Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very very good
Darous Rucker is the former lead singer of Hootie and the Blowfish and has a soulful voice full of characrter whose group sang a sort of folk rock not so far removed from some of Country Music. A few years ago he made the move to Country music with the album Learn to Live which is excellent and I recommend it. It was a very successful move for him and a very successful...
Published on 13 Feb 2011 by Musicfan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
bit medioca
Published 2 months ago by chriscrouch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very very good, 13 Feb 2011
By 
Musicfan (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Charleston Sc 1966 (Audio CD)
Darous Rucker is the former lead singer of Hootie and the Blowfish and has a soulful voice full of characrter whose group sang a sort of folk rock not so far removed from some of Country Music. A few years ago he made the move to Country music with the album Learn to Live which is excellent and I recommend it. It was a very successful move for him and a very successful album. Could he follow it up or was it just a gimmick? His second album proves it was not and he deserves his country music success. he clearly has an understanding and a love for the genre. He does not have the traditional country voice of say a Geroge Jones nor is a honky tonk singer in the mould of say a George Strait. His voice has character, warmth and is instantly recognisable and he is a fine interpreter of a good song. He is perhaps towards to the more soulful pop side of country but is more country than many (eg Tim McGraw?) and thoroughly deserves to be called a country singer. This album is a great follow up to his country debut and is full of excellent songs. Highlights are 'This', 'Come Back Song', 'Southern State of Mind' and the very country 'Whiskey & you'. None of the songs disappoint. All the songs are good. The album keeps one interested and entertained throughout. A welcome addition to his catalogue and a welcome addition to country music. A great sound. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Try this CD is you are a country fan, 21 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charleston Sc 1966 (Audio CD)
I must admit I had never heard of Darius Rucker before hearing 'This' on the radio and it stopped me in my tracks. I did some research and found that he had been around for quite some time. I decided to throw caution to the wind and buy the CD and I am not disappointed. Those of you who know the music of his previous group will hear a similarity between some of the tracks on this CD and his previous work. Not knowing much about Mr Rucker until now this fact did not worry me unduly. I love the CD and now sing along merrily to the tracks even though some are quite similar. The words all have the 'Rucker' imprint as he was involved with writing all the songs. I think his leaning towards country will introduce him to a new audience. I am certainly enjoying this new found artist, to me anyway and encourage others to give him a go. You never know you might get hooked like I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing CD, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Trevor Ball (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charleston, Sc 1966 (Audio CD)
Darius first CD was awesome, its when I realised he was lead singer for Hootie and The Blowfish prior to going it alone. This album titled birthplace and year is a great follow up. Track after track are winners, no weak links. He has a soulful voice that carries well into Country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great country music, 17 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charleston, Sc 1966 (Audio CD)
Darius Rucker was new to me this year, first seen at the London O2, if you like Brad Paisley and Garth Brook you will like Darius RuckerCharleston, Sc 1966.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars keep it country, 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: Charleston, Sc 1966 (Audio CD)
Brilliant album, Darius has a distinctive voice and it not often you get an album where every song is great. never get tired of listening to it

Great Stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great vibe, 26 Sep 2011
This review is from: Charleston, Sc 1966 (Audio CD)
This ex-Hootie and the Blow Fish singer was great as support for Brad Paisley This Is Country Music this summer so I decided to check out the CD. I wasn't disappointed. It has a mix of really upbeat country tracks with some slower ones. Real touches of his experience as a southern boy out in the wider world, with songs about his roots, that draw you into a musical experience and feel for his life. It is generally up-lifting and a good anti-dote to the current times. I particularly like 'Southern State of Mind', but the whole CD is a great listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 3 Dec 2010
By 
J. Holmes "Film addict" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charleston Sc 1966 (Audio CD)
I bought this album because I am trying to get more into country. I have to say this guy's voice is fantastic. His songs are amazing. Anyone who likes country can't fail to like this. I have played this album now hundreds of times and enjoy it more and more every time. Get it and you won't be disappointed. Can't wait for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charleston SC 1966. Darius Rucker, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Charleston Sc 1966 (Audio CD)
We saw Darius rucker while on holiday in the USA, supporting Brad Paisley and were impressed with his show.
This CD has lived up to expectations and was a well received Christmas present for my wife.
Darius Rucker is the former lead singer with Hootie and the Blowfish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charleston, Sc 1966 (Audio CD)
FANTASTIC ALBUM...REALLY ENJOYING LISTENING TO IT, EVEN THOUGH IT WAS A BIRTHDAY PRESENT FOR MY SON!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars marvellous Darius, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charleston, Sc 1966 (Audio CD)
Love Darius Rucker brilliant album excellent service as usual from amazon. If you like country music check him out all his cd's are worth a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews