Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant acting and attention to detail
Wide open spaces, friendship bound together in danger: this is the lonesome dove collection. Beautifully filmed and very clear when watching. Also like the attention to detail- the correct attire for the period-the reproduction side arms.
There are some liberties with the history- the santé fe expedition didn't quite go that way although it was a disaster, and...
Published 15 months ago by Mr M Payne

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The orginal series with Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones ...
The orginal series with Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones is absolutely outstanding... the sequels are hardly bearable (maybe the one with James Garner is an exception). Don't bother buying the whole series, just go for the first one.
Published 8 months ago by Lady of Shalott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant acting and attention to detail, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wide open spaces, friendship bound together in danger: this is the lonesome dove collection. Beautifully filmed and very clear when watching. Also like the attention to detail- the correct attire for the period-the reproduction side arms.
There are some liberties with the history- the santé fe expedition didn't quite go that way although it was a disaster, and Roy Bean was not killed on his porch, but otherwise gives some idea of what it must have been like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terriffic Story, 25 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It has been many many years since I read the book and watched the original on TV so I didn't notice the missing scenes. But according to what I learned later, apparently this set is not complete.

Nevertheless, it is a wonderful story. I watched in the order in which the series was filmed, but some recommend watching it in chronological order. I think I'll try that when I re-watch in a year or so.

It's a shame Robert Duvall wasn't involved in the whole series. The other actors playing Gus aren't nearly as good. But my complaints are minor compared with the overall great quality of the story and filming. I highly recommend Lonesome Dove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a christmas present for my dad and he loved it, it was great that they were all together in one boxset, brillant quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The orginal series with Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones ..., 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The orginal series with Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones is absolutely outstanding... the sequels are hardly bearable (maybe the one with James Garner is an exception). Don't bother buying the whole series, just go for the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am sure I will enjoy again, and again, 23 July 2014
By 
Phill Bridger (RUWI, Muscat Oman) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watched years ago in the 70's stockpiling for retirement. I am sure I will enjoy again, and again . . . .. . . . . . . .. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonesome dove, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a Western fan Lonesome Dove was tops The acting and camera work was excellent I have watched these DVDs severel times and will continue too watch them thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lonesome dove re-visited, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this box set for my dad for Christmas as he had watched the series many years ago on tv. He tells me it was brilliant. It had many extras he wasn't expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... saga L/D and the return to L/D is as good as anything you will ever see on any screen ..., 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The firs two of this saga L/D and the return to L/D is as good as anything you will ever see on any screen any where. ABSOLUTELY BRILIANT. Cheers Barry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Memories, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took me back to a bygone era with familiar characters. Enjoyed watching this again after catching an episode on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great western saga!, 13 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great series and certainly one of the best western sagas I have watched. A snip at the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews