Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ava Rides Again!
A movie star who, by her own admission hated making movies, Ava Gardner was a unique and original screen beauty who's fondness for booze, men and good times are legendary. This book is her story as told by her to Peter Evans, who she asked to ghost write her autobiography in the late 1980's.
Her volatile temper, extreme language and life long affair with alcohol and...
Published 12 months ago by Belfast Dave

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A different approach to a Biography
You get a real insight into what Ava Gardner was like in her latter years and I am not sure that, for me, she came across as a very likeable person. I found the end of the book left disappointing as it left the reader up in the air. Overall worth a read but not as informative as I thought it would be.
Published 11 months ago by Mrs S K Cook


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars repeating what others have said, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ava Gardner: The Secret Conversations (Kindle Edition)
tells you nothing new i was disappointed with this book ,if you have read about her before you will not learn anything new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DID NOT DO THE SUBJECT JUSTICE, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book missing the point and was more about the author than Ava was about 3/4 way through before he got to grips with the subject . I felt he probably had loads more information than was included all in all not an exciting read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The secret conversations by a a Gardner., 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ava Gardner: The Secret Conversations (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this autobiographical read. The honesty of miss gardener astounded me. If only it could have lasted longer.

Her life she told it how she lived it?

One of those books I could not put down, what a page turner (Read the book in 2 days)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange..., 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ava Gardner: The Secret Conversations (Kindle Edition)
Found this an excellant read-- untill the end chapters !! Very strange ending to a book I was thoroughly enjoying!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SECRET CONVERSATIONS, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ava Gardner: The Secret Conversations (Kindle Edition)
AVA WAS ALWAYS ONE OF MY FAVOURITES VERY RAUNCHY BOOK. ENJOYED IMMENSLEY. IF YOU NEED ANY MORE WORDS
PLEASE ADD THEM YOURSELF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant!, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent service, arrived quicker than I expected, many thanks JW Brilliant read this book, would highly recommend it, if you like the true facts behind the scenes of so many famous people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointed, 21 July 2013
By 
JanP "Molly May" (Wiltshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ava Gardner: The Secret Conversations (Kindle Edition)
It was a bit too much conversation and not enough information. I suppose I should have paid attention to the title of the book.

I felt it never got going, there was quite a lot about her marriage to Mickey Rooney, but not much about Frank Sinatra or Artie Shaw, it was just bits and pieces, not put together very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a disapointment. Boring, keep waiting for a proper conversation, the word Honey used over and over again,disjointed and very average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read it because i bought it. Read it and forgot it. There must be a better biography out there somewhere.This one will go to the local charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Schlock and swill., 21 Feb 2014
By 
Ronald Haak (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book offers us a patch up of junky, barely connected jabber from a shoebox of cassette tapes put together (with plenty of padding!) long after Ava and the would be author died. We're victims of a brazen con game that shovels vacuous filler in a the mode of a degraded stream of consciousness at its most dreary and ugly. What amazes me is the content of the 5* reviews! I can hardly find any similarity between their claims and the book in my hand. Are these from the author's relatives? Or people on the publisher's payroll? Or fanatical fans of the star eager to praise ANYTHING connected with their idol? The people panning the book have no vested interest in doing so. They're the ones who can be trusted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews