Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Badlands of the Baltic
Novels by Martin Cruz Smith feature Arkady Renko, Moscow cop, as the main protagonist. They can be found on the shelves labelled detective fiction, but could equally be classified as thrillers. Russia lies a long way from the cottages and bars of British detectives and life is much wilder. Characters are more widely drawn - chess-playing street kids, Chechen warlords,...
Published 5 months ago by gerardpeter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tine to bury Renko?
I like MCZ's books and buy then all immediately after publication, but I'm sorry to say that they are getting less and less compelling. This is a short book by today's and by MCZ's standards and it shows. Character development is poor and the plot, to say the least, underwhelming. I think Martin has a problem with Renko. Gorky Park, Polar Star and Red Square were set in...
Published 3 months ago by Lionel Wall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars another problem for renko and his sidekick, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tatiana (Kindle Edition)
I have not finished the book yet but as usual with cruz smith I am enthralled with the internal politics of the Russian police and the efforts of one man to accomplish what he started out doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from this author, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tatiana (Kindle Edition)
Excellent story - however it looks like this will be the last one in the series, which is a big disappointment. I really enjoyed reading the progress of the Russian policeman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arkady Renko in trouble again!, 30 Mar 2014
By 
SAAB boy (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tatiana (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent book in the Arkady Renko canon from Martin Cruz Smith. His writing just gets better and better and the world-weary Renko is one of his finest creations, an honest policeman in a country where corruption and crime is everywhere, and no-one seems to care about the truth but him. I could't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story is as usual a good one from Cruz Smith, the 1 star is for the quality of the pages within the book it should have been rejected from the printer prior to selling as the pages are not uniform, more like a mountain range and thus the appearance is awful and turning the pages is difficult.
Unfortunately I was out of the country when it arrived and by the time I came back it was to late to return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Tobius Plum (Bristol England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tatiana (Hardcover)
Unlike the old CCCP Arkady is still on his feet and facing the World albeit in a need of a good scrub down and some Vit C.. Whereas before he was like a bleak twisted victim of the system he is now in this latest outing equiped with a sharper wit and dare I say, more at peace personality. This says something about the previous books. I like Arkady, stubborn, indifferent to success and in some weird way a dreamer who has no dreams. It`s a relief as the las few books have been hard work with below standard stories, this on the other hand is sharp, funny and goes at a brisk pace. Is this as good as Polar Star, my personal favourite...no but it`s different, very different in style, almost like another author and as such the author has re-invented Arkady to drift through the new Russia and let`s hope that there`s more to come. It`s a 5, worth that, no and well yes ish....your choice but worth a bash
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A class act, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tatiana (Hardcover)
Reading this authors latest offering reminded me how much I have enjoyed his work in the past. The character of Renko and his sidekick make for great humour as well as great reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SHINES LIKE A STAR., 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tatiana (Kindle Edition)
ANOTHER CRACKING RENKO STORY. DRAWS THE READER IN TO A RUSSIA FAR REMOVED FROM THE ONE WE THOUGHT WE KNEW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping hope in a hopeless land., 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tatiana (Kindle Edition)
Once again the author's love of Russia told through Renko's eyes shines through. Thrilling, suspenseful and the pace never let's up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sad, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Elaine Byrne (Troon. Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tatiana (Kindle Edition)
I find this series very atmospheric and at the same time sad - there is so little optimism and so much corruption and Tatiana is no different. The plot, involving the apparent suicide of a crusading journalist, the eponymous Tatiana, and the missing notes of a murdered translator, leads Arkady Renko to more corruption in high places. Mr Cruz Smith paints an excellent, if extremely bleak, picture of modern Russia where money talks and the rich appear to be above the law. This is not a happy read but it is interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great writer and this is another great book., 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tatiana (Hardcover)
another super well written book from MCS. Gets to grip with life in Moscow, doesn't pull any punches. Flawed and likeable detective who loves his corrupt country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa472bdd4)

This product

Tatiana
Tatiana by Martin Cruz Smith
7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews