Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothin' Fancy!!
Governments might rise and fall and Jubilees come and go but there's one thing we can be certain of - every couple of years Alan Jackson will release a new album and everything will feel right in the world of country music for a while.

One of the songs on the album is titled "Nothin' Fancy" and this just about sums up this collection. It's Alan Jackson doing...
Published on 11 Jun 2012 by Kevan James

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Losing originality
As a massive Alan Jackson fan with all his albums collected so far I really looked forward to this but have been massively let down.
I hate to say this but the album seemed very alike other albums and the songs the same,
it's often said Jackson is too commercialised and maybe that is the problem these days as they all seem to follow the same beat without any...
Published 12 months ago by Baz Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothin' Fancy!!, 11 Jun 2012
This review is from: Thirty Miles West (Audio CD)
Governments might rise and fall and Jubilees come and go but there's one thing we can be certain of - every couple of years Alan Jackson will release a new album and everything will feel right in the world of country music for a while.

One of the songs on the album is titled "Nothin' Fancy" and this just about sums up this collection. It's Alan Jackson doing what he does best. And you really can't ask for more than that!

The 13 tracks offer us the usual mix of uptempo fun tracks, the midpace more throughtly numbers, and a couple of slow sad songs. The opening "Gonna Come Back as a Country Song" has AJ saying, "When the good Lord calls me home, I'm gonna come back as a country song", and if you've listened to him over the years you'll be able to imagine it being the case! There's more high jinks towards the end of the album with the single "Long Way To Go" and "Life Keeps Bringin' Me Down" - both fun songs but oddly placed side-by-side on the album as they do sound similar.

It's the sad numbers that really stand out on this collection. "Everything But The Wings" is a somewhat cliched song concept but is a truly fine song, and listen out for the superb fiddle solo about 2 minutes in - marvellous stuff! Lots of reviewers have been mentioning the last song, "When I Saw You Leaving (For Nicey)", a song about his wife's health scares a few years back. It's a very personal song and nicely delivered, but does seem to sound very similar to "Sissy's Song" from the "Good Time" album.

The standout track of the album occurs bang in the middle of the album. The seven minute "Dixie Highway" features a guest vocal from Zac Brown and has the two singers trading lines on a song about the area they both grew up in. Rather like "Long Long Way" from "Good Times" and the title track from "Freight Train", "Dixie Highway" features lots of space for the musicians to spread out and I can imagine this one will be superb in a live setting.

So, nothing new here particularly but that's fine with me. We've got Mr Jackson serving up the goods again. Probably not his best release but an album that will almost certainly feature in my, and a lot of other people's, top 10s at the end of 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Jackson album, 11 Jun 2012
By 
Musicfan (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Thirty Miles West (Audio CD)
I recall the first time I heard Alan Jackson singing Here in The Real World, a brilliant debut. Over the 20 or so years since, he has consistently recorded very good to excellent country albums. He is country and nothing could change that. This is his latest and on a new record company but apart from that, this is typical Jackson. Great songs, great band and effortless country crooning in a style that instantly places him apart from the pack. This album has the usual mix of live songs, the poignant, the humourous, the honky tonkers and the stone country. No weak tracks. All of a very high standard as one would expect from Jackson. Highlights for me is the stone country "So You Don't Have To Love Me Anymore". the bittersweet "Look Her in The Eye and Lie" and the great duet with the superb Zac Brown Band "Dixie Highway". Nothin' fancy says it all....just great country music by a great country singer who always delivers the goods. If you like Alan Jackson, this is a worthy addition to the collection. He keeps the country in country music. If you like traditional country music or modern country music this is a great listen. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is His Voice Made Of Teflon?, 15 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. B. R. Good (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thirty Miles West (Audio CD)
Alan Jackson's voice never ages. He still sounds as fresh as he did 15-20 years ago.
Quite simply, a living legend.

FIRST, listen to 'She Don't Get High'. The most beautiful song i've heard since 'Where were you'. Crisp vocals, typical polished recording where vocals are allowed to shine.

Any AJ fan needs this in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Jackson - Thirty Miles West, 7 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thirty Miles West (Audio CD)
I bought this album for the 'So You Don't Have To Love Me Any More'track. But other tracks stand out just as strongly. Everything But The Wings - When I Saw You Leaving - Her Life's A Song - She Don't Get High -Etc. This is a great album and in my opinion, probably his best yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Jackson's Thirty Miles West, 4 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thirty Miles West (Audio CD)
For all the Country & Western music fans, you will already know that one of the Best Artists is Alan Jackson; and to have his latest record is a Must, it is Really Good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as always, 4 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thirty Miles West (Audio CD)
Alan Jackson has hit the mark again with this brilliant album. The words of he songs are as always brilliant and this one is very Alan his songs are sung from the heart. Well done again Alan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thirty Miles West - another brilliant album, 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thirty Miles West (Audio CD)
Another lovely album from Alan Jackson. The last song on the album written for his wife, will make you cry. Brilliant songs, up to his usual standard. Buy it you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Jackson-Thirty Miles West, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thirty Miles West (Audio CD)
It isnt often I buy an album and like every track. There is nothing on this that I dont LOVE.
Couple of time I thought the intro was It's Five O'clock Somewhere as it was so similar, but no problem as I love that song too.
If you are a Country Music fan you must have this in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Album, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thirty Miles West (Audio CD)
Alan Jackson's latest album is pure gold from start to finish. The American country singer performs songs that almost all come straight from the heart. I would thoroughly recommend this quality CD to anyone who has a passion for country music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thirty Miles West (Audio CD)
very good thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thirty Miles West
Thirty Miles West by Alan Jackson
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews