Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good return to form
This is a return to the beats driven and soul-stomping version of Primal Scream, leaving behind the Stones' inspires blues rock they have dabbled in over the past decade. Holmes' production adds a nice cinematic feel and he is clearly a fan. The opener '2013' is a statement of intent, clocking in at nine minutes complete with Kevin Shields soaring guitars. The opulent...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. K. de Jong

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit Samey
Not the best Primal Scream album. Tends to be a bit monotone and samey. Could do with a bit more variation of which they are capable. Not my favourite PS CD.
Published 11 months ago by Ian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic album, 15 May 2013
By 
Mr. J. J. Blyth "justin" (perth scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Light (MP3 Download)
I purchased this album directly from the band's web site.fantastic album the band are back to there best I would recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yes, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
Waited a long time for this and it did not disappoint primal scream at their best. New .....hint of the zutons and a splash of 1968 in there somewhere but original and a true album download individual tacks and you will not get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the scream - back to their best, 13 May 2013
By 
mr j l gibbons (gloucester, gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
this is the best primal scream album since vanishing point.

david holmes has done an amazing production job and you can hear his influence clearly throughout.

2013 is a stand-out track along with culturecide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Return To Form, 13 May 2013
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
What a fantastic album. Full of epic brass, and Bobby is back to his best on the lyrical front. I can't wait to see them perform tracks from the album at Glastonbury in the summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
I love primal scream but this album was just dissapointing and not what i had hoped for, the production is very good but the content is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of 4 Stars, 19 May 2013
This review is from: More Light (MP3 Download)
I have now listened to this album about 5 times and my overall conclusion is that it is good but by no means fantastic. I have liked Primal Scream since the days when you could purchase the 12" version of Come Together and Loaded on Vinyl, but there always seems to be something missing from some of their albums. If you compare this to say Give out but don't give up then I am afraid this is not in the same league, but what I will say is the singles from this album are up there with their best ever work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great enough..., 23 May 2013
By 
Mr. J. Gray (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
After a 5 year hiatus where they've lost Mani to his original band, Bobby G and the gang return with More Light, a record which echoes some of their more politically inspired lyrics of yore on the likes of Xtrmtr and Evil Heat. This album definetly features stronger melodies than you'd expect from the Primals but as a long time fan I can't help but feel slightly disappointed, that the record is akin to a boxer throwing a combination of punches that lack enough variety to really engage the crowd. There are one or two moments of sheer brilliance but overall my love affair with the band may now be truly over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, epic., 14 May 2013
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
Just a couple of points regarding the scream and this album, One, this a fantastic primal scream album close to the greatness of Screamadelica its that good. Two, a few reviews in the press and on here to have said primal scream have moved away from sounding like the Stones ok, since Rocks in 1994 Primal Screams albums have been Vanishing Point,XTRMNTR,Evil Heat,Riot City Blues and Beautiful Future none of which sound like the rolling stones so thats complete rubbish. three, I love The Stone Roses but I hope there reunion takes anything away from one of the greatest British bands of all time in Primal Scream plus The Roses would give there left nut to make an album this good in More Light and to be honest I dont think they will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Turgid, sagging, bereft of ideas, 14 Aug 2013
This review is from: More Light (Audio CD)
If you're thinking of buying this album, here's the level of artistry you can expect:

"Like Hepatitis C
Or any STD
You're to be avoided
You're to be avoided"

It's ironic that the same song includes the line "obsessed by other people[']s lives", as Gillespie is obsessed with other people's songs. To the extent that he has no ideas of his own. "Rocks" was The Rolling Stones' "Rocks off". "Burning wheel" was The Stones' "2,000 light years from home". "More light" is yet more of this tedious spot-the-difference. "2013" recycles exactly the same lyrical themes that Gillespie used on the title track of "Exterminator" thirteen years ago, and he hasn't become any better at songwriting (or singing) in the intervening time. The only interesting aspect of this album is the fact that Primal Scream now appears to be a duo of Gillespie and Innes, with their bandmates reduced to "guests". This is, presumably, for financial reasons. My, what a revolutionary you are, Gillespie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to form., 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Light (MP3 Download)
I get a little swagger back when i listen to this album. Which doesn't happen often now i'm 40. Welcome back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More Light
More Light by Primal Scream (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews