Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MESMERIZING, 13 May 2013
This review is from: Ya Nass (MP3 Download)
YASMINE HAMDAN is the lead singer behind SOAPKILLS, Check out the song Kasdoura and the project Y.A.S / Arabology with MIRWAIS, Terrific record. This is her first solo album, And this is the international version ( physical and mp3 ), The original version was released last year ( physical only ), Few songs are missing and new songs have been added. This is more traditional music, Subtle electronica, More personal. Check out the song Gamar, A GEORGE BRASSENS cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 30 May 2013
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ya Nass (Audio CD)
'Ya Nass' is the astonishingly assured solo debut from Lebanese artist
Yasmine Hamdan. (I am unfamiliar with her earlier work with duo Soapkills
and now have some homework and catching-up to do). It is a revelation!
Ms Hamdan has a beautiful voice; warm, rich, sinuous and utterly haunting.

There are thirteen songs in the set sensitively and economically produced
by Marc Collin. The mood is largely melancholic with the playful exception
of the delightful composition 'Samar'. The artfully textured arrangements
combine both electronic and acoustic elements and provide an unobtrusive
platform for Ms Hamdan's riveting vocal performances. I thought that not
having the slightest knowledge or understanding of the Arabic language
would make it harder for me to fully grasp the meaning and depth of her
work but the accompanying booklet gives brief notes on each track which
helpfully enhanced my appreciation of the recording in its totality.

I'm falling in more and more in love with this album with each repeated
encounter but if I had to pick two numbers to take with me to my desert
island then I'd definitely have to make room for both the sublime 'Shouei'
and the brief but nonetheless enchanting 'Khayyam' in my survival pack!

Simply Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely fab, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ya Nass (Audio CD)
Great tunes, great voice, great musical arrangements. I got to know about this singer through a programme at the radio. I absolutely loved the song they played, got the album thinking I would probably like a couple more as usual. But in fact I love them all! Bewitching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really good album, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ya Nass (Audio CD)
if you like a variation in your music tastes this is the album, the music is both new and stimulating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars amazing voice, 1 Sept. 2013
By 
Anthony M. Paterson (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ya Nass (Audio CD)
Heard a track by Yasmine by chance and was completely entranced by her voice. Went to Amazon and found this album that showcases her talent brilliantly. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ya Nass (Audio CD)
Really interesting contemporary mix of middle eastern music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's good yes, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ya Nass (MP3 Download)
a beautiful lady with a beautifully haunting voice. Blew me away the first time I heard her on Jools Holland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ya Nass (Audio CD)
Used to the songs of Fairuz that famous Lebanese singer this was unusual and I would recommend it. Difficult without translation in sleeve notes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 3 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ya Nass (Audio CD)
Bought Only Lovers Left Alive on which she sings one song. This album does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ya Nass (Audio CD)
5 *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ya Nass
Ya Nass by Yasmine Hamdan (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews