as a great reminder of some techniques that I had forgotten about, as well as introducing me to new possibilities also. Definitely worth a read if you feel like you are starting to stagnate in your teaching, or just need a quick refresher as to some of the endless possibilities for differentiation in the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple, straightforward and useful, 11 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven T's of Practical Differentiation (The Alphabet Sevens Series) (Kindle Edition)
A good introduction and helpful guide to differentiation of children (into different needs, desires, skills and other categories) within the school classroom environment. Quickish read (less than three hours).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and of limited use., 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been teaching for over 27 years, and a successful deputy head teacher, I bought this book as a resource to share with the NQTs that I am currently mentoring. I was most disappointed with the content of several of the chapters. E.g. much of the research from the Assessment Reform Group and others shows that learning objectives should be common to all students, and that having too many objectives becomes unmanageable, but the chapter on targets suggests several learning objectives. I was also surprised to see an example of a learning objective given that was more about completion of the task rather than transferrable learning. There was also some muddling up about the function of success criteria in this chapter which is also at odds with current research.
The sections on time and on thinking skills didn't really address differentiation, but just how teachers should plan these aspects with all students in mind.
The section on thinking skills was quite weak, with no reference to the use of specific thinking skills tools. I got excited at the end of the last chapter when I saw graphics" as a subheading, but again was disappointed to find that it wasn't actually talking about the use of graphic organisers to support differentiation, but merely about the use of photos.
Unfortunately I will not be sharing this book with my NQTs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow and good ideas, 9 Feb. 2014
By 
S. M. Robinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sue has produced yet another book worth reading.
Easy to use and simple to follow ideas.
Worth flagging up at dept meeting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good. Worth reading., 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven T's of Practical Differentiation (The Alphabet Sevens Series) (Kindle Edition)
I liked the practical strategies the book offers.. Especially the More Able & Talented stretch & challenge ideas included. Worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven T's of Practical Differentiation (The Alphabet Sevens Series) (Kindle Edition)
Well written
Easy to understand
Practical
Realistic
Will be using guidance in p2 class asap
Differentiation here I come.

Thank yoi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven T's of Practical Differentiation (The Alphabet Sevens Series) (Kindle Edition)
We have a mini-inspection this week, and I wanted some fresh ideas for differentiation with my Y3 class! This certainly provided them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can do it, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven T's of Practical Differentiation (The Alphabet Sevens Series) (Kindle Edition)
too many children are turned off education because they 'can't do the work' this book changes that by promoting differentiation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some really useful tips to make differentiation easy without making several different activities all the time! For the price a very valuable purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews