Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing "Clap hands! Here comes Rosie / Everything's coming up Rosie"
This is a fabulous collection of 8 Rosemay Clooney's Lps.

All the albums been digitally remastered and enhanced for superior quality and the Real Gone Jazz label has garnered some really good reviews for sound quality.
The digitally enhanced sound is a good indicator but for a proper review I really suggest you read other, more knowledgeable people's...
Published on 2 May 2013 by Glenn Cook

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No justice for Rosie
Main complaint is absolutely no sleeve notes or dates, also several tracks are purely orchestral with no Clooney vocal. Lastly,the glass cd retaining centres have crumbled away the first time I attempted to return the discs to the cd box. Rosemary Clooney is superb but she deserves much better presentation.
Published 19 months ago by Newton Cleghorn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing "Clap hands! Here comes Rosie / Everything's coming up Rosie", 2 May 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 8 Classic Albums [Audio CD] Rosemary Clooney (Audio CD)
This is a fabulous collection of 8 Rosemay Clooney's Lps.

All the albums been digitally remastered and enhanced for superior quality and the Real Gone Jazz label has garnered some really good reviews for sound quality.
The digitally enhanced sound is a good indicator but for a proper review I really suggest you read other, more knowledgeable people's reviews.

But Amazon have not (at the time of writing) given a list of the actual classic albums nor the track listings. So I have provided one.
There are 8 albums spread over 4 CDs

The albums are
Hollywood's Best,
Blue Rose,
Ring Around Rosie,
Swing Around Rosie,
Fancy Meeting You Here?,
A Touch Of Tabasco,
Clap, Here Comes Rosie, and
Rosie Solves The Swinging Riddle

If any kind person knows the spli over the 4 CDs I would be grateful if they could add a comment in the box and I will adjust and credit them for their kindness.

01. "You'll never know"
02. "On the Atchison, Topeka and the Santa Fe"
03. "Ruby"
04. "It might as well be Spring"
05. "Come on-a my house"
06. "Over the Rainbow"
07. "Sweet Leilani"
08. "The Continental (You kiss while you're dancing)"
09. "Stella by Starlight"
10. "When you wish upon a star"
11. "Red garters"
12. "In the cool, cool, cool of the evening"
13. "Hey Baby"
14. "Sophisticated Lady"
15. "Me and You"
16. "Passion Flower"
17. "I let a song go out of my heart"
18. "It don't mean a thing (if it ain't got that swing)"
19. "Grievin'"
20. "Blue Rose"
21. "I'm checkin' Out-Goodbye!"
22. "I got it Bad (and That ain't Good ?)"
23. "Mood Indigo"
Disc 02
01. "Don'cha go 'Way mad"
02. "Moonlight becomes you"
03. "Love letters"
04. "I could write a book"
05. "I'm in the mood for love"
06. "Coquette"
07. "Together"
08. "Everything happens to me"
09. "(In my) Solitude"
10. "What is there to say?"
11. "I'm glad there is you"
12. "How about you?"
13. "'Deed I do"
14. "You took Advantage of me"
15. "Blue Moon"
16. "Sing, you Sinners!"
17. "A Touch of the Blues"
18. "Goody Goody"
19. "Too close for comfort"
20. "Do nothin' till you hear from me"
21. "Moonlight Mississippi"
22. "I wish I were in love again"
23. "Sunday in Savannah"
24. "This can't be love?"
Disc 03
01. "Fancy meeting you here?"
02. "On a slow boat to China"
03. "I can't get started"
04. "Hindustan"
05. "It happened in Monterey"
06. "You came a long way from St. Louis / You can take the boy out of the country"
07. "Love won't let you get away?"
08. "How about you?"
09. "Brazil / Here we are (face to face again)"
10. "Isle of Capri"
11. "Say "Si si" (Para vigo me vay)"
12. "Calcutta"
13. "Love won't let you get away"
14. "Corazon de Melon"
15. "Like a woman"
16. "I only have eyes for you"
17. "Magic is the moonlight"
18. "In a little Spanish town"
19. "Sway"
20. "Mack the knife"
21. "Bali ha'i"
22. "You do something to me"
23. "Cu-cu-rru-cu-cu Paloma"
24. "I got plenty o' Nuttin'"
25. "Adios"
Disc 04
01. "Clap hands! Here comes Rosie / Everything's coming up Rosie"
02. "Give me the simple life"
03. "Bye bye blackbird"
04. "Aren't you glad you're you?"
05. "You got"
06. "Too marvelous for words"
07. "Something's gotta give"
08. "Hooray for love"
09. "Mean to me"
10. "Oh, what a beautiful morning'"
11. "It could happen to you"
12. "Makin' whoopee"
13. "Get me to the church on time"
14. "Angry"
15. "I get along without you very well"
16. "How am I to know?"
17. "You took advantage of me"
18. "April in Paris"
19. "I ain't got nobody (and nobody cares for me)"
20. "Some of these days"
21. "By myself"
22. "Shine on harvest moon"
23. "Cabin in the sky"
24. "Limehouse blues"
25. "Oh Glenn Really?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Rosie, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Classic Albums [Audio CD] Rosemary Clooney (Audio CD)
Rosemary Clooney has one of the most distinctive voices. The minute she starts to sing you can tell that it is Rosemary. Her phrasing is superb and her voice as smooth as velvet. This collection is a great testament to her individuality and her beautiful voice. Absolutely superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 8 Classic Albums [Audio CD] Rosemary Clooney, 14 Mar. 2014
By 
JR Baker (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Classic Albums [Audio CD] Rosemary Clooney (Audio CD)
Some of Rosemary's best known albums in really good quality sound, but I am sometimes amazed at the lack of information in such sets. Don't the producers think that the purchasers might be interested in supporting information?

A few informative notes and background information would add considerably to the value (and justify an increase in the price).
My rating is adjusted accordingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent re-mastering, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Classic Albums [Audio CD] Rosemary Clooney (Audio CD)
As far as I'm concerned much better than the original 78s and 45s. A fine collection containing many songs of Rosemary Clooney I hadn't heard before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great talent from the fifties, 21 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Classic Albums [Audio CD] Rosemary Clooney (Audio CD)
George was not the first Clooney to successfully entertain in a quality pleasing way, here we have his aunt Rosemary singing in her style that
Was only matched by the likes of Jo Stafford and Dina Shore ,I use to have the vinyl version of the duets with Bing Crosby, which included
And now missed " True Love" possibly copyright the fact that the song was featured in the film "high society" anyway it still deserves five
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a bargain!, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Classic Albums [Audio CD] Rosemary Clooney (Audio CD)
A top quality vocalist with a really smooth singing voice. Rosemary Clooney was equally capable as an actress. Great to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No justice for Rosie, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Classic Albums [Audio CD] Rosemary Clooney (Audio CD)
Main complaint is absolutely no sleeve notes or dates, also several tracks are purely orchestral with no Clooney vocal. Lastly,the glass cd retaining centres have crumbled away the first time I attempted to return the discs to the cd box. Rosemary Clooney is superb but she deserves much better presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent collection., 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Classic Albums [Audio CD] Rosemary Clooney (Audio CD)
For lovers of nostalgia this collection is a must buy. This collection has a bit of everything. Blues/swing/latin/ballads.atists like duke ellington/harry james/ bing crosby and nelson riddle.the only letdown is there is no sleeve notes.
Wilf grainger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Classic Albums [Audio CD] Rosemary Clooney (Audio CD)
Everything was just fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff from Rosmary Clooney, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Classic Albums [Audio CD] Rosemary Clooney (Audio CD)
This is a fine collection of her work and the reproduction quality is second to none,unlike some of the other discs in this series of questionable "remaster enhancements". It is well worth every penny and a very worthwhile addition to anyone's CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

8 Classic Albums [Audio CD] Rosemary Clooney
8 Classic Albums [Audio CD] Rosemary Clooney by Rosemary Clooney (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews