Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best for intermediate & advanced learner, 29 Oct 2009
By 
Probably the best dictionary of contemporary Gaelic for intermediate and advanced learners, including online ones. In addition to translations contains a lot of example phrases and sentences, usage notes, and twelve detailed appendices on individual parts of speech, numerals, time expressions, points of compass and proper names. Somewhat lacking in areas (e.g. IT) where presumably the author didn't consider some expressions as already well-established; spelling of placenames occasionally differs from other dictionaries; but as a whole a perfect dictionary for a learner who is no longer fully satisfied with the scope of The Essential Gaelic-English Dictionary (in particular, but not only, with regard to compound nouns).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic, 27 Jan 2011
By 
M. F. Symmons "martainn" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Colin B.D. Mark has done a wonderful job - this is a great up-to-date dictionary. Lots of extras - I particularly liked the pronunciation guide at the start. Most of all, there are lots of examples of usage which capture some of the nuances of expression which learners can miss out on. Tha sinn fada nur comain, a' Chailean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for learners of Scots Gaelic, 6 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pricey, but well worth it. Print-on-demand means delivery time is a bit on the slow side, but it's good quality, easy to read and use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, but..., 29 Jun 2012
By 
Frederick N. Bosworth (Pasadena, Maryland USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am very happy with this dictionary, as are my friends who have bought it. Entries are quite up-to-date and complete, and there are several very helpful appendices in the back with key organized information. I only gave 4 stars because I still need to look elsewhere in older dictionaries for pronunciation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gelic-English Dictionary, 18 Feb 2011
This is a most comprehensive and informative dictionary. It certainly forces you to face the challenge of Gaelic.
Like many, I guess, I am on outsider looking in. I have spent many holidays in the Isle of Lewis, where our friends
converse with each other in Gaelic. So I do know the sounds of Gaelic and its setting. But when it comes to tackling
the language oneself, it is a daunting task.
I have come to become acquainted with the McAlpine dictionaries. These are quite good in their own rather quirky ways,
and they have the advantage of containing an English-Gaelic section also.
However, they do not have the depth of learning and word usage which this book has.If you look up one simple word here, you are led into its many meanings , and how it is used in countless phrases and examples.
If I were inclined to be lazy, I would wish for an English-Gaelic section; but I rather believe this would miss the whole
point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best!, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gaelic-English Dictionary: A Dictionary of Scottish Gaelic (Kindle Edition)
I already have been using the print version of this dictionary. I travel a lot, so it will be so handy to have it on my kindle. It is well worth the price. I am a learner, and have just completed an 18 month course at Sabhal Mòr Ostaig. The examples given are very helpful, especially to a learner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for the advanced learner., 28 Dec 2013
By 
Mizswamp (Saffton Walden, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gaelic-English Dictionary: A Dictionary of Scottish Gaelic (Kindle Edition)
Not only a brilliantly detailed gaelic dictionary, this also provides a very comprehensive overview of modern gaelic grammar, which is otherwise hard to find. More suitable perhaps for those with some prior learning of gaelic, rather than the absolute beginner, who might be better off with a bi-directional dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A absolute must for Scots Gaelic users. Comprehensive and manages to list most of the parts of speech that are so varied in the Gaelic language. Gives good examples of usages and makes a fair stab at colloquial use too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews