Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic Duke film
This was one of the first ever John Wayne films i saw, and from the first scene in which you find him walking over the desert alone, carrying his saddle in his arms and his dog running along beside him, he became my all time favourite movie star. This action packed, yet at times moving western finds a widow and her young boy living in a lonely farm house constantly...
Published on 20 Oct 2003

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A good script, but not necessarily a good movie
Filmed in 3D Warnercolor, the script alone presents a story of an inter-racial relationship. However, I didn't believe John Wayne as a half-Indian who looks the same and talks the same as any other movie he's in. He plays the part well, but he's just not believable as a half-Indian. It's an example of how a good script can be turned into a mediocre movie.
Published 9 days ago by Samuel Barber


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Shame about the Quality, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hondo [Blu-ray] [1953] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was looking forward to this film expecting the Blu Ray transfer to be better than the DVD. However, this is not the case so anyone thinking of upgrading-stick with the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the master's best., 31 July 2009
This review is from: Hondo [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
John Wayne, king of the cowboys, turns in one of his best performances.

Rest of the cast also excellent.

An enjoyable film and a minor classic western.

Good restored picture and sound.

Very good special features/extras as per dvd cover (and so I do not know what happened to the reviewer from Stoke).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oustanding John wayne Film, 26 Jun 2007
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hondo [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
Hondo has to be my favourite John Wayne film. The John Wayne makes the charactor'Hondo' very real. This is a good story with great camera work.

The best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars duke at his best, 9 Nov 2006
By 
gunns donavan "movie geek" (shevington,lancashire,england) - See all my reviews
john wayne the ultimate actor once agian shows why he is the true legand

of the silver screen. his rugged personna, the lone hero in the waistlands of the american west. he stands tall to fight what ever enemy he might encounter, head on, and in this film he does it at his best. hondo is quit simply a masterpiece of american film making, the story maybe simple but the characters are real, strong with passion. the directing captures the american west with such power it makes you wish you where there. the movie may only be one hour and twenty minutes long but it pacts real strength and heriosm all the way. duke at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hondo Lame, 31 Mar 2008
By 
Graham Warwick (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hondo [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
Although there are many sections of the film that contain scenes all JW fans will appreciate, the story is a little thin and the end of the picture is a woeful anticlimax, as well as particularly dismissive of the juggernaut of American westward migration sweeping away the life of Native Americans in Hondo's last lines of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hondo, 12 Jan 2010
This review is from: Hondo [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
I wanted this film cos this was a John Wayne film & I want to try & get all his films again if I can
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HONDO POOR, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hondo [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
DID NOT CARE FOR THIS OVERATED FILM AT ALL/MOUSY FEMALE LEAD WITH HER WHINING VOICE PUT ME RIGHT OFF/TERRIBLE SCRIPT AND POOR ACTING/NOT A PATCH ON RIO BRAVO/WHOLE FILM BORING/WOULD NOT RECOMMEND WAYNES METHOD OF TEACHING A BOY TO SWIM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hondo [Blu-ray] [1953] [Region Free]
Hondo [Blu-ray] [1953] [Region Free] by John Farrow (Blu-ray - 2013)
7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews