Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing !
I brought this as I wanted to save the weight, I must admit that I was somewhat put off by the price, however I'm just really glad I threw caution to the wind and brought it. It really is exceptional and most definitely worth spending the extra cash.
Overall it is a very good investment.
Published 9 months ago by Stephen Tremmel

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too easy to puncture.
My old review:
Its expensive. But it is VERY small and VERY light.
My only worry is that it might not last for a long time. If it lasts, then its the perfect Mattress for motorcycle trips. Fits everywhere!

NOW: Second time me and my wife used the matt (first time was only one night) and one of the two had a small puncture which ruined our good night's...
Published 7 months ago by Nikos


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too easy to puncture., 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My old review:
Its expensive. But it is VERY small and VERY light.
My only worry is that it might not last for a long time. If it lasts, then its the perfect Mattress for motorcycle trips. Fits everywhere!

NOW: Second time me and my wife used the matt (first time was only one night) and one of the two had a small puncture which ruined our good night's sleep. We used both mats only inside a tent and with a sleeping bag. For the second day I had to buy a cheap Chinese matt for 15 euros which did the job. No visible wear and tear on the mattress, had to search a lot using a bathtub full of water to finally find the small hole around the neck area (while asleep).
So, 140 euros for something XLite and Xeasy to puncture? After all, its intended use is in the wilderness, not in our home. This is the first time i buy a mattress so expensive (first time to buy a thermarest matt. I heard about their lifetime warranty. Tried to email cascadedesigns, got no response. Sorry, but never again, very disappointed.

Edit2: They contacted me after a while and offered me a repair free of charge as a sign of goodwill if i send it to Ireland's headquarters. Sending it there will cost me the curier's fees and so i opted to repair it myself with the kit it contains.
So now it is 2 stars. If it keeps me for at least some more nights afloat i will give it more stars. Till that time comes, this mattress has to prove that the first puncture was once in a 1000 and that it really is it's money worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing !, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this as I wanted to save the weight, I must admit that I was somewhat put off by the price, however I'm just really glad I threw caution to the wind and brought it. It really is exceptional and most definitely worth spending the extra cash.
Overall it is a very good investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
comfortable and like sleeping on an electric blanket, kept me warm all night - it could just be a bit wider possibly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My best mattress, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got the large version, it's a bit heavier, but I usually sleep on my side, and It gives me the same warmth, comfort and complete rest as sleeping in my bed at home.
I don't bother and waist time by fully inflating it, it works better (for me) partially deflated.
The crumpling noise is hardly an issue, believe me, especially if you're tired, as you should be after serious hiking!
It might be a little less robust than heavier mattresses, so, just like all UL gear, handled accordingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super light, super small when packed. Perfect so far. Only question I have regards durability. Time will tell on that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seems almost too light and compact (when deflated!) to be true!, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this fine lightweight mattress for use on walking the West Highland Way later this year (2014). I was reluctant to pay the high price of 86 for this product, but it was highly rated in lightweight backpacking reviews. It turned out when I unpacked the box that it was metaphorically produced just down the road from where I live here in southern Ireland! I couldn't believe how light it felt and when (easily) inflated it felt as though it might float away, and would in only a moderate wind! On trying it out by lying on it, I was impressed by its comfort and almost immediate body heat reflection abilities. However the slight down side is that because of its featherweight construction you feel that it's going to burst like a balloon! I'm used to many years of using the almost as light but very bulky and trusty Karrimor "Expedition Karrimat", which has been much abused with hot mugs, rocky and even probably thorn or thistle covered ground with no more damage than a few harmless indentations! The thought of using this mattress in such conditions seems like tempting fate, so I will treat it with due care! The upside is the great comfort compared to a Karrimat and I look forward to some good nights sleep on my West Highland Way walk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight and packs very small, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't used the product enough yet to give it more than a cursory rating based on excellent design and the space and weight saved when packed when compared with other products.
The limited use has proven it to be comfortable, I have not used it enough yet to determine its durability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Husband loves the ultra light weight, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Myself, I couldn't sleep on this to save my life, but then I've got back/neck injuries. My husband on the other hand loves this mat. It's very light weight, not much bigger than a 12oz cola can, and probably weighs less than one. Keeps him warm from ground chill, and all around he's pretty happy with it.

Haven't used it in anger yet, so unsure of its durability. Do plan to use a ground cloth at the least with this as it's pretty thin stuff... We shall see..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Better than sleeping in a bed and it is really warm. Perfect for sleeping on a hard floor. Great night's sleep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good but a bit narrow, 24 Dec 2012
By 
M. Ellingham "Mark Ellingham" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
That's about the size of it. It works brilliantly – packs away like a dream – easy to inflate. But a few more inches would be even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Therm-a-Rest NeoAir Xlite Mattress
84.71 - 100.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews