Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping Thriller
16 year old Laila Khan has befriended her 17 year old classmate, Ray-Ray Thompson. Since the death of her father, her uncle, Mahmood Khan has become head of the family. He is a strict authoritarian in upholding the honour of the family name. Ray-Ray's father is a powerful London gangster currently imprisoned. This innocent teenage relationship triggers a sequence of...
Published 22 months ago by ACB(swansea)

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars lost its way
Based on laila and rayray but it seemed like the author felt the need to concentrate more on arnie the psycho than the love and story line of laila and ray. disappointing, the story did not reach its full potential. i know she was trying to show dishonor from both sides but i dont think it really worked.
Published 21 months ago by Jayjay


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping Thriller, 30 Aug. 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DISHONOUR (Kindle Edition)
16 year old Laila Khan has befriended her 17 year old classmate, Ray-Ray Thompson. Since the death of her father, her uncle, Mahmood Khan has become head of the family. He is a strict authoritarian in upholding the honour of the family name. Ray-Ray's father is a powerful London gangster currently imprisoned. This innocent teenage relationship triggers a sequence of events that rapidly escalates into a vengeful, relentless family feud between the Khan and Thompson families with Laila and Ray-Ray caught in it.

Jacqui Rose skilfully develops several plotlines, including a psychotic kidnapper, that progress into a fast-paced novel packed with action, breathtaking chases and violent life-threatening confrontations. The plot strands are ingeniously interlinked with neat twists, surprises and coincidences that lead to a nerve-racking and unpredictable ending. The final paragraph has an unexpected ironic touch.

Jacqui Rose has written another superb exciting and exhilarating book that really is difficult to put down as the narrative changes in direction, locations and relationships rip along at such a rate that as a reader I constantly wanted to know what was on the next page. Enthralling, entertaining and enjoyable. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DISHONOUR (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, could not put it down.
It was gritty, unpredictable and a really good story.
The best book I have read in a while, it is as good if not better than a martina Cole or similar authoress.
I won't spoil the contents of the book but if one reads the first chapter you will be hooked.
Looking forward to her next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read, 1 Sept. 2013
This review is from: DISHONOUR (Paperback)
Fantastic book. I could not put it down . The story has you hooked as soon as you start reading . Think this is her best book yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNPUTDOWNABLE, 3 Sept. 2013
By 
I Love Reading "Vicki" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: DISHONOUR (Kindle Edition)
its going to be difficult to get into another book after reading this. It was a fantastic book, very well written, and unputdownable.
I just had to read at every oportunity, and then was gutted when i finished it.
I loved how the story, and all the different characters finally came together.
Gritty, unpredictable, Unputdownable, Fantastic, Fast paced. This will definatly be on my best reads of 2013 list..
Jacqui Rose has certainly got herself up there and if you enjoy reading From Authors like, Jessie Keane, Kimberley Chambers and Mandasue Heller. Then you will love this book..
When Laila takes the chance of holding hands with her teenage crush Ray Ray on the walk home from school, she has no idea of the trouble she's about to cause.
Perfect for fans of Martina Cole, Dishonour is a hard-hitting, gritty page-turner.

`No matter what she did, he would always be there, right behind her. She could never escape'

Laila is sixteen years old and beautiful, kind and clever; traits liable to get her into trouble and make people dislike her ...
She doesn't make her life any easier when she falls in love with an English boy, bringing shame on her family and attracting the attention of some very dangerous men. These men are always watching her and will stop at nothing to get things done their way.

Soon there's a terrible `accident' and Laila is forced to make a deal with the devil. And pay a very heavy price for breaking the rules. Laila has been forced to marry a cruel, controlling man by the people who are supposed to love her the most. Without anyone to help her, she has to find her own way out...

for more of my reviews check out my facebook page.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dishonour, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DISHONOUR (Kindle Edition)
Gripping from start to finish. A brilliant book which I would highly recommend . I will look forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DISHONOUR (Kindle Edition)
It seemed to take forever for this book to be released and it was not a disappointment. I am a great fan of Jacqui Rose and can not wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read, 26 April 2014
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: DISHONOUR (Paperback)
Since the death of her father Laila's life has been controlled by her uncle, the only time she gets a chance to be herself is at school where she befriends new student Raymond 'Ray Ray' Thompson, son of notorious London gangster Ray, who has moved up to Yorkshire with his mother for a fresh start after his father was jailed.

But this innocent friendship soon sets off a trigger of events that will tear them apart and life will never be the same again for either of them.

Having previously read Taken and Trapped I had high expectations for Dishonour and I wasn't disappointed as it was another drama filled story that had me hooked right from the off. I loved the diversity of the characters and how the various storylines all interlinked with one another till they reached their conclusions.

This story takes us from Bradford to Pakistan and London as we follow the lives of Laila, Ray Ray and their families. I was routing for Laila to shake off the ties of her family and make a new independent life for herself, and was definitely silent cheering as certain characters got their comeuppance although the ending was certainly left open with one character so it will be interesting to see if he makes a re-appearance in future books.

As it's taken me so long to read this book, her new book Betrayed has already been published so I've now added it to my wishlist to read, preferably before her next book Avenged is published in August.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 May 2014
This review is from: DISHONOUR (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book of Jacqui Rose that I've read. I'm now a big fan of hers, she's a brilliant author, I loved the story line and the twists and turns kept me gripped throughout the whole book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dishonour, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DISHONOUR (Kindle Edition)
Very good read, another one that's hard to put down, got to keep turning the pages. Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DISHONOUR (Kindle Edition)
really got into this , plenty of action and the storyline was good. Would definitely read more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DISHONOUR
DISHONOUR by Jacqui Rose
£1.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews