Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Werewolf Movie!
The Howling is a werewolf film that is a little different to your average horror -- which is probably why it has endured so long. Karen White (Dee Wallace -- who every bloke went bananas over, in the day, though I thought Belinda Balaski (who plays her friend Terri) was far more "appealing" in this respect!) is a TV reporter who (whilst going undercover to try and expose...
Published on 13 Feb 2011 by ric03

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical
Special effects of its era really date this one, that's not always a bad thing either. I didn't realise were wolfs could be such perverts at the cinema, young lass in black leather and naked underneath was worth seeing too, bless her... Gorgeous.
Published 10 months ago by Mr. D. Barry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Howling comes to the UK.... almost..., 2 Jun 2013
By 
Mh Deitch (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Howling: Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I find it odd that Amazon.co.uk feel able to offer UK customers the Region A-locked US version of Joe Dante's classic werewolf movie on import but don't have enough joined-up thinking to direct potential customers to import from their own French site where it's easily available for EUR14.99 plus shipping under its French title HURLEMENTS. It's still in English and Region B, though. Check out http://www.amazon.fr/Hurlements-Blu-ray-Dee-Wallace-Stone/dp/B0038N8TCW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1370195715&sr=8-1&keywords=howling

That said, am I the only one who's p**sed at UK distribs who feel that Brit consumers aren't good enough to want BDs of classic genre movies? Grrr....

A quick look through Amazon.fr shows me WESTWORLD, FLESH AND BLOOD and BLOW OUT (only previously available as a Criterion Region A premium disc). Worth checking out. Come on Amazon UK - offer us these titles too without the pain of importation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Howling, 6 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
The Howling was 1 of 3 werewolf movies of 1980. It is about news reporter Karen White, who suffers a nervous breakdown after an encounter with a serial killer. Her psychologist (Patrick McNee) recommends his country retreat to her. When she arrives there, she meets with the the other members of the woodland retreat, who seem to be hiding something sinister...
Meanwhile 2 of Karen's friends and colleagues (Belinda Belaski and John Sayles) investigate into the serial killer's background. While attending an occult bookstore they meet the owner (played by Dante regular Dick Miller) who tells them stories of werewolves and as more evidence piles up they begin to fear for Karen's life and rush to the colony to try and save her.
Joe Dante directs the film of his career and one of the darkest, most entertaining werewolf films ever. It has aged well and even today has the best werewolf designs and effects ever. If you're into werewolves or cult horror films, the Howling is definetly a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The only wolf film that can contend with AMERICAN WEREWOLF, 11 April 2002
By 
L. Andrews "jointhepartyuk" (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Howling [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Having been a horror fan for years, and never having seen this classic werewolf film, it was only natural that I would hunt it down. I bought it on Amazon and eagerly waited for it to arrive in the post, and when it did it went straight into the video recorder. And I was pleased with what I had waited so long to watch.
It's hard for me to view this film withut making direct comparisons to AMERICAN WEREWOLF IN LONDON (which, for me, is the superior film). Both films have great makeup artists. Personally, I prefer Rob Bottin to Rick Baker, as Rob Bottin has created the greatest effects ever in a horror film (and that film ladies and gentlemen is THE THING), and his talent certainly shines through in THE HOWLING. People have raved about the transformation scene in the doctor's room, and it IS something to rave about. Considering that the film was made in the early 1980's when cheap effects seemed to be the in thing, the effects in this film match up to today's effects easily, and certainly outshine anything that CGI can currently do. Again, I didn't think the transformation scene in this movie matched up to that of Rick Baker's in AMERICAN WEREWOLF, but that's just my opinion.
The film wasn't really that scary, and werewolves standing on two legs seemed less realistic to me (ok, how do I know what's realistic or not when werewolves are concerned?). Sometime the low budget limitations showed, but can easily be overlooked when you are enjoying such a horror treat.
The storyline is surprisingly good, and intelligent as well. Comparisons can be made to RETURN TO SALEM'S LOT (a personal favourite of mine) as both films contain a colony of neverworldly creatures. In this film the colony is a believable portrayal, and is all the more threatening because the people seem so nice.
Anyway, this film is an essential purchase for the true horror fan. Not on par with AMERICAN WEREWOLF, but definetly a film that can be watched several times, and the effects will blow you away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fly me to the moon, 11 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
Dee Wallace and Patrick Macnee star in this genre classic about a news reporter who is drawn into a lupine world after being stalked by a hairy killer. Macnee plays a hokey psychologist who has created an island retreat for people suffering mental issues, and provides a bit of class to an otherwise forgettable cast. Classic 70s/80s schlock horror, the visceral transformations are the film’s highlight, courtesy of legendary creature effects maestro Rick Baker, while the climactic werewolf attack as the true nature of the island’s residents emerges, genuinely shocks, despite the contextual baggage and leaps in SFX four decades on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great classic, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
Gary Brandner wrote this along with two others, the books are fantastic and are all connected, the films aren't and as such, in my humble opinion, apart from this one are total rubbish.
The Howling sticks very closely to the book and starts off very dark with Eddie the werewolf coming out with the films standout line. With the Karyn cornered, a drooling Eddie snarls "Let me give you a piece of my mind" before actually... well you know what.
After escaping the attack the film moves to a retreat called the Colony where things get very... hairy.
Great film and a must for any Halloween movie party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Typical, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. D. Barry "batbeak1" (Chesham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
Special effects of its era really date this one, that's not always a bad thing either. I didn't realise were wolfs could be such perverts at the cinema, young lass in black leather and naked underneath was worth seeing too, bless her... Gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for werewolf fans, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this as a gift. The scratch mark grooves within the cover were a great touch! I have not seen this product available anywhere in the shops. The movie is a classic for werewolf fans and needless to say the gift was very well received! Great price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horror fan, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
I love this old style of movie and used to own it on video and so got it to increase my DVD collection.
Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars what a classic, 11 Feb 2013
By 
jeannie chipperfield (romford essex england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
i am replacing all my old vhs`s and this is one of the films i watch over and over , a must have if your into werewolves .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howling: Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Howling: Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [US Import] by Christopher Stone (Blu-ray - 2013)
19.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews