Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging Story
Lincoln Rhyme's phrase 'walking the grid', where examination of every square inch of a crime scene will reveal evidence, no matter how miniscule, that will point to the villain, is severely tested in this short story. A young woman is found murdered in an underground car park. Amelia Sachs is sent to investigate. The area surrounding her has been obliterated by materials...
Published on 22 April 2013 by ACB(swansea)

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Written like a movie pitch
I love Jeffrey Deaver, I wanted to find him equally capable of writing short stories as full-blown novels but unfortunately I was disappointed. This is not a good short story, it is more like a pitch for a movie of a book he will write after he writes the screenplay. None of the trademark twists and turns.
Published on 6 May 2013 by Karen McDonnell


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging Story, 22 April 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Textbook Case: A Lincoln Rhyme Short Story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Lincoln Rhyme's phrase 'walking the grid', where examination of every square inch of a crime scene will reveal evidence, no matter how miniscule, that will point to the villain, is severely tested in this short story. A young woman is found murdered in an underground car park. Amelia Sachs is sent to investigate. The area surrounding her has been obliterated by materials designed to obscure any evidence of the killer. The amount of collection boxes and bags is on a par with an episode of mass destruction. Rhyme finds the case as frustrating as any he can recall. A meticulous analysis of the subject matter and possibilities leads Rhyme to believe someone is using his classic text on 'Evidence Collection and Analysis' to cover their tracks.

The interaction between Rhyme's factual evidence-based approach and Sachs's psychology and policing of crime make for a formidable team. They are thorough in their own complementary ways as the tension builds to apprehend the culprit who has the hallmarks of a serial attacker. Working on minute leads, the plot is far from straightforward, absorbing with plenty of action, brainwork and some neat twists, the major one is cleverly unseen. Young police officer Marko works with Rhyme and Sachs in a diligent and engaging manner and adds to the book's character.

Jeffrey Deaver has written an enjoyable and suspenseful story. The format worked for me and is tremendous value. A short preview of his next novel 'The Kill-Room' is an addendum and is much anticipated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 22 April 2013
By 
G. J. Miles "Geoff" (Cumnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Textbook Case: A Lincoln Rhyme Short Story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Typical Lincoln Rhyme but over a bit TOO quickly (I know it's a short story).

Filled a gap though, and Lincoln is getting some use of his limbs (not a spoiler, it's said very early on).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Written like a movie pitch, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Textbook Case: A Lincoln Rhyme Short Story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I love Jeffrey Deaver, I wanted to find him equally capable of writing short stories as full-blown novels but unfortunately I was disappointed. This is not a good short story, it is more like a pitch for a movie of a book he will write after he writes the screenplay. None of the trademark twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Textbook Case, by Jeffrey Deaver., 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Textbook Case: A Lincoln Rhyme Short Story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
As usual Jeffrey Deaver doesn't disappoint....wish the book was longer though. I like books that are familiar because of the characters......seem like friends to me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lincoln Rhyme short story, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Textbook Case: A Lincoln Rhyme Short Story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
It was good, and I enjoyed it. It had just enough historic detail to get me back to the scenario, but still got on with a cracking story. I didn't guess the villain until just before the end, so it left me feeling only slightly smug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Lincoln Rhyme Fans, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Textbook Case: A Lincoln Rhyme Short Story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This is a Lincoln Rhyme story with all the necessary Deaver elements, and characters. Even though it is quite short it is up to the usual Rhyme standard, and I was pleased that it caught us up on Lincoln's health, which has been improving. A must for Lincoln Rhyme and Deaver fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Textbook Case: Review, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Textbook Case: A Lincoln Rhyme Short Story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
As far as I am concerned, the book's only virtues were its shortness and cheapness. I disliked its characters, the rushed plot, the ludicrousness of operating a murder scene from the (retired) detective's hotel room. Who would I recommend it to? No-one I respected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lincoln Rhyme, 15 April 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Jackson (Gainsborough, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Textbook Case: A Lincoln Rhyme Short Story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Very good writer, very interesting characters. I have read all his previous books and thoroughly enjoyed them. Got the next one in the series on order already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Textbook Case, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Textbook Case: A Lincoln Rhyme Short Story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Not much suspense at all, Not like his other Lincoln Rhyme book they found the suspect to quick the book was a let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A textbook case, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Textbook Case: A Lincoln Rhyme Short Story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I liked it, a great short story from one of he greatest. Love all Lincoln rhyme novels can't wait or more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews