Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Parkslife
The first season of 'Parks and Recreation', a mere six episodes long, has been overshadowed by the fact that the seasons which have followed it have produced some of the wittiest, most perceptive and genuinely poignant moments of any US sitcom of recent years. But the fact that Season 1 was the show's weakest shouldn't take away from the fact that the episodes gathered...
Published on 12 April 2012 by Mr. D Burin

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good start, but the best is yet to come...
It's absolutely criminal that it took so long for someone in the UK to pick up Parks & Recreation for broadcast when it is one of the funniest things I have seen in a long time.

I came across this show whilst on a long haul flight to America and with nothing else to watch I gave it a go. And even in the space of two episodes, I had fallen in love with it...
Published 16 months ago by IWFIcon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Parkslife, 12 April 2012
The first season of 'Parks and Recreation', a mere six episodes long, has been overshadowed by the fact that the seasons which have followed it have produced some of the wittiest, most perceptive and genuinely poignant moments of any US sitcom of recent years. But the fact that Season 1 was the show's weakest shouldn't take away from the fact that the episodes gathered on this disc are uniformly excellent, and suggestions in another review to skip straight to Season 2 ignore what is a great few hours of TV. For the uninitiated, 'Parks and Rec' stars the excellent Amy Poehler (SNL, Baby Mama) as Leslie Knope, deputy director of the Parks and Recreation committee in the rustic-but-not-redneck town of Pawnee, Indiana. Poehler is supported by an excellent cast, including Aziz Ansari as Leslie's right-hand man Tom Haverford, and Nick Offerman as the department's head, a man disinterested in Leslie's project to build a community park, and who claims he would "rather work for Chuck E. Cheese". The show is extremely well-scripted and the characters are refreshingly complex and likeable. 'Parks and Rec' is shot in a format very similar to that of 'The Office', where the characters are filmed by a documentary crew, and often speak direct to camera.

There's nothing bad as such about the first series of 'Parks and Rec', though, unlike in later episodes, Season 1 has a tendency sometimes to go for the 'obvious' joke, meaning that there are some dud moments which land alongside the show's plethora of superb one-liners. It also does feel a little too much like 'The Office' in the earlier episodes, and one or two characters, such as the bored intern April, add nothing to the show; but annoy a little. Still, Season 1 of 'Parks and Rec' is sharply comic, fresh and contemporary, and even has a knack for handling the series side of adult relationships. The best was yet to come, but fans of shows such as 'The Office', 'Party Down' and 'How I Met Your Mother' will likely take to this release like a duck to water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good start, but the best is yet to come..., 17 Mar 2013
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Parks & Recreation: Season One [DVD][UK release] (DVD)
It's absolutely criminal that it took so long for someone in the UK to pick up Parks & Recreation for broadcast when it is one of the funniest things I have seen in a long time.

I came across this show whilst on a long haul flight to America and with nothing else to watch I gave it a go. And even in the space of two episodes, I had fallen in love with it.

Anyway, with BBC Four now showing the series the first season is belatedly available on Region 2 DVD. It's a mere six episodes long and whilst it doesn't reach the heights of season 2 it is still a painfully funny programme.

The main problem in the early going is the focus on Amy Phoeler's Leslie Knope who at times seems to be too intent on being the female Michael Scott (Steve Carell, on The US Office) than being a character in her own right. By season two, with the focus more on the ensemble, Knope becomes a more interesting character in her own right. The likes of Aziz Ansari and, especially, Nick Offerman (as the downright brilliant Ron Swanson) are great in this series though and whilst the best is yet to come, anyone who has enjoyed the subsequent series will find a lot to enjoy here once the shock of seeing the story from the beginning wears off - certain plot developments in future series (episodes of which I watched before getting this DVD) certainly left me disorientated in parts here.

One final thing though; there's not enough Aubrey Plaza for my liking in this season (a fact acknowledged on the DVD commentary) but then again, Rashida Jones more than makes up for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amy Poehler can do no wrong., 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parks & Recreation: Season One [DVD][UK release] (DVD)
If you're a fan of the Office-style style mockumentary then this is a dream come true. Amy Poehloer delights in this funny, witty and intelligent comedy. I am neither American nor interested in government, but this is by far my favourite TV show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yay!, 17 Mar 2014
This is the best series. This IS the best series. You should really consider watching it as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it and apparently it gets better........, 11 Mar 2014
This review is from: Parks & Recreation: Season One [DVD][UK release] (DVD)
Various reviews on here and elsewhere say this is the weakest season of Parks and Recreation. I thought I'd give it a try on Amazon instant video and ended up watching all 6 episodes back to back because it's awesome, can't wait to catch up with the ensuing seasons.

The cast are universally excellent and the writing is spot on. It follows a similar style to The Office with its fly on the wall documentary feel, a brilliant mix of sharp scripting, sight gags and the occasional bit of slapstick.

Time to settle in for season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parks & Recreation: Season One, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Anthony Whitfield "Tony Whitfield" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Funny, really funny. The thing is, if you watch it and don't find it funny, you've just got the 'wrong' sense of humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hints of the genius to come, 14 Aug 2013
This review is from: Parks & Recreation: Season One [DVD][UK release] (DVD)
It's a shame that a show as good as Parks And Recreation remains largely undiscovered to a potential UK audience who would no doubt love it if they only knew about it. To be fair, it was still finding its feet in season one but nevertheless there are still clues of the genius to come.

A previous reviewer hits the nail on the head that the problem with season one is that there is too much focus on Lesley Knope and not enough on the rest of the cast. It's not that Lesley Knope isn't an entertaining lead character, it's just that other great characters like April, Tom and Andy in particular don't really come into their own until season two. Even the anti-government Ron Swanson, while clearly already recognisable as a brilliant character, is underused in season one.

I actually first watched Parks And Recreation on my friend's recommendation, with the cautionary note that the first season was a shadow of the greatness to follow. Although I would have to agree that it's not until season two that it reaches its peak, I nevertheless still enjoyed season one. It doesn't contain the belly laughs of season two, but is still worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comedy, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parks & Recreation: Season One [DVD][UK release] (DVD)
Similar style to the American Office but on smaller and in some ways more human scale. Strong and diverse characters engage you in what is quite a gentle, optimistic comedy despite, or because of, the flaws in each character.
Looking forward to season 3 coming to British TV soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a great show, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parks & Recreation: Season One [DVD][UK release] (DVD)
One of the best and funniest comedies to come out from the USA. No canned laughter. Second only to Frazier in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good start, but the greatness is to come., 5 Sep 2011
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's absolutely criminal that this show has not made it onto one of the multitude of channels that pervade our satellite/cable universe in the UK (and I'm waiting for someone to point out the errors of my thoughts and say it appeared on some obscure channel at 3 in the morning) when it is one of the funniest things I have seen in a long time.

All hail long haul flight TV choice huh?

Anyway,this is the first season, a mere six episodes long and whilst it doesn't reach the heights of season 2 it is still a painfully funny programme.

The main problem is the focus on Amy Phoeler's Leslie Knope who at times seems to be too intent on being the female Michael Scott than being a character in her own right. By season two, with the focus more on the ensemble, Knope becomes a more interesting character in her own right. The likes of Aziz Ansari and, especially, Nick Offerman (as the downright brilliant Ron Swanson) are great in this series though and whilst the best is yet to come, anyone who has enjoyed the subsequent series will find a lot to enjoy here once the shock of seeing the story from the beginning wears off - certain plot developments in future series (episodes of which I watched before getting this DVD) certainly left me disorientated in parts here.

One final thing though; there's not enough Aubrey Plaza for my liking in this season (a fact acknowledged on the DVD commentary) but then again, Rashida Jones more than makes up for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parks & Recreation: Season One [DVD][UK release]
6.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews