Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seldom a dull moment
I have quite a few books on the Roman Empire as well as a lot of Roman hist-fic, but Scott Hurst takes it to a new angle by creating a story around the native British tribes who were ready to fight back against the Empire. Hurst has clearly studied period, both in academic sense and as an enthusiast. There's plenty of action and characters are gritty/realistic. Yes there...
Published 19 months ago by Miss HP

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy read but leaves you needing to know more
It is the first book I have read by the author and found myself drawn into the story line and wanting to know more. I felt that there were gaps of knowledge within the story lines, the relationship between the main character and his brother could have been expanded upon. This would have given a greater authenticity to the overall story. I felt that at times the story...
Published 14 months ago by Sydney P Day


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seldom a dull moment, 25 Mar 2013
This review is from: Spears of Britannia (Kindle Edition)
I have quite a few books on the Roman Empire as well as a lot of Roman hist-fic, but Scott Hurst takes it to a new angle by creating a story around the native British tribes who were ready to fight back against the Empire. Hurst has clearly studied period, both in academic sense and as an enthusiast. There's plenty of action and characters are gritty/realistic. Yes there are plenty of cliches within genre, but freshness comes from period and clash of British/Roman cultures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting historical fiction, 15 Mar 2013
This review is from: Spears of Britannia (Kindle Edition)
Scott Hurst's novel is exciting and pacey - full of duplicitous characters, political intrigue, plenty of action and a smattering of romance. With powerful and ruthless female characters, as well as strong male characters it is not limited to a purely male audience. I thoroughly enjoyed this thrilling account of ancient tribal warfare and I hope this isn't the last we'll see of Scott Hurst.. or of his characters in Spears of Britannia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars!!, 4 April 2013
This review is from: Spears of Britannia (Kindle Edition)
This story gets right to the heart of the action and the history of the time. Think of it as a Game of Thrones style novel without the length - backstabbing, brutality, bloodshed and battle scenes - what more do you want?? I'm hoping this will be the beginning of an exciting new series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bloody clash of British tribes, 12 Mar 2013
This review is from: Spears of Britannia (Kindle Edition)
This novel is jam-packed full of bloody clashes. With brother against brother, and tribe fighting tribe, Britannia is unable to strengthen itself against Roman rule, and the Saxon invaders who are looting and burning down villages. The only way to secure the shores of the nation are for the ancient tribes to shed their time-old rivalries and stand united. Maximus, the future leader of the Cativulleni tribe is on a mission to locate the Great Torc - a golden neck ring which is believed to have the power to bring together and strengthen the British nation, but with so much civil unrest his quest proves harder than he thought... Scott Hurst packs plenty into this historical novel, bringing a fascinating period in British history to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The chaos of post Roman Britain brought to life, 10 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spears of Britannia (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed spears of Britannia, it has a great pace, and although not at first glance pitching itself as an Arthurian tail, has an exceptionally plausible spin on how the legend may have been borne, one that I can readily buy into. A great tale well told. Looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spears of Britannia (Kindle Edition)
This book covers the little known period of the Roman withdrawal of Britain. A fast pace story in the style of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane. Looking forward to the next adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spears of Britannia (Kindle Edition)
Thorouhly enjoyed the book. Always looking for this type of book. This period in history, I find exciting and revealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Hurst, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spears of Britannia (Kindle Edition)
This was the first book I have read of this author, it was a first class read and I will look out for more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A little heavy going due tolack of character background, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spears of Britannia (Kindle Edition)
Not a great read. Difficult to imagine characters due to insufficient background or build up, not enough relationship with actual historical events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spears of Britannia (Kindle Edition)
A good story. Easy to read. Good relaxation and author has done homework. Well worth reading if the genre is your thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spears of Britannia
Spears of Britannia by Scott Hurst
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews