Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless
Gremlins is the story of an inventor who whilst peddling his wares in Chinatown at Christmas time comes across a shop and decides to buy a present for his son. The present that he buys is a Mogwai an incredibly cute little creature to give his son as a pet. He is warned to follow three rules regarding the Mogwai, these being:

1) Don't get the Mogwai wet...
Published on 17 May 2006 by Ms. B. Williams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars meh
not as good as I remembered.
Published 16 days ago by Sheldon Cooper, B.S., M.S., M....


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 17 May 2006
By 
Ms. B. Williams "Beth" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gremlins [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Gremlins is the story of an inventor who whilst peddling his wares in Chinatown at Christmas time comes across a shop and decides to buy a present for his son. The present that he buys is a Mogwai an incredibly cute little creature to give his son as a pet. He is warned to follow three rules regarding the Mogwai, these being:

1) Don't get the Mogwai wet

2) Don't expose the Mogwai to light, especially sunlight

3) Most importantly don't feed it after midnight

The Mogwai is taken home to his family and the son immediately loves the creature soon dubbing it Gizmo. Obviously, the son manages to break all the rules therefore spawning little Mogwai's which when inadvertently fed after midnight metamorphasise into the gremlins creating havoc across town.

The film is a bit slow to get going but Gizmo is just so damn cute you're happy to watch it. Once the gremlins appear though the film becomes really funny and clever. The creatures and the puppetry are second to none and in a time before CGI the mind boggles to think of the amount of work that must have gone into some of the scenes. There is an extraordinarily hilarious scene where the gremlins are in a bar acting like how a bunch of drunken men may act in a bar. There's even a gremlin with a flasher mac on who proceeds to flash at the barmaid!!

I do have a couple of problems with the film though. One of them being the casting of Zach Galligan as the son and the main character. When you hear that the father is going to buy a present for his son you automatically assume that the son will be a lot younger than he actually is. I don't know how old he actually is and is supposed to be but he looked about 19. I just felt that the role was written for a younger character. Saying that there is a love interest in the film (Phoebe Cates) which I suppose couldn't have played if the character was a lot younger. There is another thing I've always wondered. If you can't feed the gremlins after midnight, when can you start feeding them again?!

There are some small roles for future stars Corey Feldman and Judge Reinhold. Unfortunately there are no DVD extras but the film is really fun so it's still worth buying. As stated previously though, it's not really a kid's film. There are a couple of scary scenes. I don't think it should be a 15 rating but maybe a 12 would have been more appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gremlins, are at last unleashed on Blu-ray!!, 28 Nov 2009
By 
"Well it's been along time coming but at last it's here, Gremlins is on Blu-ray!"

"But was it worth the wait?"

"As a die hard fan of the Gremlin films, I would say yes!"

I don't think theres any point in me writing a review of the film itself as I'm sure everyone in the world knows the story by now, a true testament of how brilliant and well made a film Gremlins is, but you could always check out the many DVD reviews here on Amazon if in need of a recap. This review is about the blu-ray disc itself, to help anyone thinking of upgrading or experiencing this classic film for the first time.

I'll start by talking about the picture transfer. I would say for a twenty five year old film the overall picture transfer is very good, bright and with a great amount of detail. But I feel I must point out that it's not as good as some of the other Blu-ray transfers of films of a similar age, "The Thing," "The Shining" and "The Goonies" spring to mind, but it is a faithful transfer never the less. There is amount of grain to the picture, but then I wasn't expecting the picture quality of a new blockbuster, but like I said for a film of this age It's still amazing quality and a great improvement over DVD.

The improvements are: more detail on the Gremlins themselves with more colour and detailed skin, the face shots of Gizmo are the most beautiful of all! The human face's and interior scenes also have a more fleshed out feel to them. The scene inside the store towards the end of the film, Gizmo and Stripe's face off, I feel stands out the most for me, a noticeable upgrade from the washed out picture quality of the DVD. The outdoor scenes are also a vast improvement over it's DVD counter part and show the true power of what Blu-ray can do.

As for the sound, this Blu-ray disc has been mastered in Dolby TrueHD and sounds very crisp and sharp, only a minor enhancement over the impressive DVD master.

"But it's the extras that was also a big part of why I purchased this Blu-ray edition!"

For many years, we in the UK have been having to make do with a no extras basic DVD edition. I'm so happy to announce to long suffering British fans, that there are a good selection of extras included on the disc, this time around!

The extra features include: not one, but two! Insightful audio commentaries from director Joe Dante himself with cast members, a vintage six minute making of featurette, a photo/storyboard gallery and a selection of standard theatrical trailers. But the best extra feature by far, has to be the over ten minutes of never before seen footage, which also includes a director and cast members commentary.

So, if your thinking of upgrading or just looking to brighten up your Blu-ray collection, then Gremlins is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gremlins (Blu-ray), 2 Jan 2010
A good movie is like your favourite cereal, when having it after a long break it's like the first time all over again.
Well watching Gremlins again was wonderful enough but watching it on Blu-ray, brilliant, the characters are sharper, colour more pronounced, just better than expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You do with Mogwai what your society has done with nature's gifts., 15 Dec 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gremlins [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
A mysterious looking creature is purchased from Chinatown and taken home as a pet, the Mogwai comes with three rules that must be observed at all times;

Keep him out of light, especially sunlight as it will kill him...

Never get him wet...

Never ever feed him after midnight...

Naturally things go belly up and what happens next amounts to a riotous invasion of Gremlins causing no end of destruction to the small town of Kingston Falls. What strikes me the most about Gremlins is the blend of tones, the comedy mixes brilliantly with the cute factor, and then all the serenity is destroyed by the carnage unleashed. With some scenes fit to grace any horror movie. Playing heavily on the old urban legends of little Gremlins messing with machines to unsurp humans, director Joe Dante creates a "Spielbergian" (the beard on producing duty here) parody that delivers royally on the entertainment front. There's fun to be had with some of the in jokes and the social references that the writers throw in at frequent moments. Nods to films like The Wizard of Oz, It's A Wonderful Life and Invasion of the Body Snatchers are well placed, while the pre CGI creatures themselves are brilliant in their reactions to things around them. Be it a gremlin attacking something or Gizmo watching the television aghast, these sprites are a delight.

Some of the humour is very pitch black, so much so it would have gone over many a child's head back when the film was first released. You can imagine many an adult parent sitting there with the children cringing as they laugh to moments like flasher and mugger gremlin, while metaphors and wry side-swipes at small town Americana are bountiful for the observant. Is it, as some critics called it on release, mean spirited? No, not at all, yes it's a complete flip-flop from the homely comforts provided by ET era Spielberg or Disney on full tilt family friendly fodder mode, but director Joe Dante and writer Chris Columbus aren't fly pitching in that particular market. This is a wonderful horror comedy with dark narrative tints around the jagged edges, the cast may well be standing up purely as extras to the gremlins and the carnage they create, but it's devilishly funny all the same. Besides, if you can't go Aww at the sight of Gizmo, or laugh heartily as a theatre full of gremlins rejoice in Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, then clearly, before delving into the thematics of it, it's not the movie for you anyway. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody's got a story like this one. Nobody, 20 Dec 2010
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Length:: 3:49 Mins

A dark, crazy, twisted, inventive, and violent Christmas classic. There's really no way to classify or categorize Gremlins. It's too mean-spirited to be a kid's film, but not quite intense enough to justify a higher rating (though the 15-rated UK version makes a mockery of the BBFC guidelines).

Gremlins has long been an annual tradition for movie fans. The cozy, snowy atmosphere of Kingston Falls (which appears to be in upstate New York somewhere) is the perfect small town that we all wish we came from. Even when the Gremlins invade it's a homely place to be envious of.

I was frightened of the Gremlins when I was a kid, but they're really nothing more than gigantic smiles with arms and legs. They exist only to have fun at the expense of human life and private property. I suppose they could be a metaphor for hedonism or apathy.

Originally a much more evil script (intended to be an anti-Wonderful Life), Chris Columbus was inspired to write Gremlins as he listened to the rats in his apartment scurry about in the dark during the night. He lightened the material somewhat before filming began, but Joe Dante's wild vision makes it a twisted, festive reality.

Special mention must be made of Jerry Goldsmith's outrageous score and that famous theme tune 'The Gremlin Rag', a demented circus fanfare of anarchy and mayhem. It's crazy to think that we had to wait 27 years to get released on CD.

Gremlins sparked the rise of Chris Columbus as a creative force in Hollywood. Only 25 at the time of filming his career has been made up of classics, and Christmas classics, such as The Goonies, Young Sherlock Holmes, Home Alone, Home Alone 2, Harry Potter, and Bicentennial Man. Joe Dante never scored a bigger hit, but his subsequent career significant;y defined 80s and 90s cinema with movies such as Innerspace, The 'burbs, Gremlins 2, and Small Soldiers. Goldsmith scoring every one of them until his death in 2004.

Neither of them knew the massive franchise and fan-following which Gremlins would provoke, but it certainly deserves it's place in pop culture history.

A lot of criticism has been made of the Blu Ray. I admit that it doesn't look like Avatar but no matter what anyone says it is a significant step-up from the DVD. The 1.78:1 1080p picture is the best Gremlins has ever looked. It's always been a dark, grainy-looking film, so I'm not as unimpressed as other reviewers have been. The Dolby TrueHD sound is also a noticeable upgrade from the DVD too. Extras are ported over from the Special Editon and are in standard definition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars by a Yank, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Still an awesome movie after all these years! I saw it in the theater and it has never looked better. Great transfer (though like most 80s movies it is not HD perfect) but looks beautiful. Plays great on my American PS3 and cost less then Amazon USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect Christmas film..., 8 Dec 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those that like their films on the dark side.
Just bought this on blu-ray for my 8 year old Son to watch. Yes, it's a 15 rated film, but he can handle it.
Very dark and also very funny in equal measures and I'm pleased to see that it's a decent upgrade on my old DVD copy.
Some great extras with deleted scenes and two commentaries.
No home should be without a copy this yuletide.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie making in all it's glory, 10 Oct 2002
By 
Mr. N. Wargen "N.inner" (Hereford, Herefordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gremlins [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Gremlins is nothing less than a fantastic movie with a fun and very original plot. Many of the film's characters are not given a lot of room to be expanded upon and diversions are created around the major characters and their lives simply to clear the path for the real stars of the movie. The stunning use of puppetry and animatronic creatures remains flawless even today. Creature features thses days are made with all the break through technology in computer CGI and yet somehow, can fail to be convincing enough. But Gremlins never ceases to amaze with its fantastic special effects and devious story. Surely a prime example of exactly how modern day movie making should be. You must buy this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Though the gremlins outside are frightful, 16 Jan 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gremlins [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Don't expose them to sunlight. Don't let them get wet. And under no circumstances feed them after midnight.

Those are the rules for the now-legendary mogwai, adorable little fuzzballs who transform if you break the last rule. And "Gremlins" is a gloriously unconventional Christmas movie -- a postcard-pretty view of suburban middle-America, splattered with gore, nasty little gremlins and a truly wicked sense of humour (expressed often in movie send-ups).

Randall (Hoyt Axton) spots a tiny adorable creature -- a mogwai -- in a small Chinatown shop, and wants to buy it as a Christmas present for his son. The owner refuses, but his grandson secretly sells it to Randall.

Randall's son Billy (Zach Galligan) is delighted by the fuzzy lightphobic mogwai, whom he names Gizmo. But it soon becomes clear that Gizmo is full of surprises: when water is accidentally splashed on him, he spontaneously generates a litter of NEW mogwai. The ringleader "Stripe" tricks Billy into feeding them after midnight, transforming them into scaly, dangerous "gremlins.

And after a gremlin tumbles into a pool, Billy realizes that the town is about to be swarmed with them -- attacking vicious old Mrs. Deagle, ramming snowplows, murdering kindly teachers, and trashing a tavern with Billy's love interest Kate (Phoebe Cates). As the town descends into gremlinized chaos, the two humans (and Gizmo) must find a way to wipe out the horde... and if they miss only one, it'll start all over again.

Personally I find most Christmas movies a little too sappy and sentimental. So for people who feel that way, a Yuletide horror/comedy is simply ideal -- it's sort of a mad hybrid of early Peter Jackson splattergore, Frank Capra snow-sprinkled Christmastime, and a bunch of sly movie homages and send-ups ("Forbidden Planet," "Wizard of Oz" and "Snow White" amongst others).

But the real fun is in watching the movie's balance between nasty and cuddly -- Joe Dante happily veers between sweet moments and grotesquely funny violence (such as Billy's mom messily killing gremlins with a variety of kitchen implements), with the best example being the malevolent Mrs. Deagle being flung out an upstairs window by fa-la-la-la-LAing gremlins. Completely sick, and gutsplittingly funn.

And Dante sprinkles it with more G-rated comedy that borders on cartoonish without quite crossing, such as the kid in the Christmas tree costume ("Don't ask!") and the gremlins destroying a local pub when they aren't watching Disney movies (is this a message about Disney?). It all climaxes in some literally explosive showdowns with the gremlins -- and particularly with Stripe, their ghastly little leader.

Galligan and Cates are thoroughly solid as the teenage heroes, especially when Cates gives her heartbreaking speech about the horrible experience that made her hate Christmas. In fact, all the actors do a solid job -- the evil old landlady who serves as a sort of Wicked Witch of the West/Scrooge hybrid, the cranky old veteran, the crackpot inventor and the wise old Chinese guy.

But the showstopper is Gizmo -- tiny, round, fuzzy and wide-eyed, with a babyish squeaky voice and a liking for toy cars and 3-D glasses. Rarely has a puppet been so bloody cute and endearing. His complete opposite is Stripe, a gremlin amongst gremlins -- malevolent and gleefully sadistic, he seems smart enough to revel in the idea of destroying the town.

"Gremlins" is a brilliant horror/comedy that infuses a perfect American town with a little mayhem and gore, as well as some wickedly funny little nasties. Definitely a must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gremlins 30th Anniversary Edition Blu Ray Review, 25 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the fifth Gremlins Blu Ray release in the UK, but this is the one you need.
It is described as 30th Anniversary Edition, but by looking at the packaging you wouldn't know it.
The only way to know is to look at the back of the case where it states the new extras. (comes in a standard Amaray case that holds 2 discs)

The content first disc is identical to previous releases. The commentaries, deleted scenes, trailer and featurettes are all there.
The transfer of the film(which I thought was great) is identical. The print on the front of the disc is all that's changed (stating film and bonus features)

The second disc is what you want this release for. It contains approx 1 hour of new bonus material. I would have liked alot more, but this is still great.

- Cute, Clever, Mischievous, Intelligent and Dangerous: Making Gremlins is 27 minutes long and is very informative. It has new interviews from Joe Dante, Chris Columbus, Steven Spielberg and Zack Galligan

- From Gizmo to Gremlins: Creating The Creatures is 17 minutes long, with interviews from the same people, and shows the effort and love that went into this classic's practical effects.

- Hangin' With Hoyt on the Set of Gremlins - Is 4 minutes long, and consists or rough, onset footage of Hoyt Axton and its short, but delightful - he seemed like a genuinely nice guy

- Two motions comics - pointless to me to be honest. Somebody narrates segments from original Gremlins story books.

Overall, this release was essential for me as Gremlins is one of my all time favorite films.
If you were to see this on a shop shelf, you may not even realize it is the 2 disc special edition and its came out without a much notice (in fact, some sites have its release date for 10/11/14. I got mine last week)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gremlins [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [1984] [Region Free]
£6.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews