Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SCORE BY M83
after score tron legacy by DAFT PUNK, kosinski director love french touch. french group M83 make beautifull albums,and this score for OBLIVION is great. Hans ZIMMER style is near, with INCEPTION score (horatius et return from delta) and DARK KNIGHT RISES, and also DAFT PUNK with TRON LEGACY(tech49, unidentified object, odyssey rescue). Unbelievable soundtrack...
Published 23 months ago by Laurent Francis

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dull
Its basically one endless dull track. Liked the film. Loved m83's other stuff but this is pointless. Don't bother with this.
Published 11 months ago by james ashleigh


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SCORE BY M83, 15 April 2013
This review is from: Oblivion (O.S.T.) (Audio CD)
after score tron legacy by DAFT PUNK, kosinski director love french touch. french group M83 make beautifull albums,and this score for OBLIVION is great. Hans ZIMMER style is near, with INCEPTION score (horatius et return from delta) and DARK KNIGHT RISES, and also DAFT PUNK with TRON LEGACY(tech49, unidentified object, odyssey rescue). Unbelievable soundtrack.

The CD release has 17 tracks totaling over an hour of music. If you want a more complete experience, the iTunes "Deluxe Edition" of the album has 30 tracks.

favorites tracks:

- waking up
- starwaves
- grater lake
- unidentified object
- earth 2077
- raven rock
- i'm sending you away
- fearfull odds

this tracks are great, strong, powerfull
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion (O.S.T.) (Audio CD)
A lot of people don't like the fact this isn't a very M83 styled album, I can somewhat I agree with that. Some tracks sound like the offspring of The Dark Knight Rises and Tron. However, it's still a great album and fits the movie very well.

They've captured some of the must memorable moments with this score. Although some (most) of the tracks fall back onto the theme tune there are a few songs that really stick out and give a refreshing change, Star Waves, Earth 2077, and Canyon Battle, lets not forget the movie titled track (used at the end credits) Oblivion which is sung by the gorgeous and talented Norweign singer Susanne Sundfør.

The album doesn't reach the epic grandeur of Han Zimmer's scores but it comes close at times. I'd highly recommended to anyone. Very happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music., 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion (O.S.T.) (Audio CD)
I love the music from Oblivion. There's sad, quiet and uplifting music here and the final song by M83 is great, I could listen to it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly remarkable composition that is complete and coherent within itself., 22 Feb. 2014
By 
A. J. Sturgess "Alan Sturgess" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion (O.S.T.) (Audio CD)
From my point of view there are three main categories for official soundtracks:

1) Music which brings back into your mind either the whole of a favourite film of key scenes from it. For some people, such OST's could be the music for 'Les Miserables', 'Mary Poppins', 'My fair lady', one or more of the 'Harry Potter' series, 'Shakespeare in love' etc. etc according to your own tastes.

2) Collections or selections of music which constitute compilations of music which individuals enjoy. Such selections might encompass lots of different styles or artists, or be drawn from the work of just one group or person. Examples might be the music used in 'Phenomenon', 'Mama Mia', 'Forest Gump' etc. etc.

3) Music which can be listened to pretty well for just the music. Maybe you saw the film, maybe not, that becomes less and less important. What does become important is the cohesion and completeness of the music itself. Maybe music from 'The rock' or one of Ennio Morricone's soundtracks or the 'Pirates of the Carribean' fall into that group for you. For me, I'd place the OST from 'Oblivion right at the head of what I think of as this third category.

M83's sountrack is, for me, effectively a fully-formed techno symphony. It flows smoothly from one track to another with themes recurring and evolving as the music evolves. Tracks can almost be thought of as 'movements' in the symphonic sense. The OST begins quietly and moodily but quickly develops a strong rhythmic and dramatc quality which leads you forwards into a series of peaks and troughs, crescendos and moments of calm which become compelling and almost hypnotic - but without the constant repetitiveness which can make some techno music become more akin to spaced-out dance music or pulse-infused trance. The whole OST is a coherent and cohesive piece of music in its own right.

And that brings me to two features which really surprised me:

First - the song which ends the film and, therefore, the soundtrack, isn't just something that has been tacked on to span the time as end credits roll across the screen. It genuinely fits and completes the whole composition and provides just enough of a difference and a climax to bring the 'symphony' to a satisfying end.

Second (and this REALLY surprised me) - it was only when I sat down to listen to the soundtrack on my earphones (as opposed to listening to it on speakers as I pottered around doing other things) that I actually went through the CD insert and realised that although M83's music is definitely techno in style, it is NOT driven or saturated with synths, sequencers nor rhythm machines. In fact, virtually the whole composition is recorded using a massive orchestra and choir with just one reference to an ANALOG synth tucked away in the small print. Despite sounding as good (or better) than the best of techno or Tangerine Dream in terms of sound, rhythm and depth - the only thing that is synthesised is the overall feel of the techno style and what might be thought of as the 'typical' techno sound. There is a battery of violins, violas, celli and double basses plus French horns, trumpets, trombones, tuba, percussion, timpani, Rhodes piano, electric bass and normal guitars, drums and .... a touch of analog synth programming. There are also sopranos, altos, tenors and bass singers a-plenty. Yet, despite all those elements of traditional orchestral composition, what you hear is as modern a symphony as you can get within the overall arena of techno.

Truly remarkable and totally successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The awesome M83.............Enough said!! :-) As for the film, FANTASTIC. Well ahead of its time in story line. Instant classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great sound track, 1 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really love this sound track - some great pieces on there that are really moving. Listen to it at work for inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars M83 is wicked!, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As far as I'm concerned this is the first motion picture soundtrack M83's ever done, and he absolutely nailed it! The songs are so emotionally powerful and epic it will just blow you away, as it did in the cinema when I watched the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oblivion - Original Soundtrack, 5 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Oblivion (O.S.T.) (Audio CD)
Oblivion is director Joseph Kosinski's second feature film. His first film was Tron Legacy. Between the two films, it seems that Kosinski is not only talented when it comes to visual style, but he also seems to make unique and inspired choices when it comes to film scoring. Fans of film music will no doubt recall Daft Punk's excellent score for Tron Legacy - easily one of the more memorable aspects of that film.

For Oblivion, Kosinski has called upon the French electronic band M83 to provide the score. I'll admit that I had never heard of M83 prior to hearing the news that they'd be working Oblivion, but a quick sampling of their previous albums shows that they are very talented and I can now call myself a fan of their work.

The Oblivion score is wonderful, by far the best score I have heard this year. The classical film score style mixed with electronic sounds yields amazing results. The music is a large part of what makes the movie a really fun experience - it's most effective when the music swells as Tom Cruise pilots his bubble ship through the clouds or rides his bike across the vast landscapes. I've singled out a few of my favorite tracks below, although this is one soundtrack where I would highly suggest you purchase the entire album. The whole thing is fantastic from start to finish.

If there's a flaw here, it would be that at certain points I feel there is a lack of originality - one track sounds very similar to a cue from Tron Legacy, and several tracks are also reminiscent of work by Hans Zimmer. But this is disappointing only to the mind, not the ears - after all, is sounding like Zimmer the worst thing in the world?

The final track, an original song featuring Susanne Sundfør, is a pleasant way to end the album. It can be heard in the end credits of the movie.

FAVORITE TRACKS:
[3] Tech 49
[4] Starwaves
[11] Raven Rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD Case was badly cracked, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion (O.S.T.) (Audio CD)
The soundtrack is great but this was supposed to be a gift but the case was cracked in 3 places so I had to keep it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars M83 - top soundtrack, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolute corker of a soundtrack which made an otherwise OK movie even better. Joe Kosinski has established himself as an impressive visual director with Tron Legacy & Daft Punk, matching those impressive visuals with a fabulous score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oblivion (O.S.T.)
Oblivion (O.S.T.) by M83 (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews