Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sisters
This book gives a perfect illustration of the difficult and humerous times during ww2.
My late Grandmother was a nurse during this period in the East End of London at Stratford E 15
Published on 14 Jan. 2013 by don in france

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Sisters Kindle book
Very interesting encounters but each one too short, jumps about far too much. Needs a lot of concentration to read it.
I am a retired nurse so will dip in and out as the mood takes me
Published 12 months ago by A. Vasey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sisters, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives a perfect illustration of the difficult and humerous times during ww2.
My late Grandmother was a nurse during this period in the East End of London at Stratford E 15
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a totally amazing book, 27 May 2013
By 
MRS C M DUNCAN "pinkpoppy" (Magherafelt, Londonderrry United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is not a typical book in as such as it is divided into chapters and in each chapter there are contributions from a few lines to a page or two from folk who worked in the medical field in the war.
It is a book of deep emotions, from the conditions worked in to the various circumstances .
It is a very well written detailed book of mainly women who were thrown into impossible conditions. These were strong heroic (mainly) women I very much doubt if people today could do what they did in the same circumstances.
The book will appeal to both male and female readers.
It really was a facinating book filled with vivid memories .
Thank you to all who contributed and for sharing such wonderful history .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 6 May 2013
This book will leave you with a precious insight into the sacrifices soldiers and medical staff made for our freedom, plus a deep appreciation. A collection of many memories. Worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good social history, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an easy book to dip in and out of. Each story was interesting and different in content and gave a very clear idea of what nursing was like at this time in the 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SISTERS., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read. My daughter who is a nurse of many years is now reading it. She will pass it to her twin sister for a
further review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i would recommend this book to read about this period in time
it was very easy to read and well thought out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sisters, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good read and they didnt moan like they do today what a book,very good i will recommend to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sisters, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love anything to do with Nursing as I worked as a Sate enrolled nurse at the Stockport Infirmary and Cherry tree hospitals when the children were small then on the foodservice at Wythenshawe hospital this last 9.years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and moving accounts from WWII nurses that everyone should read, 6 April 2013
'Sisters' is an amazing book. My grandmother began her nursing training towards the end of the war and these touching accounts from nurses just like her are incredibly moving to read. These brave women went through so much, making huge personal sacrifices so that others could be helped. Reading their stories in their words is such a privilege and I really hope lots of people buy this book - it documents such an important part of our history - one that none of us should take for granted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this very much, 4 July 2014
By 
S. Light (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed this very much. It had been on the shelf for a while as the cover didn't inspire me, but once I'd started I had to keep reading. I agree with other reviewers about the extracts being very short, but I found it easy to pick up on the same person's experiences in different areas as the book progressed. As a nurse who started training in 1967, and now involved in the study of nursing during the Great War, it struck me how similar a nurses' lot has been throughout many decades. Some of the reminiscences really hit home, and I was very amused at having my memory jogged about taking a newspaper into a house with me when working as a midwife and a District Nurse. Many of those interviewed rose to high positions during their nursing careers, so enlightening to realise that they started, as everyone, as the most humble of students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

[ SISTERS EXTRAORDINARY TRUE-LIFE STORIES FROM NURSES IN WORLD WAR TWO BY MORTIMER, BARBARA](AUTHOR)HARDBACK
Used & New from: £14.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews