Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars36
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2013
Yet again, another amazing book by Mr Peake. With every book he brings his characters to life with stunning ability. You can feel the pain, the happiness, the anger, the fear, everything that the characters in the book. The ability to do this makes me come back to these books again and again.
The author has also done a LOT of research into the book, giving you facts about roman history, where as other authors just make it up as they go.
I could not recommend reading these books enough. You'll learn a lot about Roman history, but you'll also nearly feel like you're right there in the ranks with them.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
The story of Titus Pullus, the Primus Pilus of the Tenth Legion embarks on Marcus Antonius doomed invasion of Parthia. The largest Roman Army at the time to march into hostile lands, where the enemy cannot always be identified as friend or foe. This all takes place in the early days of Marcus Antonius famous lust affair with Cleopatra.
Again, Ron Peakes writing style makes the story a page turner, with excellent attention to detail, narrative and captures the attitudes of soldiers going through every hardship encountered on campaign. And some more.
You can easily imagine yourself marching and fighting with the Legions and the despair they must have felt at the huge loss to life of friends and comrades.
This book and the whole Marching with Caesar series can be highly recommended to any reader of Roman History or history in general.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
This series of books, are simply the best stories that I have ever read, concerning the life of a common soldier in the roman army. A well crafted story, that moves along at a steady pace, that kept me enthralled from start to finish. The characters are so realistic and the descriptions of life in the legions, gives the reader a real taste of what it would have been like to live in those turbulent times.
Being an ex infantryman, I could identify with RWs vivid descriptions of life in camp and also on campaign. He has really got inside the soldiers mind and managed to bring it to life for the reader to savour as if we were indeed present in those far off times! Well done RW!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
I didn't know much about Mark Antony's invasion of Parthia so this book proved a superb informer of the trials and tribulations of Mark Antony's campaign R.W. Peake has done a great job with these books I consider that they are in the same class as Coleen McCulloughs Master of Rome series and that is very high praise indeed... This series of books concentrate on the life of a Centurion and the lives of the legionaires he commands the soldiers at the sharp end If you like it's a near as dammit true to life rendition of roman history these books are - supreme!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
The next chapter in this series picks up where it left off, which I for one enjoy the continuity. It is interesting to see more of what happened after Caesars assassination, as at times writers of history tend to gloss over the length of time taken to get from one event to the next. This book fills in those gaps, as well as Anthony's steady decline and fall from grace.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
This book picked up the pace again (if you haven't then read the first book!) and it is a thouroughly enthralling read. Well researched and continues the adventures of our first person hero. Mr Peake has a wonderful ability to make you smell and hear the echos of the past. Looking forward to the next one. Hope we don't have to wait too long!
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
100% far as I'm concerned,I'm a ROMAN NUT,Makes ME feel i'm there!,no romanticism of a legonares life just true grit warts and all.
Pete
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Please see my review of Marching With Caesar - Civil War. My comments apply to all of the books read so far (vols 1 to 7)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Third excellent book by Mr Peake,waiting now for the fourth .you can feel the pain ,anguish and hardships that were required to be top of the professional army of Rome.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
A cracking story, describing the soldier of the time, instead of the generals of the time. The plot is very good and well thought out. I look forward to the next book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse