Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivid re-telling of the timeless classic
This re-telling of Bunyan's classic makes this amazing story much more accessible. Gone is the old fashioned and hard to understand english and in its place is beautifully written yet readable prose. The story has lost none of its imagery or impact but gained much through being a much easier read. The scriptural references are there (as in the original) along with...
Published on 12 Jun 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the short Bible
Read this book in a series of Wordsworth classics, otherwise I think I would not have chosen this kind of book.
If you are interested in religion and the Bible it is a nice story. But keep in mind it was written some centuries ago with very old sayings in it, although quite readable ( as I am Dutchspeaking I could understand most of the English language)
Published 12 months ago by laros76


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivid re-telling of the timeless classic, 12 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This re-telling of Bunyan's classic makes this amazing story much more accessible. Gone is the old fashioned and hard to understand english and in its place is beautifully written yet readable prose. The story has lost none of its imagery or impact but gained much through being a much easier read. The scriptural references are there (as in the original) along with helpful suggestions on how to re-read the book. Christian's epic journey along the 'narrow path' is as riveting as before and all the lessons he learns along the way as clear as day. This is an excellent book for anyone setting out on the Christian journey and equally useful for more mature Christians who may need reminding about all the pitfalls that await unwary travellers ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Long Journey To Glory, 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a classic from way back when. An excellently written account of one person's journey from "this world to that which is to come". Although basically is it about Christian and his journey it is the other characters that he meets along the way that adds "spice" to the narrative. A very god read. One small critism from me is that in the version I have the Bible references are given in the narrative, (but not always the Bible quotation), and I feel it would have helped the flow of the story to have listed the references as a footnote. This of course is my personal opinion and other readers may be quite happy with this. However do not let this spoil your reading of this great Christian classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Especially for those with a biblically background who catch and believe the references throughout. Romans 8:16-18 'The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God: And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with him, that we may be also glorified together. For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pilgrims Progress is a spiritual classic, but it is also a classic of literature. The scholarrly introduction gives a very clear understanding of the book and its background, and of Bunyan himself. Even for anyone with no interest in things Christian, it would be a rattling good yarn, vividly written so that when Christian and Hopeful are imprisoned in Doubting Castle by Giant Dispair the reader himself begins to feel dispair, and the battle with Appolyion is truly terrifying. The characters, despite their obviously didactic names, (for this is an allegory) are credible as human beings. Even the landscape is lovely, and for those who are interested, the Delectable Mountains are the Chilterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You Can't Stop Progress, 6 Dec 2013
TPP is often touted as the "first English novel", so on that basis, and critical recommendations, I thought I'd give it a whirl. Although JB was a Protestant, I reckoned as a "collapsed Catholic" I'd understand enough of the scriptural allusions to cope. And so it proved. The narrative is all about saving yourself from the consequences of sin (the key to monotheistic faiths), and devil take the rest (he does). Christian's pilgrimage to the Celestial City is as fraught with danger as you'd imagine, though you never once think he'll fail in his mission as Good here is assailable but never to be conquered. Monsters and giants lurk along the way, but the most dangerous enemies are the personifications of human weakness who try to beguile him with false directions. In this they are the predecessors of "characters" in novels generally, for good and bad. Mr Wickham in Pride and Prejudice, for example, is a direct descendant of some of the rotters here. In Part Two, Christian's wife and children undertake the same journey, though they have a far easier time of it, stopping off along the way for marriages and so forth. The final passages where pilgrims are called across the river (of death) are touching and I suppose the reason the book has endured so long - and sold so well - is that we are all of us on the same journey, even if we believe different things about its meaning and destination. This edition has been stripped of complex doctrinal arguments, which is no bad thing as they are obscure and irrelevant footnotes for the general modern reader. Enjoy the journey - and watch out for that conman The Flatterer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars remember this from schooldays, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an engrossing reading at school (a long time ago) and still a very good read, would recommend this book anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pilgrims Progress, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book to retain for prayer and study.
A good reference book for the bookshelf.
Every person should have a copy of their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! A must read for all Christians on a pilgrimage to the Celestial City!, 29 Jan 2010
By 
John Bunyan expresses hard core truth that many so-called christians and non believers would find offensive. I for one love it. He expresses these truths by letting the reader explore the world of a true pilgrim. The troubles ahead which poor Christian faces alone all reflect the trials and tribulations that real christians face today. I'm a living witness to that. 5 stars for me, and definitely my favorite book other than the bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read it, 12 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read this book several times and now I buy it as presants for my friends along with Jonathan Livinston Seagull by Richard Bach
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a story revisited, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this as a child 55 years ago; then it was just a story

I found this version very readable as an adult and not too cluttered with some of the original theological discussions which you can always read in the full free versions available for the kindle.

Surprisingly it kept my attention right to the end and some of the more profound observations ( particularly how crossing Jordan can be different for different Christians ) have stayed with me weeks after finishing the book.

I'm not sure how this book will read if you have no faith in Jesus, I guess its either ridiculous or terrifying;but I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews