Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can he escape? Of course he can...
Clint Eastwood takes the role of Frank Morris a very intelligent bank robber who supposedly escaped from Alcatraz. The film depicts Morris planning his way out (escaping through the cell wall with a pair of nail clippers). Once through this he as able to work out where the best place would be to escape from as well as construct a raft of some description and create a...
Published on 27 April 2008 by Tangerine

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Blu-Ray
This review is about the PRODUCT, and not the FILM.

Well to be quite honest, I am very disappointed with this release. At no point during the film are you convinced you are watching a "high definition" transfer, as it is not that much superior to the DVD release. Now, there will be some who would argue of the films age (1979), but that is no excuse,...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. D. J. Heath


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Blu Ray Upgrade of a Classic movie, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape from Alcatraz [Blu-ray] [1979] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I bought this blu ray from Amazon Germany, it is the same version which is getting released in the UK shortly,
I love this film,the story, the acting and everything abouth this film is great.A classic Clint Film.
The Blu Ray is a very big improvement over the dvd, the picture is nice and sharp and the sound has been remastered as well.
The opening scenes where Frank is getting taken to Alcatraz stands out, the rain belts out hard in the surround speakers, picture wise the scene where Morris meets English in the Library was a good tester scene, all the books in the background stand out on the shelves.
All in All a good upgrade for the price but once again no extras !
I find it amazing that a legend like Clint Eastwood gets poor treatment on dvd/blu rays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CLINT A GREAT FILM STAR, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape from Alcatraz [Blu-ray] [1979] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I LIKE EVERYTHING HE GOES, BEEN A GREAT FILM STAR SINCE, HE WAS IN RAWHIDE.AND DIRTY HARRY,FILMS.ESCAPE
FROM ALCATRAZ ARE THEY STILL ALIVE,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Eastwood Classic, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are an Eastwood fan that is. But even if you are not, this is a film that knocks your socks off from the outset and hasnt dated with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i remember watching this as a kid with my dad many years ago and thought it was brilliant and that opinion still hasnt changed, i think this is possilbly my favrioute clint eastwood film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love clint eastwood, one of my all time heroes, film that doesn't disappoint, the guy is just so watchable, shame we never found out if the escapees survived or not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clint Eastwood aka Frank Morris., 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape from Alcatraz [Blu-ray] [1979] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is one of my favourite Eastwood movies, and also directed by Don Siegel (Dirty Harry), its based on the true story of the three men (Frank Morris, Brothers John & Clarence Anglin) who escaped from the legendary prison island of Alcatraz, aka "The Rock" in the San Francisco bay. Eastwood plays Frank Morris the mastermind behind the breakout, and he brings that gritty Eastwood style to this great movie; Set on location on the real Alcatraz island prison, this movie has a fantastic look & feel to it, giving a real feel for the story, and a one of dread & foreboding for the inmates who inhabit this island Hell Hole! This movie is well acted, shot and directed and a joy to watch, with no parts of the movie that are either weak or boring, and Eastwood makes it fantastic with his great style and on screen presence.The transfer to Blu-ray of this movie is quite good & the sound is excellent to, sadly there are no special features to this release, but other than that a great buy & joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Clint Eastwood great,, 29 Nov 2013
By 
alley kat (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alactraz 1962, this film is based on a true story of the escape of 3 convicts, Frank Morris (Eastwood) & brothers
John & Clarence Anglin, from the island prison on the rock, with a series of ingenious manoeuvres that took a year to complete, & out foxing the cruel warden, played here by "Danger Man" himself Patrick Mcgoohan who suspects anybody & anything, the film covers everthing that the trio did, including paper mache' dummy heads with hair to fool the nightime patrols.
But the question is did they survive or drown ? they were officially never seen again,
I also got the documentary DVD "Breakout from Alcatraz" for the real "true story" with rumours of a waiting boat that picked them up & whisked them to foreign climes, with sightings reported, the story is compulsive viewing & you do wish there was a happy ending for them, but you will have to make your own choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning stuff, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clint Eastwood suits this part very well, cool Clint throughout based on a true story, meticously thought out planned escape to the very end. The mind boggles at the sheer grit and determination of such people confined in such places, and how the planning was carried through undetected. Its a film you will watch over and over again, as much of Clint's stuff is anyway !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant- great Clint movie., 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic movie-have watched it many times and it seems to be pretty closely based on real events. One of my favourite movies. Read the Riddle of the Rock to find out the true story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Film., 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape from Alcatraz [Blu-ray] [1979] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Good Film. Enjoyed it, does it what it says on the box. Great buy, Great vaule for money. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb34a52c4)

This product

Escape from Alcatraz [Blu-ray] [1979] [Region Free]
7.00
Usually dispatched within 7 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews