Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read
CAPABLE OF MURDER
Out of the blue, Belinda Lawrence receives a letter from her great aunt Jane imploring Belinda to come to the old woman's cabin that weekend. Feeling a sense of urgency hidden in the words of the note, Belinda complies with the Jane's request. Sadly, once Belinda arrives at the cabin she discovers that her great aunt is dead, seemingly of an...
Published on 25 Oct 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable storyline
A little olde worlde for a modern thriller.and why would a young woman continue to work for someone who attempted to make love to her by force.I did however enjoy the storyline so kudos to the author. Eileen.green1@sky.companies
Published 17 months ago by Eileen Greene


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 25 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Capable of Murder (Paperback)
CAPABLE OF MURDER
Out of the blue, Belinda Lawrence receives a letter from her great aunt Jane imploring Belinda to come to the old woman's cabin that weekend. Feeling a sense of urgency hidden in the words of the note, Belinda complies with the Jane's request. Sadly, once Belinda arrives at the cabin she discovers that her great aunt is dead, seemingly of an accidental fall down the stairs. However, as more and more strange clues suggest that Jane had a secret that she was about to tell her neice, Belinda starts to wonder if her great aunt's death was actually the result of an accidental fall.
Capable of Murder is a wonderful mystery with lots of great twists and turns. The reader quickly finds him or herself in the same situation as Belinda, wondering if a crime was actually committed and if so why would someone want to kill a reclusive old lady whom no one seemed to know much about. Moreover, every clue that Belinda uncovers leads to a dozen more questions and wonderings
keeping the reader guessing and wondering until the very end. TCM-CA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric and well-written, 27 Mar 2013
This review is from: Capable of Murder (A Belinda Lawrence Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Belinda Lawrence has been invited to pay a visit to her great-aunt. Upon arrival she finds her aunt's dead body at the bottom of the stairs. She discovers she is to inherit her property and so moves into the quaint village. Things soon take a turn for the worse, however, when there is another murder, and Belinda starts to suspect that her Aunt's death wasn't an accident... Atmospheric, well-written, full of suspense - Capable of Murder ticks all the right boxes. It is by no means flawless, but for a debut book it is well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, suspenseful and beautifully written!, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capable of Murder (A Belinda Lawrence Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Capable of Murder is the first book in the Belinda Lawrence Murder Mystery series and is just under 200 pages long. It is about a young woman called Belinda Lawrence who receives a mysterious letter from her great-aunt, who she then finds dead in her village cottage. Belinda suspects it was murder despite the police's opinions that it was an accident, and basically the story takes off from there! I don't want to say too much as that would spoil the plot.

I really enjoyed this book! The writing style was what made this for me; the way that the author created the atmosphere and suspense was artistic and beautiful, yet did not distract from the plot at all. Sometimes in this type of novel, the creative writing can take away from what's actually happening, but I feel that Brian Kavanagh got the balance perfect.

The characters were amazing in this book. They really developed throughout the novel, and although the book itself is quite short, there was a lot of development with certain characters and also a lot of tension built up steadily as you read. I won't say much about the plot, as I said, but I will say that this was a great mystery and I honestly didn't know who was the villain until the very end.

The only negative thing that I have to say about this book is, although I do love strong female characters in literature, I found that at some points Belinda did act a bit too irrationally in situations that were potentially extremely dangerous, and for that reason, sometimes this book was a little unrealistic. Having said that the mystery element was great and the writing really suited the style of novel.

Overall, I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars and would definitely recommend it. The ending was perfect and I am looking forward to reading more from Brian Kavanagh in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CAPABLE OF MURDER, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capable of Murder (A Belinda Lawrence Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
An okay read, fairly good storyline with strong characters. story seemed to slow in places which took away the pageturner appeal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cosy village mystery, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capable of Murder (A Belinda Lawrence Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I am always looking for new murder mystery authors to read, and Brian Kavanagh did not disappoint. Belinda is interesting, intelligent and likeable as a main character and the narrative is full of twists and turns that keep you racing towards the end. It may not have the gruesome `scare' factor - don't expect gory detailed descriptions of dead bodies, but it plays on the genre of `village' mysteries - a cosy little town plagued by a sudden spate of killings. This is a well-crafted read perfect for fans of Midsummer Murders and Miss Marple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gentle rural murder mystery with a horticultural twist, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capable of Murder (A Belinda Lawrence Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Firstly the good points:
- It is short so it only takes a day or so to read, could be done on a longish train journey or flight
- Well-written, no spelling or grammatical errors, no superfluous detail
- Plenty twists and unexpected turns, some suspense thrown in for good measure
- A likeable main character

Some not-so-good points, in my untrained opinion:
- The plot is fairly far-fetched
- Where are the boys in blue?!
- The rural setting inspires some stereotyping

These last points are just minor quibbles and did not spoil my enjoyment overall. The fact I gave this five stars is the main point I want to make.

To earn five stars, a kindle book has to have something special, whether it be a fiction, biography or non-fiction book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Good Freebie, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capable of Murder (A Belinda Lawrence Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
This book took a little bit of getting into but I am glad I stuck with it, as once immersed I really enjoyed this murder mystery, which had a surprising twist at the end. Would definitely read more by this author. Denise Morris, Stafford, UK. 6th September 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling read, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capable of Murder (A Belinda Lawrence Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Brian Kavanagh's murder mystery, Capable of Murder, is a fantastically written novella which successfully manages to thrill its reader. It begins with a letter arriving for the protagonist Belinda addressed from her great-aunt Jane which summons the young girl to her great-aunt's cottage in Milford. Upon arrival, Belinda is shocked to find the old woman dead; the verdict: accidental death. However, Belinda is not persuaded and after inheriting the cottage another neighbour is found murdered; this compounds the girl's fears that her aunt was indeed killed in cold blood. As the story progresses, Belinda uses her intellect to uncover details surrounding the mysterious deaths and it is through Kavanagh's use of descriptive narrative that we see Belinda's emotions seep through to the reader, sweeping you along with the shocking events in the girl's life.
Kavanagh's use of light and dark storylines means that Capable of Murder is unlike other murder mysteries. The novella contrasts the mundane lives of its characters with a more sinister undercurrent which emerges as the novella progresses, so that when shocks occur, Kavanagh ensures the reader feels the act with full force making Capable of Murder an exhilarating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars capable of murder, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capable of Murder (A Belinda Lawrence Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
A really good read, lots of twists and turns.Brian Kavanagh in a new author to me and I cant wait to read more of his work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `An excellent English mystery with keeps you guessing', 7 Mar 2013
This review is from: Capable of Murder (A Belinda Lawrence Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
This is a new author to me and I really like his style. This is a truly great murder mystery. The author was excellent at building tension and creating vivid pictures of the various crime scenes which made it all the more real- and frightening. I look forward to reading more from the Belinda Lawrence series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews