Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Werewolf Movie!
The Howling is a werewolf film that is a little different to your average horror -- which is probably why it has endured so long. Karen White (Dee Wallace -- who every bloke went bananas over, in the day, though I thought Belinda Balaski (who plays her friend Terri) was far more "appealing" in this respect!) is a TV reporter who (whilst going undercover to try and expose...
Published on 13 Feb 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical
Special effects of its era really date this one, that's not always a bad thing either. I didn't realise were wolfs could be such perverts at the cinema, young lass in black leather and naked underneath was worth seeing too, bless her... Gorgeous.
Published 12 months ago by Mr. D. Barry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A gory thriller with dated but effective werewolves, 15 Feb 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
This film was overshadowed (almost immediately) by American Werewolf in London and is the weaker of the two movies.
It has a fair number of scares and more than a few gory effects but it lacks the killer punch that American Werewolf in London had - humour.
The special effects were state of the art in the 80's, but look a little dated now (balloons and squibs under latex).
The characters are one-dimensional foils and the clothes and set design are pure 80's fashion hell.
None the less, as a snapshot of 80's horror, it is well worth viewing, but it will (I suspect) be too tame for a modern audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I should have watched this sooner, 22 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
This may be an odd comparison, but I couldn't help think about The Godfather when I was watching The Howling. After over thirty years I have only just got round to watching this horror `classic' - just like I only watched the Godfather the other year. I'm afraid I disliked them both.

I didn't hate them, I just didn't view them as the `classics' they were both hyped to be. I can see why they have that status though. They are both very good, however, after over thirty years, other films in both their respective genres have copied them to such an extent that I felt like I'd seen both films already (and done better/more modern).

I'll bet if I watched the Howling (and the Godfather) twenty or thirty years ago, I would have been as awestruck as everyone else. However, I found The Howling a little boring. Not much happens in the first half an hour. Then, when the werewolves do come into it, you can already tell who's who and any `plot twists' that are going to come. The effects are good - for their time. Granted you can see they're anamatronics when compared to today's slick computer-generated effects, but they're still good.

The Howling was obviously a great horror of its day, but, after watching nearly thirty years of other werewolf movies, I'm afraid I'll stick with Dog Soldiers (although I'd probably take The Howling over a topless Taylor Lautner).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the werewolf effects in this film, are quite good for the day. the storyline is not too bad. a reporter goes' into a porn shop, were she is supposed to meet a killer. she gets attacked in there, and then goes' to a retreat for counselling. but when she arrives there! there is something else she has to deal with...."werewolves"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A HORROR FILM TO HOWL ABOUT..., 5 Nov 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Howling [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is an atmospheric and often scary horror flick, a classic in the werewolf genre. It stars the sweet voiced Dee Wallace as Karen White, a prominent television anchor woman. Contacted by serial killer/rapist Eddie Quist, who has been butchering women, Karen agrees to meet him, hoping to out scoop her competition and end his reign of terror. When she does final get to meet him clandestinely, things do not go as expected, and Karen is severely traumatized by their encounter and unable to recall what happened when they met or recall what Eddie looked like.
Needing to recover from her ordeal, she goes with her husband (Christopher Stone) to an idyllic rural retreat, called "The Colony", on the advice of a celebrity therapist(Patrick MacNee). There, she meets an odd assortment of characters, including the beautiful and sexy Marsha (Elizabeth Brooks), an obvious seductress who makes no bones about desiring Karen's husband. Venturing into the forest one night, he has a memorable encounter with the feral Marsha, an encounter that the viewer will also not forget. From then on, things do not look good for Karen, as her world seems to close in on her. Tormented by the unearthly shrieks and howls that emanate from the forest at night, Karen is a woman on the verge of a nervous breakdown. When a fellow reporter and friend (Belinda Balaski) discovers that there is a connection between Eddie Quist and "The Colony", Karen is left to put all the pieces together. What she discovers will keep the viewer riveted to the screen. Look for a surprising ending.
This is a highly entertaining horror film with a number of scenes that are sure to unnerve the viewer. There are also some campy and laughable scenes, as well, but these do not detract from the overall impact of the film. It remains one of the best werewolf movies around. The special effects are very good and the film is well paced with enough action to go around. The scene in which Karen's friend discovers the real nature of "The Colony" is absolutely terrifying. The ending of the film is surprising and unique. It is a horror film not easily forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE HOWLING DVD 1980, 2 April 2013
By 
Diane Tate "70S MAN" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seen this movie a few times on tv but its even better on dvd still creepy after all these years a good horror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful film, 24 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
This film is plain awful, not in the least bit scary and drags on for ages before we get to see any action. The special effects were ok while the transformations were taking place but the end result was like something out of the muppet show.
Why on earth would someone stand and watch in horror as a human transform into a wolf and not leg it while they had the chance.
I would say maybe it was good back in 1981 but American werewolf in london is 100 times better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Howling, 27 Sep 2005
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
This film was one of three werewolf movies that came out at about the same time, 1981 I think. The other two were 'Wolfen', and 'An American Werewolf in London'. The Howling falls in between these two films. It's not as funny as American Werewolf, nor is it a better film, plus American Werewolf has the oscar winning special effect. But The Howling IS better than Wolfen.
The problem with The Howling is that after a deliciously dark begining it descends into a camp farce with not-so-special effects (they probably haven't aged well).
The way I see it, you either like American Werewolf, or you like The Howling and I'm in the American Werewolf camp.
Saying that, this is still an enjoyable film... just not as good as the other one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the howling special edtion, 10 May 2006
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
the howling is the movie of where it began the story of karren white who is sent to the countryside farm outside the town

but the farmhouse holds an nasty secret it is an covern for werewolves an group of lycanthropical humans who every new full

moon metomorph into howing werebeasts plenty of horror and great special effects to date great musthave horror film for fans

i give it 20/10

by franky smales
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Howl Of A Good Film, 29 Jun 2008
By 
Claire Louise Clarke (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is one of
the best 80's
Werewolf films l
have ever seen.
Ok l'm a little
biast because it
is my favourite
horror film. Dee
Wallace Stone
takes a great
part as the
reporter out to
"meet" the main
Werewolf, Eddy
Quist. Dee's real
life husband, the
late actor
Christopher
Stone also stars
in the film.
Christopher died
in 1995 from a
very sudden and
unexpected heart
attack. I must
also mention the
presence of the
beautiful actress,
Elisabeth Brooks,
who plays Eddie's
sister Marsha.
Unfortunately
Elisabeth died on
September 6th
1997, from a long
and courageous
battle with
cancer. Other
than that the
other main actors
are still with us.
Dee now
teaches acting
and is a healer.
Give her offical
site a vist as it's
worth it,
especially for us
true Lycans!!
R.I.P Mr. Stone
and Ms. Brooks
xxx.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howling: Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Howling: Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [US Import] by Christopher Stone (Blu-ray - 2013)
18.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews