Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlesd Bradley-Success at last? Its entirely up to you!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim of Love (Audio CD)
Daptone Records continue to caress these ears with a consistently high standard of soul/funk material. Continuing the theme of the previous Charles Bradley album 'No Time For Dreaming' this excellent set is every bit as good. The Motown influenced 'You Put a Flame On It' smacks of major hit record immediately you hear the first bar, if only it could receive the radio air play required. Reliably backed by The Menahan Band, the whole set is full of true soul whether it makes you smile or feel sad makes no difference all these tracks are winners in my book from heavy funk (Love Bug Blues) to blistering heart wrenching ballad (Victim of Love-feel those screams!!); this is all great stuff! This CD provides compounding evidence that true music still exists within the commercial, manufactured world of what now gets called R'n'B. Unashamedly old school,if you enjoy the soulful side of James Brown or Bobby Womack you need to buy this. ESSENTIAL!!!!! Cannot recommend nearly enough to give this justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blimey a real "soul singer" !, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim of Love (MP3 Download)
Back in the day we had something called "Soul Music" - and this unashamedly falls into that category. I had never heard of this guy before and this has blown me away. Think Sharon Jones and you'll get the drift. A real singer,great selection of tunes,fine production and excellent musicianship. Other reviewers give you the lengthy track by track stuff - my message if you understand what " R 'n B" and Soul stood for - this is for you. Love it. Love it. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charles Bradley - "The screaming eagle of soul", 29 April 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Victim of Love (Audio CD)
Charles Bradley is a street survivor, a graduate of the school of hard knocks, an almost mini Dickensian tragedy who somehow at the age of 62 released a passionate debut album which invoked the ghosts of great soul singers of yore not least Otis Redding and the Godfather of Soul, James Brown. The latter reference is hardly surprising since Bradley made a living moonlighting as a James Brown impersonator for many years Check out please the excellent documentary "Soul of America", that premiered at SXSW in 2012 which tells his fascinating and often harshly painful story of Bradley on his journey to stability and potential worldwide domination. "Hyperbole" you say? Not at all is the retort since anyone listening to Bradley will recognise the deep well of exorcism that Bradley excavates tapping into his painful backdrop and downright harrowing experience. He also is a perfect fit for out times arriving when the great Daptone label set up by soul saint Gabriel Roth with his partner Neal Sugarman, from the ashes of Desco Records, is firing on all cyclinders. With acts like Sharon Lewis and Naomi Shelton it has recognisably become the most influential and highly regarded name on the soul and funk scene today with a roster of acts which can blow most bands of the earth's axis.

"Victim of love" sits formally in the 10 year old tradition of this stable and is full of that classic authentic soul which regularly re-emerges when other music forms plummet and bore. Bradley floored this reviewer when he did a smoking version of his single "When the world goes up in flames" on Jools Holland. The good news is that there are songs on "Victim of Love" of that equal class. The brilliant semi acoustic soul ballad of the title track sees Bradley dominate the microphone in a way that only great singers can with a vocal that pours out sheer emotion. The echoes of Al Green on the standout "Let love stand a chance" are there for all to hear but is its fine old song with platinum solid backing from the Menahan Street Band. Those horns on "Crying in the Chapel" resonate with the sounds of The Mar-Keys and The Memphis Horns, and that Bradley vocal cries out for a cloak to be fetched on stage and draped over the singer as he is pulled off to the strain of massed horns, tearful high emotion and ecstatic applause. More highlights follow not least the joyously cathartic opener "Strictly reserved for you" which contrasts sharply with the psychedelic soul of "Where do we go from here". Granted the instrumental "Dusty blue" does not really add much other than signal midway; equally while this is a darker album than the 2011 debut "No time for dreaming" if it was paired up as a double there would be continuity. Who cares however when we have songs like "Confusion" to celebrate; some 3.45 minutes of hard funk which will drown clubs across the USA in pools of sweaty dance and movement once played. Despite this throughout the record it is that old Stax style soul that impacts the most with "Through the storm" greatly impressing.

There is real joy in the passage of Charles Bradley from the struggling street existence to recording star. It in turn begs the question why with a walloping sob of a voice like Bradley's it took so long for a discerning record company executives to recognise the raw talent on display and frog march him to the studio headquarters to sign a recording contract (probably the fixation with wretched pretty boy bands is the dastardly culprit). But let us not end on a bitter and twisted note for the remarkable vintage voice of Bradley now presents itself for your delectation and what fools you would be if you didn't indulge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Victim Of Love [VINYL] Charles Bradley, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim Of Love [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Well I first saw Charles Bradley on a TV programme on BBC4, and I was completely stunned. This man is 60+ apparently been around for years with a James Brown tribute show in New York USA. Charles Bradley is such a quality singer, and song writer - he is utterly reminiscent of a 1960s Classic Soul Music Singer - his songs are wonderful and very topical for today.
If like me you do love Classic Soul Music from the 1960/70s then this Vinyl record is for you, that is if you love the sound of Vinyl records, and the sound of this record is superb - clean and full bodied. A utterly worth-while investment if you do love quality music and have inquisitiveness as a character trait. Charles Bradley certainly is phenomena quite unique, I hope he manages to live till 80 and keep producing wonderful Classic Soul Music. I was convinced that Classic Soul Music was finished, but this recording by Daptone Records - purveyors of terrific Classic Soul Music, made for today proves that is inacurate. Buy it today it's marvelous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now that's what I call music!!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim of Love (MP3 Download)
Found this album by accident after listening to another Daptone artist. If you love old school soul you will love this.
His raspy voice pours out his heart on "Strictly reserved for you", while the horns and guitar carry you away to another place. The chaos on "Confusion" is divine and the instrumental "Dusty Blue" is so good that you don't need any vocals to carry it along.
I could wax lyrical about the other tracks but I think you get the gist.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charles Bradley - Victim of Love, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim of Love (Audio CD)
This is pure old school soul music, which is new material that could have been lifted straight from the 60s. This will probably appeal to the older generation who can remember some of the obvious influences of this album, such as Otis redding, James Brown, Curtis Mayfield, so it will not be everyones cup of tea. I would have given this 5 star, but for the instrumental filler, which isn't bad and sometimes the overdone and somewhat cliched backing vocals. Great to hear good old proper soul music. UK gigs for Autumn 2013 sold out, so word is getting round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Buy, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim of Love (Audio CD)
I wouldn't say this album is as good as Charles' other album, but still has some really good songs. 'Put a Flame on it' is a highlight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soulful, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim of Love (Audio CD)
Heard him on Craig Charles Soul and Funk show on BBC Radio 6; excellent production and easy to listen to whatever the occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old school soul sounds, 26 Jan 2014
By 
John Mackenzie (Bangor, Co.Down) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim Of Love [VINYL] (Vinyl)
If you look your soul music retro then this is for you. I bought a single from this LP and it was so good I bought the album right away. Great singing and the backing band are awesome, check out "Strictly reserved for you" and the title track "Victim of love".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Real Soul, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: Victim of Love (Audio CD)
Beautiful soul music from start to finish backed by a very 70's style almost spliffy band which makes the album very cool and different.
The recent doc on bbciplayer had me very interested in Charles Bradley but i have to say this album is a lot better than what i expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Victim of Love
Victim of Love by Charles Bradley
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews