Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good return to form
This is a return to the beats driven and soul-stomping version of Primal Scream, leaving behind the Stones' inspires blues rock they have dabbled in over the past decade. Holmes' production adds a nice cinematic feel and he is clearly a fan. The opener '2013' is a statement of intent, clocking in at nine minutes complete with Kevin Shields soaring guitars. The opulent...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. K. de Jong

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit Samey
Not the best Primal Scream album. Tends to be a bit monotone and samey. Could do with a bit more variation of which they are capable. Not my favourite PS CD.
Published 11 months ago by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good return to form, 14 May 2013
By 
Mr. K. de Jong (Belfast, Antrim United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
This is a return to the beats driven and soul-stomping version of Primal Scream, leaving behind the Stones' inspires blues rock they have dabbled in over the past decade. Holmes' production adds a nice cinematic feel and he is clearly a fan. The opener '2013' is a statement of intent, clocking in at nine minutes complete with Kevin Shields soaring guitars. The opulent 'River of Pain' is a psychedelic trip full of Indian influences. The song 'Culturecide' has a hint of 'Vanishing Point' about it while 'Hit Void' is a sharp rocker. At this stage the album starts to lose momentum and the lingering 'Tenement Kid', experimental 'Invisible City' and the faux-country of 'Goodbye Johnny' all plod along pleasantly. The brickwall of soundscapes of 'Sideman' is interesting but has the listener quickly reach for the skip button. Robert Plant's vocal contribution on Elimination Blues is cool and understated and bring the album back on track. The snappy 'Turn Each Other Inside Out' flows nicely. In contrast 'Relativity' is overly long and the first section can only be described as a racket, until it becomes a different song altogether four minutes in. The again, oddball arrangements and hooks are things to be expected on a Primal Scream album. The acoustic 'Walking with the Beast' lead to the lush 'It's alright, It's ok' that seems to incapsulate all past influences complete with a trademark stomping chorus. Accomplished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes more is more, 3 Jun 2013
This review is from: More Light (MP3 Download)
More Light sees Primal Scream playing every card they have up their sleeves onto one album. The movie noir space and atmospherics of Vanishing Point melding seamlessly with their straight-ahead rock'n'roll alter-ego to create easily their best album since XTRMNTR (I say this as someone who has liked all their albums since then).
Lyrically on a few tracks, it feels like they're saying,"with Beautiful Future we warned you what was happening, now here we are. What are you gonna do about it?" Hard to argue with them.
The year is 2013 and Primal Scream have nailed the Zeitgeist yet again with their most comprehensive album to date.
Essential listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SONIDELIC MASTERCUTS!, 17 Jun 2013
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
The sublime genius of BOBBY GILLESPIE is still in full flight and he still runs his empire of sounds majestically.PRIMAL SCREAM has perfected its sound as a combo on this record: More Light and with gratifying moments throughout all the tracks included -which also means: all sonically shimmering added with energy and excitement!Psychedelia followers have always enjoyed the sonic gems of this combo and it's trademark. Really splendid!

HELENE RAMOS GALAGARZA
peruvian journalist,cyber dj,producer
editor,promoter,photographer,writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't know about more light, but I do want more of this, 11 Jun 2013
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
This is an insanely good album. I am so impressed by this album and this band - still producing such creative, original, thought-provoking rock music after all those years. From the startling `2013' through to `Its Alright Its Okay' it never lets up. Brilliant. It must surely be a contender for album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to form, 25 May 2013
By 
Big Twink (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
Yep, in my opinion this is their best album since 'Vanishing Point'. There are many great moments, opener 2013 sounds like mid-seventies Hawkwind complete with Nik Turner-style sax blasts, which is never a bad thing. Given the loss of Mani to the Stone Roses, I'm pleased they have kicked on and produced an album with a wonderful bass groove and swing. Overall the album flows really well and David Holmes has done a great production job. By the time you get to the last few bars of It's Alright, It's Ok you feel like you've been on a proper musical journey, just like all the best albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album!, 30 May 2013
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
Great album, The Scream at they're best. Great production by David Holmes, Bobby has worked with him before.
2013 nearly 9 mins long, not long enough!
Love the Andy Weatherall remix on second disc too.
Love the album, massive Scream fan.
GET IT NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...Don't Mention the "H" word...., 24 May 2013
By 
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
I just love this record, it feels big, ambitious and sweeping. But I'm going to throw in a word that many of you may not like and the uber cool PS fan might disagree with, probably because they're too cool to have checked out "Hall of the Mountain Grill", but by god does the opening track "2013" sound like mid to late 70s Bob Calvert era Hawkwind (inc Hawklords and Sonic Assassins).

Every time when I go to listen to it I keep thinking "I must be wrong", and then the mid tempo driving, phased chords kick in, the sax fires up, the little guitar lines come in and out and the synths swirl around and it sounds even more like it than the previous time I listened to it... so much so that now some of other tracks on the album are echoing Hawkwind to me, but obviously with the immeasurable casual cool of Primal Scream stamped all over the top.

As somebody who finds the fact Hawkwind are consistently judged and maligned by the "Silver Machine" single, I find the fact that it appears that Mr Gillespie and Mr Innes have thrown some of Hawkwind's far superior work into their swirling mass of influences and inspiration very satisfying indeed.

Think I'm barking up the wrong tree or deluded? Let's not forget the fact that a cover version of "Motorhead" (originally a Hawkwind song" appears on Vanishing Point... but this album is so much more than just a single influence, there's even a cheeky "Midnight Cowboy"-esque moment at the end of "Relativity" and the lyrics throughout the album are on top form - "What happened to the voices of dissent? Getting rich I suppose..." Bobby gently observes in 2013 going on to state that there's ..."No revolutionary spirit left, they've sanitised the freaks.."

I wonder how I'll be feeling about this record in 6 months, but right now I'd got so used to Primal Scream releases being a steady "ok" and just good enough to warrant a tour that this slab of music was a complete unexpected beautiful surprise. I would say that if the lads who recorded "Screamadelica" could have jumped forward in time to see where they were at in 2013, they'd be feeling pretty damn pleased that they were still going so strong and putting out such a class record.

My last piece of advice - get the double vinyl, (you get a CD with it as well), this is a record that is made for and deserves to be heard on that format, thanks guys, you have made a 42 year old cynical music snob very very happy, cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bangin album, 12 Jun 2013
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
One of the best albums ive got this year and easily the best from Primal Scream in a long time.
Working with David Holmes as producer has worked good songs into special songs that rock and groove for the entire time. Similar to Beady Eye working with Dave Sitek this album has an exciting and raw but still spacey feel to things.
Well done Primal Scream and well done David Holmes bangin work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars review, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
i was not going to buy this as the previous album ordinary but having borrowed this from the library very impressed. a vague sort of concept album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
A really great service from start to finish. Very happy with the product. A really lovely product, excellent quality. thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More Light
More Light by Primal Scream (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews