Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but effective experiential guide, 26 Mar 2013
From its title, you might guess that this is a New Age self-help book telling you how you should be living your life. Actually, it's nothing of the sort. Instead, what Yvonne Ryves has written is an experiential guide to creating a personalised web (inspired by the Shamanic concept of the Medicine Wheel) that allows you to identify, connect to and work with your spiritual guides, teachers and the energies that we all have with and around us all the time.

It is a surprisingly simple process, which leads to the creation of your own individual deck of cards that can be used to strengthen and deepen your connection with the web that you've made and thus with your guides and teachers. It is simple but brilliantly effective, being flexible and easy to adapt, to change and develop in accordance with your own needs, circumstances and spiritual practices.

It is a very practical book, full of exercises and helpful suggestions that will help to take working with these tools to different levels, depending on how far you want to take it. This means that both beginners and advanced practitioners will be able to work with this book in different ways and learn a great deal about themselves, their lives and the path that they are on.

You don't need to be into Shamanism, or indeed Paganism, to work with this - it works well with almost any spiritual belief system. It allows you - whichever way you work - to become much more aligned with and understand more thoroughly the influences around you and become much more in touch with all aspects of the natural and spiritual worlds. It provides a map - or a succession of maps - that help you to follow and keep track of your life at any particular moment, enabling you to chart your progress and see where you need to work harder in order to move forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaman Pathways - Web of Life: Guidance for your life journey (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book. It doesn't just talk about vague concepts but invites you to engage in a journey to find you own place in the web of life. The exercises really start you thinking, and what seems like a short, simple question can open up all kinds of pathways. I often buy books like this, read them and that's it, but this will be one of the few that will be with me for some time as I work through it to enrich my spiritual journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting read, 24 Mar 2013
This is a wonderful little book within the Moon Books Shaman Pathways series.

Yvonne Ryves shows you how to make your own Web of Life she offers up exercises and suggestions to help you put together your own, personal and very unique Web, based on the idea of a Medicine Wheel or the Wheel of the Year - enabling you to personalise it to suit your own needs, thoughts and pathway.

Yvonne takes the reader step by step from creating sacred space, connecting with the compass directions, finding your very own teachers and ultimately weaving your own Web of Life.

Very interesting and inspiring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear and informative, 18 Mar 2013
By 
colette brown (Strathaven, scotland) - See all my reviews
this book is one of the best I have read in its explanation of individual, personal medicine wheels and because of this I will recommend it to many people. the book allows us to see how we connect with the web of life and allows us to travel our own path, our own wheel. the exercises are wonderful and simply laid out. a great read with very good and accessible advice.
the author has a nice tone which is neither preachy nor staid. this is a good book for beginners in shamanic practices and also for those who need reminders about nurturing and exploring their own paths further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book for Life and Living, 21 Mar 2013
`Web of Life' is a wonderfully compact book filled with wisdom and a unique personal approach to your life's journey. In this little gem, Yvonne Ryves provides clear guidance on how to create your `web of life', including connecting with your teachers and guides. While presenting detailed information on medicine wheels and circles of life from a wide range of traditions, Yvonne encourages the reader to explore what is `right' for them, merging the logical and creative energies to create their own personal wheel and pathways. This is an empowering approach and puts you, the reader, in charge of all that you work with on your journey.
Presented in a clear and logical format, you can work your way through the exercises in this book to end up with a comprehensive tool to seek insights into issues, and to guide you on your life's journey. Based on the interconnectedness of all of existence, this is a great way of approaching individual issues, or exploring your whole life's journey. It is a fantastically energising tool to get you from where you are to where you want to go. If you are looking to create direction in your life, or seek guidance on the way, this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is enjoyable yet really practical, with loads of exercises, 15 Mar 2013
I really enjoyed reading this book. It's a concise yet beautifully written book, with loads of inspirational exercises to do to create your own web of life.

I loved the way the author gently guides you through the exercises, so that you can work on them independently. But if you become stuck she has also added beliefs from different cultures around the world that can help you complete the exercises.

In particular, I liked the creative work, such as creating my own deck of cards to work with my own web of life.

Overall, I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and thought-provoking read, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book takes a subject that can appear to be very complicated and presents it in a way that is easy to understand, but does not patronise the reader. Yvonne Ryves draws from a wide variety of philosophies, but does not try to mix them all together. She does not go into too much technical details with them either; instead she encourages the reader to use them as inspiration and encourages them to explore their own thoughts on them further.

There are exercises to help the reader to examine their own part of the web, and these are well presented. Once again Yvonne guides the reader rather than dictating, which makes it feel like she is acting as a facilitator rather than a lecturer.

I have enjoyed reading this book, I feel that it is written well, and the exercises I have done so far have been fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great little book, 12 April 2014
This little book is a great introduction to the medicine wheel exploring the web of life from different cultures, Celtic, Native American, Incan and Tibetan to name a few. Useful and applicable to modern practitioners of any or all shamanic paths, beginners and advanced alike, and packed with really useful and grounded exercises, Yvonne Ryves writes with clarity and insight that shows real experience. Particularly useful are the sections on how to make and use your own cards and use your own insights about the directions and their associations for divination and guidance. Well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction to Shamanic Practice, 17 Mar 2014
This book presents the idea of the medicine wheel to the user, starting from the basics and moving on to advanced ideas. What I particularly liked about it was the presentation of Native American concepts along with Celtic and other cultures. This really brought home the commonality of people's experience of this concept. As a devotee of the Celtic ways I was surprised to find out how many different cultures could interpret the 'simple' concept of North in completely different ways. The writing style was clear and flowed well and I would heartily recommend this book to all seeking a great introduction to shamanic practice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book., 6 Jan 2014
By 
G Talboys - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
People often assume that a big book is going to be more informative than a little book. Whilst the potential is there for this to be true, it is often the case that a short book has made the author think all the more about their subject and how to present the essence with clarity. This is certainly the case here. And not only do we get good information, but we also get good guidance.

For me, the best thing about the book is that whilst offering information, ideas, and help, it is encouraging the reader to become aware of the worlds in which they live and take control of their own being within them.

Even more impressive is the way in which the guidance offered works a template for whatever your spiritual path might be.

An excellent little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews