Customer Reviews


307 Reviews
5 star:
 (237)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great clean up, great extras!
This is one of those amazing films that doesn't fail to enchant through to adulthood. I thoroughly enjoyed revisiting Dorothy's journey through Oz, being scared by the Wicked Witch of the West and being charmed by Scarecrow, Tin Man and Cowardly Lion. This is definitely one for adults and children alike. The musical numbers are also just as entertaining this...
Published on 4 Dec 2005 by Suze

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Wizard of Oz (Blu-ray)
Purchased this as an upgrade from the previous DVD release several years ago. I was considering importing the US collectors edition but decided to go with the UK release instead. Many reviews had focused on the excellent hi-def picture quality of this particular release so when I began to watch the movie on my fantastic Samsung HDTV I was expecting great things...
Published on 4 Dec 2010 by rega27


‹ Previous | 124 25 2631 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars recommend, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought this classic film for my 7 year old musical fan,he has watched it more than once, and has learnt all the words to the songs aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loves it!, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My five year old saw this on tv and had to have! Classic film at a great price for a spur of the moment treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OZ in HD!, 14 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seeing Wizard Of Oz in HD was lovely, nice clean picture as well, shame such a great old classic was not made in full screen as back in those days was just 4:3 screen ratio, however, it was watchable eventually and it looked sweet in HD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old ones are the best, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is good to be able to get hold of these classic films on vhs, enjoy watching this film over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs, 28 Nov 2012
Fantastic all time classic! My son asked for this after watching it on tv . He absolutely loves it. So do I!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wizard of Oz, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased to receive this dvd so quickly. It was very good value and the picture quality has been updated so as not to reflect how old this classic film really is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An introduction to "Wicked", 30 May 2011
I bought this just as I was going to watch the musical "Wicked" as I did not know the original story and I am glad I did! This classic is really well restored, and although the general atmosphere made me smile (it is really naive :)!), the story is well worth watching. The end conclusion is a little disappointing, the famous "there's no place like home" feeling a bit odd (and a little sexist _be a nice girl and tend the farm like you mother used to...) today.
Anyway, this edition is really complete. I did not even have the time to watch it all, as usual, but I'm sure that there is enough to keep even the worst hard core fan busy for hours!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow the Yellow Brick Road, 29 April 2011
Judy at 17 playing a part of a Twelve year old!..So meet the Scarecrow(he's phoning from a field)..the Tin Man and the Cowardly Lion...great fun!!!..P.S. soz for any early spelling mistakes...T.C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit of a disappointment, 31 Mar 2011
By 
Guy Ross (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, it's one disc of two from the 70th anniversary edition (they didn't even bother changing the dvd label). The 'sing-along' part only means it turns subtitles on and it's not widescreen (at least, it didn't default to it when the older re-release of oz I have does).

On the plus side there are some interesting audio tracks (pre-remastered and soundtrack only).

Great film otherwise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gift for my younger sister, 22 Nov 2010
I have been looking everywhere for this dvd as my 5 year old sister loves it. The sing-along is an extra bonus that I know she will love. A great price too and will be a well loved xmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 124 25 2631 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wizard of Oz [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [1939] [Region Free]
£9.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews