Customer Reviews


421 Reviews
5 star:
 (329)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great clean up, great extras!
This is one of those amazing films that doesn't fail to enchant through to adulthood. I thoroughly enjoyed revisiting Dorothy's journey through Oz, being scared by the Wicked Witch of the West and being charmed by Scarecrow, Tin Man and Cowardly Lion. This is definitely one for adults and children alike. The musical numbers are also just as entertaining this...
Published on 4 Dec. 2005 by Suze

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth upgrading from DVD
I have this classic film on DVD as my daughter loves it. I decided to invest in this blu ray version - and even bearing in mind the age of the film and obviously expecting some graininess - I was hoping to see an improvement in picture quality. Sadly I didn't and when flicking between the DVD picture and blu ray, the DVD picture, although not as strikingly colourful, was...
Published on 8 Feb. 2011 by redvers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 443 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful as ever, 23 Nov. 2005
I am glad I bought this classic movie as I was amazed by the new transfer & I have to say that the colour is simply stunning. the yellow brick road is as pretty as it's always been & if there is a word to describe this movie it will be Wonderful. buy this one as it's a classic. Over The Rainbow is one of my favourite movie songs & this 2 disc DVD will make a great Xmas present for the young in heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Wizard of Oz (Blu-ray), 4 Dec. 2010
Purchased this as an upgrade from the previous DVD release several years ago. I was considering importing the US collectors edition but decided to go with the UK release instead. Many reviews had focused on the excellent hi-def picture quality of this particular release so when I began to watch the movie on my fantastic Samsung HDTV I was expecting great things. Unfortunately this version fails to live up to the hype. The picture quality is mediocre at best, only slightly superior to my older DVD of this classic. I'm glad I did not import the much more expensive US version now. Would only recommend if you do not already own this film on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical movie!, 1 Nov. 2007
This movie is so iconic it is deeply ingrained in our culture. As a little girl, and as an adult too, we all want a magical pair of "Dorothy" shoes. The movie's message is very simple; there's no place like home. The magical world of Oz is in technicolor whereas the scenes in Kansas are in black and white. This helps to show how enticing Oz is. The characters are pretty damn good, they don't make em like that anymore. All of the characters go through a personal journey in the film; to get home, to become brave, to get a heart. The plot is as delightful as the characters and the setting, with a dash of humour added in; a must see for young and old, even my quite sensitive 6yr old daughter can handle the scarier bits. The replay value is immeasurable, I have seen the movie so many times and will watch it many times more. The music is enchanting too!

Overall I think this movie is a must see.

I would rate it 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Emerald Edition of this great movie, 5 Nov. 2011
By 
Mr. C. Smith "watchman" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is simply the best version of the Wizard of OZ I have ever seen. The main feature is clear and crisp, the extras are extraordinary and the presentation is beautiful. Although not quite the Steelbook case it deserves, the embossed cardboard sleeve glitters with the magic of OZ. A must buy for any fan of one of the most enchanting and mesmerising films ever made. Thank you victor :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless masterpiece. Pure magic., 11 April 2007
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This film has got to be the most magical and delightful family film of all time. Not just because it appeals to adults and children alike, but also because of its nature. It's a film full of joy yet there are dark elements in there too.

The plot goes that Dorothy (exquisitely played by Judy Garland), is swept away with the house belonging to her aunt and uncle, by a twister and ends up on the other side of the rainbow. Or so she thinks. When the house lands, it ended up killing the Wicked Witch of the East by landing on top of her. In amazing technicolor, Dorothy steps out into a magical world where she is told to follow the yellow brick road in order to return to Kanzas. Before this, the dead witch's sister, the Wicked Witch of the West, has demanded that the red shoes should be hers, but the Good Witch of the North transfers the shoes onto Dorothy's feet.

On her way along the Yellow Brick Road, she meets up with Scarecrow, Tin Man and a cowardly lion. They're all off to see the wonderful wizard of Oz who will help Dorothy get home, Scarecrow his brain, Tin Man his heart and Cowardly Lion his courage. But the Wicked Witch of the West has other plans as she tries to capture Dorothy for the red shoes. When Dorothy is captured, the other three rescue her and get their wishes granted by the Wonderful Wizard of Oz.

An absolutely magical timeless classic that holds the test of time and still looks as fresh as a daisy. Judy Garland earned superstar status after this film. She is terrific and perfect in a role that suited her. In my view, she's never been better.

The two worlds of Kansas and Oz are beautifully realised and brilliantly done. For the time, it's amazing. And the gorgeous songs from 'Over The Rainbow', sung so eloquently by Judy Garland and the bouncy 'The Wizard of Oz' are brilliantly done.

Definitely one of my favourite films of all time. I recently watched it on television over the Easter weekend and I still thought it was great to watch. I just love it. I could never tire of watching this priceless gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most amazing film ever....., 6 Oct. 2006
By 
Mark Hancock "Bring back Invasion" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have never seen this film then you have truly missed out on one of the most brilliant musicals ever. Fact!

It is hard to believe that it was made in 1939. The cast are brilliant. The characters are stunning. The film making is years ahead of its time. The script is brilliant & the songs are catchy and you will be forever singing them...

Close your eyes and sing this line.

Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high.

Captured already?

See this film in your life time,it should be on your list of things to do before you reach the other side.

Amazing stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW, 13 Jan. 2010
By 
A. Hayes ""county cottage"" (Solihull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I LOVE THIS FILM AND YEAR AFTER YEAR ME AND MY FAMILY WATCH IT. I REMEMBER MY MOM MAKING SURE US CHILDREN WATCHED IT AND, I DID THE SAME WITH MY CHILDREN. IT REALLY IS A FAMILY FAVOURITE, GREAT TO WATCH AT CHRISTMAS TIME; ALWAYS PUTS A SMILE ON YOUR FACE...JUDY GARLAND AT HER VERY BEST....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wizard of Oz, 30 May 2009
By 
This review is from: The Wizard Of Oz [DVD] (DVD)
An all time classic that everyone should have in their collection. DVDs such as this are so cheap now that I have been able to amass quite a large collection of 'must haves' with this one being near the top of the list. My 9 year old loves it and will watch it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative!, 27 Mar. 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
For some reason, the badly written book 'The Wizard of Oz', written in 1900 by L Frank Baum, was extremely popular for a long time. (I think it is pretty awful, but then I'm not a child). MGM decided there was money in a film based on the book and eventually, after many different attempts by many writers, the script was finalised, one reasonably faithful to the book. The film is beautifully written and directed and (I think) is far superior to the book and actually quite magical. The musical score underlines this magic and 'Somewhere Over the Rainbow' won an Academy Award, as did Judy Garland. She was an inspired choice for the role. She had been brought up in Vaudeville and had been singing onstage from a small child. By this time, she had been paired with Mickey Rooney a few times in movies and was already a star, though still a teenager. She was only 4'11" tall, the ideal person to play a child younger than herself (she was 16 at the time) and she was already showing the magnetic stage presence which would keep her a star for the next 40 years.
The film opens with Dorothy largely ignored by her family, busy on their farm, and in trouble with a nasty neighbour, Miss Gulch, who has been bitten by Dorothy's little dog. Dorothy's grey world is echoed by the black and white filming. When a tornado sweeps her off to Oz, the film is in colour, reflecting the idea that she has now come to a colourful place where she can at last be fully alive. The Wizard, the Tin Man, the Scarecrow and the Cowardly Lion are all played by actors who played her father and the three farm hands, as if Dorothy has not really entered a different world but rather a different dimension of the world she knows.
The charm of the film never flags as the central characters learn life lessons and their illusions are dispelled, leaving them free to grow up. Like all great children's stories, it has great psychological truth and a simple, moral vision of life and truth. I don't mean to be pretentious - I love the fact that great children's literature and films tell the truth in this rather beautiful way. Anyway, one doesn't have to intellectualise about the film, just enjoy it and let it speak to the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We're off to see the Wizard and then some., 30 April 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Dorothy Gale (Judy Garland) wants to save her poor little doggy, Toto, from the clutches of her wicked witch like neighbor Elmira Gulch (Margaret Hamilton). Nobody at home will support her in this effort. Her only alternative is to run away. However she is persuaded by kindly Professor Marvel (Frank Morgan) to return home. She returns home just in time for a tornado to whisk her away to another land in another time what she believes would have been safer for her dog.

The screen changes from Brown white monochrome to glorious color as she meets new friends that seem familiar and has adventures that lead her to believe that there is no place like home.

Seems like everybody and their bliss forgot about the original dilemma of what to do with poor Toto.

The film now a bit dated is a classic and it is imperative that you have a copy on your shelf. You may even find yourself taking it down periodically to watch.
-----------------------------------------------------

I like to restrict my review to just the movie itself. However there are those people that are interested in all the extra goodies in the add-ons and commentaries in adjustments and whatnot of all the special versions in capabilities of today's technology. You can choke on with "The Wizard of Oz (70th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition with Digital Copy and Amazon Exclusive Set of 4 Collectible 8x10 Character Posters) [Blu-ray]" version. If I were to gain were discussed every extra goody in this package it would take pages. Of course there are the usual commentaries and then some extra commentaries there is the audio and then there's the music effect track. There is the sing along, and extras, and the trailers, and additional footage. Today more than little techie stuff there is even the BD-live option. You might find a larger package but not techier package.

I'll bet you donuts to dollars that before this review is obsolete someone will complain that this is not the widescreen version.

For me and don't take this in a negative way the high definition allowed me to see Dorothy freckles but at the same time allow me to realize that Judy Garland was much too old for the part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 443 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wizard of Oz [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [1939] [Region Free]
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews