Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Cohesive & Coherent: Superb Parody Of America's Love Affair With Guns
This is the second book by Author Darrin Mason that I have read. To begin, I thoroughly enjoyed his hilarious parody, "The Hills are Alive with the Sound of Murder", and wanted more. Consequently, I requested this book from the author, and was generously provided with a copy at no charge to me, in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Next, I must say that no...
Published 7 months ago by Thomas Baker

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars None
i would give no stars if i could. all lies. i demand this book to be deleted off the store .it is #*¡¿
Published 1 month ago by Tony Harvey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Cohesive & Coherent: Superb Parody Of America's Love Affair With Guns, 1 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Wicked Witch of the West: Munchkin Killer (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book by Author Darrin Mason that I have read. To begin, I thoroughly enjoyed his hilarious parody, "The Hills are Alive with the Sound of Murder", and wanted more. Consequently, I requested this book from the author, and was generously provided with a copy at no charge to me, in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Next, I must say that no no other person on Earth has made me laugh to the point of tears, since I was a kid. Darrin is in a class by himself. I think his secret is his incredible, limitless irreverency, which truly knows no bounds. It is not his language, not the topics he chooses to go after, nor the way you never know what to expect...not on the next page....I'm talking about in the very next sentence!!!

Yes, all this is part of his work, yes indeed, but it's ultimately not his secret ingredient. Darrin throws you a twist, an unexpected turn, from sentence to sentence. That is absolutely amazing, because he never loses cohesion nor coherency, while at the same time, being contradictory and in conflict with logic. He is indeed quite an unusual artist in his ability to build a laugh in your mind long before it reaches your imagination. He is superbly talented.

Now, let's take care of the elephant in the room. Darrin Mason writes adult reading material. This book is definitely NOT for the kids. Secondly, he is tremendously high-level irreverent, of all things you may most likely hold dear and near to your heart. In other words, be warned: anybody and anything is fair game for his pen.

In this book, the parody is definitely America's love affair with guns. That's really what the deeper message of this book should make anybody stop and think about. The question really is not, "Have we gone too far?" The answer is obviously, YES, we have gone too far, as this book clearly demonstrates. The real reflection should be, "What must we do in order to get guns under control?"

The story is hilarious, hold on to your sides. There is a level of irreverency that defies the imagination in this book. If I can give any advice to an unsuspecting reader, I would say, "Approach the reading of this book with an open mind, tolerant, non-judgmentally. You have come, metaphorically speaking, to the Roman Coliseum, and this is a place where lions eat Christians. If you do not wish to see lions eating Christians, do not go to the Roman Coliseum in the life and times of Emperor Nero. Again, Author Darrin Mason is the "High Priest of Irreverency", nothing escapes his pen...

What will you find in this book?

The Wizard of Oz? Not quite, it's not even closely resembling the Wizard of Oz. For example, the Wicked Witch of the West goes on a shooting spree after Dorothy drops a house on her sister. One crazy step after another leads them to the ultimate confrontation between good and evil. Cameo appearances from Jesus Christ: Shooting Star, Elvis the Presley, Harry Poffertje, and Stephen King Author the First is added to the mix. It's one highly enjoyable, laughable, hilarious witches brew, if you can manage to suspend disbelief, and let your imagination run wild with Darrin...

Reviewed by Thomas Jerome Baker
Author of Boudicca: Warrior Queen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MAD, BAD and side-splittingly FUNNY, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked Witch of the West: Munchkin Killer (Kindle Edition)
This book is a “must read” for all fans of truly anarchic humour. From the very first crazy lines, I was dragged screaming, kicking and laughing insanely into the absurd and surreal world of the Wicked Witch of the West, as she conducted a vendetta against a Dorothy who bears little resemblance to the tepid heroine of The Wizard of Oz.
Don’t expect any of the feel-good sentimentality of the Judy Garland movie, but experience rather a journey strewn with blood and guts, with loads of laughing along the way.

If this book is anything to go by, Darrin Mason’s brain must be made from the mummified remnants of dead flying monkeys posteriors. (If you want to write really side-splitting absurdist comedy, that’s the kind of brain you need).

If you want to read a book that will have you rolling on the floor laughing, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked Witch of the West: Munchkin Killer (Kindle Edition)
If this short tale could have been written without constant use of strong language it might be seen as a clever spoof of the original. I would agree that it was an unusual snapshot but was spoilt by the language use. However it was well written with a snappy style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll really LOL!! A LOT!!, 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Wicked Witch of the West: Munchkin Killer (Kindle Edition)
It's funny! I had lots of laugh-out-loud moments while reading this book. Darrin Mason offers us a witty and while not children friendly, this tale will delight those with a more mature sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 22 May 2014
This review is from: The Wicked Witch of the West: Munchkin Killer (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely loved this! Laughing from start to finish! I only wish there had been a lot more to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for greater laughs!, 24 July 2014
This review is from: The Wicked Witch of the West: Munchkin Killer (Kindle Edition)
If you are a lover of dark and original humor, you have found a book you MUST read. It's worth every penny amd you will find yourself chuckling at odd moments as you reflect on your favorite two or three shorts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars None, 18 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Wicked Witch of the West: Munchkin Killer (Kindle Edition)
i would give no stars if i could. all lies. i demand this book to be deleted off the store .it is #*¡¿
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews