Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
110
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2013
Saw PSB supporting the Manic Street Preachers at The Ritz, Manchester last week. Excellent musicianship and interesting sound, they also went down pretty well with a hardcore Manics crowd. I like this sort of stuff though, it reminds me of Stereolab crossed with Fluke. My wife hated it.
33 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
I love this album. Indie guitar over that classic voiceover of the people who did the public service announcements.
Best track for me is Spitfire, the story of the world war two fighter plane over 3 minutes or so of spoken word and music.
On constantly in the car, please buy this album, I am sure it will not disappoint.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
COLOURBOX.
This sampling under music has been done before by Colourbox, over 30 years ago.Try 'Just Give 'em Whiskey'. PSB are very good , but not unique.
Come to think of it, Colourbox would have got the idea from Byrne & Eno's 'My Life in the Bush of Ghosts' LP, which was groundbreaking,and MUCH more out there than PSB (or Colourbox).
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
Came to hear Public Service Broadcasting only recently but just love their music. Seems like a cross between OMD (especially their album Dazzle Ships with similar vocal inserts in their tracks), New Order and other great electro bands of the 80's, only now brought bang up to date for the 21st century. a great duo with some wonderful writing. And if you like this (i did immensely), you must hear their newest album 'Race for Space'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I first got into PSB after hearing the Spitfire track on Soundcloud, I quickly snapped up the War Room EP, a five tracker based on WW II, a pretty big ask for an EP but War Room dealt with it with aplomb.

So, Inform, Educate, Entertain arrives with a lot of expectations. Does it meet these? Well, yes and no. Let me explain.

Taken individually there are some very strong tracks on this album, Lit Up and Everest really stand-out but there are no real weak tracks in there.

What doesn't work so well is that the tracks don't really work as a sequence, they hang on their own individually but as a complete listen they don't seem to sequence strongly.

The nearest comparison I can make is some photo books, Stephen Shore's American Surfaces for example, the shots need to be sampled as an entire sequence from start to finish, one does not simply gaze at one or two photos, the concept and intention can only be grasped by going from start to finish and absorbing the sequence.

This album tracks don't hang well together, they seem thrown in there at random.

I think, in hindsight, the concept behind War Room was much stronger as it showed a logical progression through the tracks and one felt as if the whole was something bigger than the parts. Not so with Inform, Educate, Entertain, the whole is the sum of the parts and one can't but help feel slightly cheated.

Good but I would recommend the War Room over this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
I love the idea, and it's well executed. That said there are limitations in using public service film soundtracks as your vocal line...but in this world of me-toos and soundalikes, Public Service Broadcasting offer something original and should be thanked for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
This is a good album but not as good as the new one 'Race to Space'. It has very good tracks on it but lacks a direction as in the new one. It is almost like a compilation of tracks from elsewhere. It is a good starting point though, so you can see their potential. Buy this as a starting point as I think this band has bigger and better yet to offer. David Wilson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
On paper, an album of electronically tinged indie-rock instrumental tracks with 1930s, 40s, and 50s samples sounds like it be more cerebral than emotional, but there's something about Inform Educate Entertain that gets under the skin. In other hands, the mostly male, Received Pronunciation samples that PSB use might be deployed ironically, or edited in ways that turn the words against their speakers; but here we're given what feel like generous portions, and nothing ostentatiously sneaky in the editing, so the whole work embodies a nostalgia for an era of 1930s-1950s idealism, national collective consciousness, and -- of course -- public service. Of course you can't help being aware that the power was being wielded by public-school- and grammar-school-educated white middle class men -- there are no regional accents here -- and that it wasn't a bed of roses, so the feeling isn't uncomplicated, but there is feeling here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
I really like the concept and the music these talented guys weld together. Vinyl is excellent quality sound. Several good tracks, topped by their "hits" Spitfire and Everest. See them live if you can, or at least on You Tube, to get the videos and quite a helping of humour. I just wonder where they're going from the niche that they've made for themselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
I love the concept of these guys. There are a number of tracks that I can't get out of my head, such as spitfire and Everest...they are just so well produced. I can see that PSB will just get better and better. Check out Gagarin on YouTube.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.49
£7.99
£1.49
£1.79

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.