Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flying high
This is a mighty book that can take you from complete novice through to professional airline pilot without leaving your computer chair.

The premise behind the book is that microsoft FSX is so realistic now that it can be used as a real training aid to a training pilot. this book takes you step by step, chapter by chapter through a 'real' training course using...
Published on 21 May 2008 by Chris A

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down on support promises.
I read the reviews before considering purchase. They were generally positive except for comments about poor black and white photos. However one review stated this problem could be overcome by website backup of the publishers who would supply coloured replacements. With that in mind I purchased. Indeed in the book itself it promised to supply back up material of FSX...
Published on 17 Feb 2012 by Archie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flying high, 21 May 2008
By 
Chris A "chris_store" (From my undersea lair) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a mighty book that can take you from complete novice through to professional airline pilot without leaving your computer chair.

The premise behind the book is that microsoft FSX is so realistic now that it can be used as a real training aid to a training pilot. this book takes you step by step, chapter by chapter through a 'real' training course using FSX. The book is a vital companion to focus and direct your learning, it provides exercises (including some downloadable missions) to illustrate and re-enforce what you have read. Don't be fooled though, despite the serious content the book takes a generally light-hearted approach which stops it ever becoming too academic or dry.

The book take a well balanced approach to teaching you flying, avoiding overloading the reader with detail early on, as if you were learning for real. The book regularly highlights differences between the real world and the flightsim world, so that those using FSX as a true training tool will know where reality departs from simulation.

The main audience for this book then is someone wishing to train as a pilot in the real world with FSX as a supporting training tool, but the book also caters for those who just want to fly the computer in a more 'real' way. Amazingly the authors manages to balance these two aims very well, furthermore it makes the whole thing fun. I must say that I certainly learnt an amazing amount about flying within the first few chapters despite having flown real planes and gliders with the RAF cadets when I was younger.

I can heartily recommend this book to anyone who wishes to use FSX more as a simulator and less as a game. It also works as a users guide for FSX, which sadly is not officially available from Microsoft.

Why not 5 stars? Because it is all in B&W which causes some problems with some of the illustrations, possibly because the authors originally intended a colour print, but the publisher demurred later on. Generally this is OK, but occasionally the text refers to things which are difficult to make out in the fuzzy B&W reproductions. Personally I would have prefered to pay slightly more for full colour with higher quality paper because this would also brighten the overall look of the book. However this is only a slight issue and does not detract from the central value of the book which is the great writing.

File your flight plan now and prepare for take off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Serious Flight Sim Enthusiasts, 7 Aug 2007
FS Real World Training is an invaluable book. Although I had already 'passed' many of the flight lessons in FSX I still didn't feel confident about my flying skills. There were too many things that were left (excuse the expression) hanging in the air. When I bought this book I started at the beginning feeling like a newbie all over again. Many points that I missed before are explained fully and in detail and finally it is all starting to make sense. As a result I am enjoying my flight simulator more than ever. Aside from the wealth of interesting and informative detail I think the most important thing is that the reader gets to make connections. The information connects from one chapter to the next and consequently, step by step, everything fits together. Going through this book is an immensely enjoyable trip. An added bonus are the generous number of free mission files and charts available on the wiley. com web site which are enjoyable and extremely useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Flight Simulators Bible, 16 Oct 2009
By 
As an author myself I am a very critical reader and very particular in what I read. But fear not. This book of over 700 pages is just Fantastic. Jeff Van West and Kevin Lane-Cummings have created a flight simulators bible. You will not be disappointed with this easy to read with lots of great drawings and diagrams. I think that even real pilots would appreciate this book. But it is a Must Have for those who fly the simulator. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really interesting FSX companion for beginners. Nice reading for experienced pilots., 18 May 2011
A very interesting book for any aspiring or student pilot.

It takes advantage of the safe and relatively cheap environment of FSX to teach you the basics of VFR and IFR flight performing exercises as a real world student pilot would.

You'll start at the very beginning: take off and landings; but it'l take you by the hand a step after another until you learn IFR and all its misteries.

People using this book will have to download some files from the editor webpage where they'll find the necessary files to use for flying the exercises written in the book.

Experienced pilots may find this book not advanced enough but I'm sure that even they will learn some new tricks.

For beginners: don't look futher. This is your book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 11 Mar 2011
By 
A. Frid (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I see only (so far) one 1 star critic, everyone else gives it high ratings and I agree with the 4/5 star raters. The trouble with FSX is that it has huge potential and diversity, and without a manual to browse through one can feel overwhelmed by the game (having said that the game tutorials have improved loads since earlier versions).

Personally I find the manual great to use, and good value to boot.

It has its own tutorials that you can easily setup, gives guidance (take off speed, stalling speed, flap settings, trim settings etc) and then talks you through the full scenario (as well as the personal, real life, experiences of the authors). I can guarantee that without this book/manual FSX would only be half the game experience (unless of course you are an experienced MS Flight Simmer)

Well worth considering, you may need to be at the game screen whilst "browsing" the book to understand some deeper points but even so, if you fancy an armchair browse, this book is good for that too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a jolly good read, 10 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book and a light read. A book you can pick up always learn something. It starts at the very basics and ends really with a twin engine Beech Baron. It has a couple of chapters on multiplaying = but this could be brought up to date slightly. It offers little learning for jet liners and the chapter on how to run an ATC on multiplayer is very light. So, if you want to fly a jet properly - or learn to do ATC for VATSIM (for example) this book may not satisfy. I have been flying for six years informally and found the book a great read. You could suppliment the book using the AVSIM pilot training course (which does cover jets and advanced procedures)and there is some good video resources on Youtube.

Its a big thumping book - which will keep you going for some time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant If You Want to Do It Properly, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The title basically says it all. Just over 700 pages of detailed information and packed with plenty of screen shots (b&w). The book covers everything from setting up FSX, learning how an aircraft stays in the air, your first flight, basic flight maneuvers, more advanced flight maneuvers, airport operations, navigation, flight planning, all the way up to the more advanced stuff like IFR flights and multi-engine aircraft etc, and there's lot's, lot's more I haven't even listed here too. I used to fly for real but nowadays I just enjoy FSX with the realism settings on high and it's great to see the authors explaining any differences between FSX and the real world where appropriate. It's all here but be prepared to put the time and effort in which I suppose is like anything in life - you get out of it what you put in. If your quite happy just flying around in FSX and not too bothered about the detailed stuff then this may be a little OTT, but if your serious about learning or are having flight training in the real world too then you really can't go far wrong with this book. The free downloadable lessons are a nice touch too which saves you time trying to recreate exactly what is being taught in the current lesson - just hit the load button on the main screen, select the appropriate lesson and off you go. If you have a little difficulty downloading or installing the lessons there is another review on here where someone has commented on that review and they explain it perfectly. I hope this helps a little. Happy flying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FSX Real World Training, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent addon for FSX The subject matter goes way beyond what I will ever need but all the answers to my questions are contained within this book. Good value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An oldie, but goodie, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Flight Simulator X For Pilots: Real World Training (Kindle Edition)
This book has been available for many years. For those who still use FSX, it is useful for explaining the basics of flying, so easily forgotten. It also describes some details of signs and behaviour at the airport which are a useful addition to just flying. There are over 20 chapters with detailed examples of flying in most, starting with a basic flight in a simple aircraft around a remote airport. I have recently re-read this book from the beginning - relearning the basics - after a lapse of a few years, and it gives me the same enthusiasm now as it did before. I recommend this book for Flight Sim enthusiasts who are keen to do it properly from the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does what it says, takes you from the the taxi, takeoff to flying and does it really well. Obviously the user must be interested in putting in some work in order to get the best from this software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2dc88dc)

This product

Only search this product's reviews