Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Man trying to clear his name
The film was shot in 1942, just about the time when the USA entered the WW2,so with that in mind and put in context this is a very interesting film with historical hindsight.
This is a familiar theme throughout many of Hitchcocks films, a man framed for something he didnt do,but cannot go to the police,as he is not sure he will be believed,and he cant trust them, so...
Published on 24 Nov 2000 by J. Keedwell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated film with a good ending
"Saboteur" is a monochrome WW2 propaganda film that is not one of Hitchcock's better efforts. The acting isn't the greatest , especially Robert Cummings performance as the fugitive, the dialogue is uninspired and most of the characters are cliched. The structure and plot of "Saboteur" is similar to many of Hitchcock's more famous films, such as "North by...
Published on 22 Mar 2006 by L. Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Man trying to clear his name, 24 Nov 2000
By 
J. Keedwell "keedyman" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saboteur [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The film was shot in 1942, just about the time when the USA entered the WW2,so with that in mind and put in context this is a very interesting film with historical hindsight.
This is a familiar theme throughout many of Hitchcocks films, a man framed for something he didnt do,but cannot go to the police,as he is not sure he will be believed,and he cant trust them, so then tries to clear his name before he is caught.
This film came many years before North By Northwest,which was a much more famous and classically noted film, but has the same theme running through it.Again, In the latter film, Hitch wishes to convey the vastness of the countyside when Cary Grant is attacked by the crop dusting aeroplane in the wide open spaces with little or no cover to hide.
This theme of man accused and trying to clear himself was very successfully approached many years later in The Fugitive for example, the innocent man being chased by the authrities who keep getting closer all the time,whilst he is trying to clear himself.
Visually the film is very rich, with a huge amount of scenes and locations. Hitch uses the camera lens to great effect when he shot some scenes with a huge telephoto lens from a great distance away, which really does imply the vastness of the country, and the mammoth task our lead "hero" is up against.
The famous Hitchcock humour is very evident,when the circus freakshow have their screen debut. There are two Siamese twins that are not talking to each other; the curlers that are seen in the bearded lady's beard when she turns in for the night.
Another recurring theme in Hitchs films is the grand climax in a public place, this time Radio City music hall,and at the Statue of Liberty, where the finale is held.
It is not the finest Hitch film ever made, but is quite linear and easy to understand, good guys and bad guys, and entertaining to the end nontheless, as in many Hitchcock films, you arent really sure until the final credits roll that you are sure of the outcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping 'wrong man theme' WW2 thriller+superb set-pieces!!, 6 Jun 2005
By 
Jeff Markham (Walton-on-Thames, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Saboteur [DVD] (DVD)
Exciting wartime propaganda, a typically polished thriller that now looks like a dry run for the later masterpiece NORTH BY NORTHWEST (1959). A chase thriller across America with the familar Hitchcockian theme of the innocent man framed by circumstantial evidence, who has to evade pursuers (Nazis keen to conceal their dastardly espionage plans) and police alike, whilst fighting to clear his name.
Amongst several memorable and beautifully staged set-pieces, the lavish charity ball sequence, a bizare encounter with a troupe of circus freaks (a nod to TOD BROWNING's marvellous 1932 film FREAKS?), and the famous suspense-filled finale atop the Statue of Liberty, stand out. Terrifically entertaining Hitchcock film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America's 39 steps, 21 Mar 2010
By 
CinePhil (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Saboteur [DVD] (DVD)
This was Hitch's remake of the 39 steps for an american market. Everyman hero on the run for murder he didn't commit. Beautiful blonde (who inevitable gets handcuffed to our hero) A shadowy secret society (the bruderbund)menacing the free world. Hitch was perfecting the chase movie for many years after this, with "episodes" creating drama, comedy and tension along the way, the blind Uncle, the circus performers, the blundering meeting with Mr big around the swimming pool, why fix it if it ain't broke? And of course the finale is magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hitch a ride on this journeyman thriller, 21 Jun 2012
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Saboteur [DVD] (DVD)
Hitch is a favorite of mine; he's made the same film more than once, changing bits here and there. This contains so many similar elements with The 39 Steps and North by North West I recon he just changed a handful of words in the script and hey presto its another movie! John Carpenter has done the same and I lap it up every time. Saboteur's hero, Kane, is definitely blue collar; he's poles apart from either Hannay or Roger Thornhill and more accessible to this viewer because of it. After being accused of sabotage at the airplane plant where he works he becomes a hunted man and sets off across country after the real culprits. He picks up Priscilla Lane along the way, at first she tries to hinder his efforts, believing him to be guilty, but when the plotters are exposed she realises her misjudgment and resolves to help Kane. These plotters, as far as I can make out, are a collection of upper class Nazi sympathisers hell bent on ruining the war effort. Kane's dogged pursuit of them sees him use deception and escape and evasion but he's more everyman than superman which is better because we do get a sense of peril from the situations he's put in. The film is full of great Hitchcock moments and the Statue of Liberty ending is a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated film with a good ending, 22 Mar 2006
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saboteur [DVD] (DVD)
"Saboteur" is a monochrome WW2 propaganda film that is not one of Hitchcock's better efforts. The acting isn't the greatest , especially Robert Cummings performance as the fugitive, the dialogue is uninspired and most of the characters are cliched. The structure and plot of "Saboteur" is similar to many of Hitchcock's more famous films, such as "North by Northwest","Vertigo" and "The Man Who Knew Too Much". There is the man on the run for a crime he didn't commit, there are set pieces at well known landmarks and there is a tense and dramatic finale. The highlight of "Saboteur" is undoubtedly the exciting climax at the Statue of Liberty in New York, which is certainly not one that acrophobics will enjoy. The integration of serendipity in the film is quite clever too; words and pictures on roadside billboards and books on a library shelf convey meanings to each of the two main characters ,which gives "Saboteur" some additional depth. Interesting film , but probably worth viewing by Hitchcock completists only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where is Frank Fry?, 22 Nov 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
It is 1942; we are in the height of war. Barry Kane (Robert Cummings) and his best buddy are putting out a mysterious fire. They are assisted by a stranger Frank Fry (Norman Lloyd). When it turns out to be sabotage, naturally the authorities have to accuse Barry. Barry’s only chance of survival is to follow clues across the country to find fry. On his travels he gets teemed up with Patricia Martin (Priscilla Lane) who wants to do her patriotic duty and turn Barry in to the authorities. You can not tell the good guys from the bad guys until it is too late.
Can Barry convince Pat that he is innocent?
Can they ever find Fry?
Even if they do find Fry will the authorities ever believe that Barry is innocent?
Be prepared for a lot of long winded speeches from both sides they do not add or subtract form the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Box of Magic, 31 Oct 2004
By 
MR Ellinas "Nicholas Ellinas" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having never watched half the films before in this collection I was very happy that I have now discovered them. Each film boasts a great documentary on the man and the making of the film that is presented by hitchcock's daughter.
One of my favourite's from the collection was the humourous 'The trouble with Harry.' This film didn't do all that well in the US on it's release but was a rave across Europe. The story focuses on a dead body 'Harry' and the trials and tribulations of the village folk trying to cover up his death from the authorities...doesn't sound like a riot but IT IS. The cast is great, and is Shirley MacLaine's debut film. In the collection we have the classics, Rear Window, The Man who knew too much etc.... and there is a bonus disk 'Pyscho.'
I only hoped that Vertigo was in this collection.... but there's Hitchcock box set 2 . Buy this box set, it's worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice movies., 18 May 2004
By 
P. Woods (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I own the whole collection of Hitchcock films (not all of them, just these ones and the ones in volume 2) and I thought they were great. I'm only 13 now, and I enjoy these old films a lot. Hitch was a fine director.
The trouble with Harry: This is all about a group of people who find a dead body, and have no idea what to do with it, and they don't want to start a panic. Not a favourite, some funny bits in it, which aren't funny for our time, and a bit of romance. Pretty weak.
The man who knew too much: This is a better film about a family (mum, dad and son) who go on a holiday, but while there the father hears the words of a dying man, then his son gets kidnapped, and will die iof the father speaks of the words. A much more enjoyable film, Jimmy Stewart is great.
Rear window: A classic, although it's not a favourite of mine. Jimmy Stewart is great again, suspenseful, but I didn't find it to be great. All about a man who is in a cast and watches people in other apartments with a telescope. But one day he is convinced that a man has killed his own wife.
Rope: A very short film, with such a small cast, and a small setting. There is only one scene in it. All about a real life case, where two college kids strangle a boy, and hold a dinner party in the same place, with the boy hidden under the table. A found this more interesting than Rear window, and again, Jimmy Stewart.
Shadow of a doubt: Why Hitchcok's favourite film, I don't know. It's good, but it isn't great. All about a family who get a visit by the Uncle. They love him, but soon the daughter of the family believes he's a killer. Could he be? A nice thriller with a nice ending, good film.
Saboteur: One of my personal favourites from Hitch. Set in the WW2 times (even though it was made about that time), about this factory that gets a fire, and one of the rescuers dies in it. The rescuer's best friend is accused of his death and goes on the run to find the real people responsible. A forgotten classic, with the underrated actor Robert Cummings.
Psycho, the bonus film: Arguably the best Hitchcock movie ever. May be. About a woman who steals some money from her boss and runs away. She stops at the Bates motel, looks like a nice place, but is it? There, she gets stabbed to death in the shower (what a famous scene) by an unknown killer. Days later, the woman's sister begins to get worried, and she wants to know what is hapenning there. A horror classic.
Some good films there. If you're only just getting into Hitchcok, try this. Or you could get the entire collection that I've got, with these films, and a host of others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best dvd box sets - Essential!, 1 Nov 2003
By 
Christos Stathis "pantelis43" (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The Hitchcock Collection is one of the best dvd box sets ever! It contains some of Alfred Hitchcock's best movies; which are the following:
1) The Trouble with Harry (1955)
2) The Man Who Knew Too Much (1956)
3) Rear Window (1954)
4) Rope (1948)
5) Shadow of a Doubt (1943)
6) Saboteur (1942)
7) Psycho - Bonus disc (1960)
Apart from that, you also get very interesting extra features, containing interviews, making of, trailers, cast biographies and many more.The sound and color are almost perfect, giving to the viewer an extra pleasure! Finally, this box set offers a small booklet with useful information, and a very nice poster.
If you are an A. Hitchcock fan, or you just love mystery films, you should definetily buy this collection, as well as it's sequel, "The Hitchcock Collection, Volume 2"!
Do not miss them; both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine collection of Hitchcock, 22 Feb 2005
By 
Mohammad A. Rahman (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazon are offering this 7 movie collection from the Master Of Suspense at an amazing price (£22.97). Buy it instantly - you'll definitely get your money's worth!
The seven films are amongst Hitchcock's best: "Rear Window", "Saboteur", "The Man Who Knew Too Much" (remake), "The Trouble With Harry", "Rope", "Shadow Of A Doubt" and "Psycho".
My only quibble is that the packaging isn't the best - be careful with it! "Psycho" is supposed to be a bonus disc and it is not packed with the main discs. Also, it's only special feature is the original trailer which must be the most unique in film history.
But considering the price I purchased it for, I think I can let these complaints slide.
You'd be foolish to miss this great purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saboteur [Blu-ray] [1942] [Region Free]
Saboteur [Blu-ray] [1942] [Region Free] by Alfred Hitchcock (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews