Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Werewolf Movie!
The Howling is a werewolf film that is a little different to your average horror -- which is probably why it has endured so long. Karen White (Dee Wallace -- who every bloke went bananas over, in the day, though I thought Belinda Balaski (who plays her friend Terri) was far more "appealing" in this respect!) is a TV reporter who (whilst going undercover to try and expose...
Published on 13 Feb 2011 by ric03

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical
Special effects of its era really date this one, that's not always a bad thing either. I didn't realise were wolfs could be such perverts at the cinema, young lass in black leather and naked underneath was worth seeing too, bless her... Gorgeous.
Published 10 months ago by Mr. D. Barry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Probably 3.5 stars, 15 Jun 2012
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
Once you get over the early 80s stylings which have dated quite badly, this turns into a decent horror film. In fact it improves as the film progresses. Unfortunately it came out around the same time as An American Werewolf in London which is a much superior film, but don't let that put you off.

This has an interesting cast, including Patrick Macnee and John Carradine. The special effects by Rob Bottin are very good for the time, although they are overplayed a bit towards the end of the film, especially considering this is a short movie (under 90mins). Bottin would go on to do the effects for The Thing a year or so later.

There are occasional humourous moments, noteably near the end and whilst it certainly has plenty of flaws its quirky charms make it a worthwhile purchase at the right price (i.e. cheap).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This should have you howling' -with fear and laughter, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
I really like Joe Dante' movies, and this is one of his very best.
If Gremlins was too jokey, and Explorers too childlike (not childish), try this.
Classic and possibly more influential on M Jackson than An American Werewolf In London. Thriller? and some...
This is the most rounded expose of the lycanthrope cult. Okay- tongues' firmly in cheek -with the gristle. A more distilled and American version of the classic European "full moon malady", beautifully dripping with references to past interpretations and studios.
Wolfsbane and news critique seamlessly melded to shaggy dog stories that just keep going.
Rare Hamburger anyone?
Fiendish effects and good performances (including Steed and a number of character actors in their prime - or lovingly past it). John Carradine needing dentures(an ex Dracula from Universal' 40')?... Paraphrasing a great Warren Zevvon track (Werewolves of London) - when chewing on beef Chowmein a werewolf hair is perfect.
Just enjoy it and then rewatch for the "injokes", and think -just maybe, the news did develop this way afterall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thee Best Werewolf Movie To Date!, 7 May 2011
By 
Ms. L. J. Braisby "leigh" (Doncaster, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
Karen is a news reporter who is being stalked, if you will, by a mysterious man who names himself Eddie. They agree to meet and Karen decides to make it a story for the news team she works for, however the meeting goes terribly wrong. Eddie is much, much more than what she thought he was and their meet leads to him being shot by the Police, as he tried to attack Karen. Traumatized by what she saw in Eddie, and having terrible dreams about that fateful night, Karen and her husband Bill decide to go stay at a Woodland Retreat called The Colony, under her Doctors high recommendation. All is tranquil and quaint, and the neighbours seem welcoming and hospitable, until night falls, and strange, spine-chilling noises are heard, getting more intense as their time at The Colony goes on. Also, Bill starts acting withdrawn and volatile, could it be something to do with the local Hippy Chick who everybody seems to steer clear from?! What has got into this seemingly uncomplicated town? Are the Locals hiding something truly sinister under their simple way of life? You'll have to purchase and watch The Howling to uncover the bone-chilling truth!
After seeing more than my fair share of Werewolf Movies, new and old, I can safely say The Howling has impressed me the most! It was made in the early 80's, but that doesn't compromise on the absolutely amazing Werewolf effects (the close-up "change" scene is the best and scariest I've ever seen!) And the Werewolf howls are nothing short of terrifying. It has a great storyline which is creepy and believable. The Howling is an absolute classic!
I got the 2 disk Special Edition of this, which comes with Special Features such as a Documentary Feature, some Deleted Scenes and Outtakes, and a Trailer, as well as a few more extras. The picture and sound quality is stellar, however I didn't get a Cardboard Slip Case which I've seen the film in a few times, but that doesn't really matter! It would have been nice just to get one.
Overall, The Howling is a must for any Werewolf fans, and is definitely one of my new favourites! Beware This Moon...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'The Howling' is one of the all time best werewolf movies., 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
As you might know The howling is an 80's horror classic and one of the most entertaining werewolf films ever. It has aged well even though some scenes were a bit outdated it still has the best special fx I've seen, the transformation scene was absolutely stunning and was done with a lot of skill. Rob Bottin who made the special fx did a terrific job on the werewolves as they look very menacing, they still to this day look fantastic except the one at the end which just looks laughably cheap. Caren White (Dee Wallace who also stared in other famous horror films like Cujo and The hills have eyes) is a popular female reporter in Los Angeles who cannot escape the horror of a traumatic experience that she suffered while trying to capture a dangerous serial killer. When her psychologist recommends a retreat at a colony up the California coast, she agrees to leave and stays there for a while with her boyfriend hoping to recover from her nightmarish visions. The colony itself inhabits a few people some which are completely weird like that old guy on the beach, but they also happen to have a dark and dangerous secret. If your looking for an enjoyable horror film that's not to scary but still has a bit of gore then you've come to the right place, you should also check out An American werewolf in London if you liked this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great lyncanthrope movie, 22 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
This is a highly effective horror film - the suspense builds slowly, and the finale is pretty darned nerve-wracking. The werewolf effects are actually quite disturbing - they gave me nightmares after I watched it as a kid.

The book on which it is based, however, is a much better story overall and will send the proverbial shivers down your spine. If you can get hold of The Howlingand Return of the Howling (The Nightmare of Drago Prowls Again) by Gary Brandner, you are in for a treat!

Get hold of The Howling 4 (the movie) as it is an excellent interpretation of the original book (although the werewolves at the end of the movie are disappointing - just a bunch of shaggy dogs). Howling 4 - The Original Nightmare [DVD] [1988]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best werewolf films ever, 3 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
The howling is one of the greatest werewolf movies ever,i cant decide whether it is better than american werewolf in london but it has more scary moments and tension.If you have read the book then you will know what to expect but ther are some noticable changes.It features a great cast and some great acting from dee wallace and elisabeth brooks who is smoking hot.Get this movie now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent 1981 Werewolf Film, 15 Feb 2008
By 
Scottish Dave (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film as a teenager back in the late 80's. Although it is a bit dated now the absence of CGI back in those days is actually quite refreshing. Instead it relies on traditional special effects along with text book horror staples such as plenty of fog.

It starts off by painting quite a grim picture of New York City. Dirty, dangerous and in particular seedy. A female journalist encounters a werewolf and leaves the city with her husband to a rural retreat to get over the experience. Unknown to her she has arrived at their lair.....

This film isn't particularly gory compared to other such horror films. It relies on effects, atmosphere and characters. The 18 rating the films gets is probably as much for the sexual scenes (full frontal nudity and a particularly strong rape scene at the beginning).

The Howling leans more towards a classic horror feel. There's a wee bonus in the fact that Patrick Macnee has a large role. It ends very nicely and is definitely worthwhile viewing for those interesting in the horror/werewolf genre.

Overall I found it less rewarding than when I was in my teens but still enjoyable.

6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Entertaining Werewolf Movie, 16 July 2007
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
I love Horror films. When talking about the many sub-genres involved and the low percentage of quality horror films, some films stand out as merely "important" rather than achieve a level of greatness (Last House on the Left, Friday the 13th). The Howling is such a film.

When looking at the great werewolf films out there and considering the times they were released, the original Wolfman stands next to An American Werewolf in London as perhaps the greatest Werewolf films of there respective times. The Howling may very well be a challenge to the latter of these two films as the best of it's time. Both were released in 1981, but the Howling was developed before the Landis project. It doesn't really matter, as I do believe An American Werewolf in London to be better film but the Howling is an important film along with being entertaining. Neil Jordon's In the Company of Wolves came out a few years later and is my personal favorite of any in this sub-genre but all that aside, The Howling is a true horror classic and a werewolf movie fan's treasure. It is a must have of hardcore horror fans because it contains and helped identify the many traits we've seen before and after it.

The Howling starts off in a similar vein to that of the original Dawn of the Dead, putting the idea of a werewolf into the mainstream media (disguised as a serial killer) and it ends on a similar note. This allows us to sort of picture this mythical creature on scale with today's society, or at least that of 1981. It's dated and it's thrown right on TV so we can all feel connected. The film is handled as a kind of film noir at first and slowly brings itself from that and into the werewolf sub-genre in fairly atypical fashion. The acting is really only good by it's main protagonist, whose name escapes me. It also has it's share of character actors who we've enjoyed in these kinds of films before. The Howling isn't afraid to laugh at itself either, which I think is almost a must in horror films...it interesting how almost all other notable werewolf movies (i.e. Dog Soldiers, An American Werewolf in London) also make us laugh. This helped me in some respect to look past a lot of the dated special effects and to laugh at them. The film gets more microcosmic later on and sets itself up for some good scares and some eerie and outstanding howls in the night. Unfortunately, the film ends a bit too quickly, but the Howling remains almost as important as An American Werewolf in London for bringing this great myth back to the forefront of horror films again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars comedy horror fun, 5 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Howling [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This beat John Landis and Rick Baker.The ultimate transformation movie.Although unpolished it is superb fun with timeless one-liners and af-a-n-t-a-s-t-i-c leading were-women .Fab laughs and chills...a must..buyit now! try and forget CGI...this is the real thing.....!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real 80s Classic, 22 April 2006
By 
Mr. G. W. Jordan "jgary763" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
One of my all time favourite horror films. I saw it on release in 1980 and thought it less pretentious than its contemporaries American Werewolf and Wolfen (although I loved them too).

Like all classics it is flawed but its strengths definitely outweigh its weaknesses. It remains one of the few monster films that I can rewatch at least once a year... and I would miss it if I couldn't.

For me a definitive werewolf picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howling: Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Howling: Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [US Import] by Christopher Stone (Blu-ray - 2013)
19.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews