Customer Reviews


319 Reviews
5 star:
 (221)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 117 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A War that won't be won on the Battlefield
I feel that this series has been unfairly criticised. It was never marketed as a documentary, and doesn't claim to tell the factual story. One should enjoy it for what it is- a drama. And as far as drama based on history goes, it is actually quite a good one. Yes, elements of the plot are not factually correct, but then we should also remember that they are possibly not...
Published 21 months ago by Pepper

versus
62 of 70 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good drama, shoddy dvd
This series is a decent historical drama, a sort of prequel to the Tudors, with less violence.

It covers a long period in the lives of the main characters, but the producers have chosen not to indicate the passing of the time in any way, which leads to some confusion (of two women aged twenty something, which one is supposed to be the lady mother?) and, I can...
Published 20 months ago by dosk


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

112 of 117 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A War that won't be won on the Battlefield, 10 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The White Queen [DVD] (DVD)
I feel that this series has been unfairly criticised. It was never marketed as a documentary, and doesn't claim to tell the factual story. One should enjoy it for what it is- a drama. And as far as drama based on history goes, it is actually quite a good one. Yes, elements of the plot are not factually correct, but then we should also remember that they are possibly not factually incorrect either, as with the series set in the 1400s it is impossible to know the whole concrete truth. Many aspects included in the books and series are things that may have been true. For example, while some dismiss the witchcraft storyline as ridiculous, it is fact that Elizabeth Woodville and her mother were accused of being witches. While it may not have been true that they practised 'witchcraft', I actually find it interesting that the series portrays the allegations as true.

The White queen is based on the 'cousins war' series by Philippa Gregory focusing on three woman caught up in the 'Wars of the Roses'. These women are Elizabeth Woodville the wife of King Edward IV, Margeret Beaufort the mother of Henry Tudor (who we know as Henry VII), and Anne Neville the wife of Richard III. Gregory's novels bring to light the lives of these women who were key players in the Wars of the Roses, although their war 'would not be won on the battlefield.'

The series begins with Edward IV meeting Elizabeth Woodville, and ends with Henry Tudor's victory at the Battle of Bosworth. This covers the power struggle between the house of York and house of Lancaster, as well as the mystery of the Princes in the tower, all this intertwined with the stories of relationships. Amanda Hale (Margeret Beaufort) and James Frain (Lord Warwick)stand out for me as the stars acting wise.

Yes the series can be criticised, for example some scenes looked obviously low budget, and it also seems 'unfair' for want of a better word that the UK gets the edited version unlike the USA. The DVD itself does not have subtitles which would be a massive bummer for some (I can't understand how and why a BBC series in 2013 does not have this....) and it would have been good if there were more bonus features. Nevertheless I enjoyed the series and it is ideal sunday night television. This is a must for historical fiction fans, or if you are interested in history in general and want to see what this is all about. It has encouraged people to research more about the period which can only be a good thing. I wish there were more programmes on tv like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of historical inaccuracies but still rivetting., 11 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The White Queen [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all historical movie buffs is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
This was definitely not a good time period in which to be a woman, but this lot certainly made the best of it. Britain's famous War of the Roses, a long struggle between the houses of York and Lancaster for the throne of England, reads somewhat like a football game with a crown substituted for the ball.

But this reboot, based on the spectacular books by Philippa Gregory, eschews most of the bits known to the modern audience courtesy of Shakespeare's plays and instead focuses on the women involved. This puts a whole different spin on everything and is probably a good deal more accurate. After all, history is largely written by the winners and Shakespeare was writing under a Tudor monarch, so it follows that perhaps his version of events might be a trifle suspect.

The timing of this mini-series coincides with the the archaeological find of Richard III's remains at Greyfriars Church, lending further relevance to the modern audience. They say truth is stranger than fiction and this complicated story about a tumultuous time period in England's history certainly backs that up.

The production values for this series are stupendous, filmed largely in Belgium where lots of authentic architecture from the period still stands. Gorgeous costumes, elaborate sets, intricate jewelry and stunning locations make the whole thing come to life in lavish detail.

The casting is top notch and my personal favorite is Aneurin Barnard playing Richard of York as handsome and thoughtful, a far cry from the villainous hunchback of legend. Because this series focuses on women, their marriages and children, it does include a fair amount of sexual stuff, so be prepared for bosoms and backsides. True, there was very little suspense as history classes inadvertently provided spoilers, but it was still richly entertaining. Enthralling and gripping, I binge watched the whole thing in two days and would love to see more of Gregory's books adapted for television
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wars of the Roses, through the eyes of the women, 8 Feb. 2015
The White Queen is a British 10-part television series based on the historical novel series The Cousin's War by the award winning British writer Philippa Gregory. It is the story of the struggle for the throne of England between two rival royal factions, the house of Lancaster and the house of York, in the Wars of the Roses between 1455 and 1487, as seen through the eyes of the female characters Elizabeth Woodville, The White Queen (Rebecca Ferguson), Margaret Beaufort, The Red Queen (Amanda Hale), & Anne Neville, The Kingmaker's Daughter (Faye Marsay).

The film is engrossing, with beautiful cinematography and excellent acting. The plot is fast moving, full of political intrigue and family feud with grave consequences. There are some criticisms of historical inaccuracies of the scenery, stage sets, and the chronology of events. To avoid confusing fictions with facts, the viewers should remember that the film is a historical novel, not a history documentary (See my comment below). Two versions were made. The BBC version, first aired on June 2013 in the UK, is more conservative, followed by the steamy Starz version, aired in the US on August 2013. This Region 1 DVD is the Starz version, with male and female nudity, explicit sex acts, and graphic childbirth footage. So parents beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 70 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good drama, shoddy dvd, 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Queen [DVD] (DVD)
This series is a decent historical drama, a sort of prequel to the Tudors, with less violence.

It covers a long period in the lives of the main characters, but the producers have chosen not to indicate the passing of the time in any way, which leads to some confusion (of two women aged twenty something, which one is supposed to be the lady mother?) and, I can only assume unintended, humour (two agile radiant youths lying in bed telling each other 'we are not young anymore'). Therefore it is sometimes difficult to see how much time is supposed to have passed.

Many have commented on too much magic present in the series - Elizabeth's mother has been tried for witchcraft and the contemporaries believed Elizabeth herself to be a witch too. I don't think the magic is bad - we see things happening, like storms, after some curses have been cast, but it is up to us to believe that the curses may actually have caused the storms. There is a nice parallalel to Elizabeth's magic in Margaret's religious devotion, she too is very involved with higher powers, always on the lookout for signs and miracles. And she too interprets the events as being divinely directed.

The dvd itself - a disaster. There are no subtitles - as if this was a 40 year old production only recently restored and nobody bothered with subtitling it. There is almost nothing to choose in the menus: there is no scene selection! You may just select an episode. And, as an extra bonus, of the four dvds, three force you to watch commercials (yes, and no way can you choose the menu directly!), which I find the cheapest trick, since this is no bonus dvd delivered with a morning paper for and extra pound, this is a relatively expensive, brand new box-set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth the white queen, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most brilliantly written have read it twice the detail of Elizabeth is so good just love this era especially after watching the series on tv brilliant production
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NO SUBTITLES!!!!, 26 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The White Queen [DVD] (DVD)
I got this DVD for Xmas and have only just got round to watching it. I am so ANGRY that there are no subtitles!!! I am deaf and was looking forward to this very much, as I know that when this was shown on TV, it HAD subtitles!! I feel conned....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles for HOH, 4 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The White Queen [DVD] (DVD)
When I watched this on the TV (with subtitles) I loved it, and was so excited to get for my birthday. Imagine how gutted I was when I put it on and discovered there was no subtitles for the deaf and HOH. How can a dvd in this day and age not have subtitles? Sadly, I have to stick to the books, even though this is one adaptation I really enjoyed! Really disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoying this, 23 July 2013
By 
This review is from: The White Queen [DVD] (DVD)
We are on episode 6 here next week, I am thoroughly enjoying this tv series. Although I am not from the UK, I have great interest in reading about English history. I have read a few factual history books so I know this series doesn't follow the history exactly to the letter but I believe this story works for a tv series and is adapted very well considering three books are combined to make a ten part tv series. I believe that the actors are all perfect in their roles and I don't agree with other reviewers comments about wooden acting etc. Also I see negative comments about sets being too clean, too nice etc again I don't agree. I think the setting is fabulous and I believe they shot The White Queen in Bruges. I am not a nit picker I am enjoying it for exactly what it is, history fluffed up a bit for tv. If it gets more people interested in history, I'm all for it. Watch it, make your own mind up. Personally. I am loving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ed and Liz, 13 Sept. 2013
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The White Queen [DVD] (DVD)
After a fairly dull start this series definitely warmed up and moved from a might-watch to a must-watch for me. Apart from James Frain as the conniving Lord Warwick, a lot of the cast, in particular Max Irons as Edward were too lightweight in my opinion. It was the plot that carried this along nicely with the dignified and determined commoner Elizabeth Woodville standing right behind her man whilst helping to fight off claims for his throne from all quarters. Some say she was a witch and the series did little to dispel this with her mother Jacquetta teaching her how to cast spells to see off her enemies. All rubbish of course but it added spice to the proceedings.

Those in the know cite the roles the women played in the machinations behind the throne and the battles for it and this was certainly well represented here with not only the White Queen herself but the obsessive and pious Lancastrian Margaret Beaufort refusing to give up her son Henry Tudor's birthright. Although often painful to watch, she filled the acting hole left by the death of Warwick (who confused matters somewhat having played Cromwell in the Tudors) and you found yourself respecting her tenacity and bravery when the odds were against her.

Overall, this was a watchable series (although not for the rather paltry battle scenes) and whilst the production values wouldn't stand up to The Tudors, if you enjoyed that series then The White Queen has a lot to offer also (7/10).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No SDH captioning, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Queen [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great series. Unfortunately, with no english subtitles or closed captioning it was very difficult for me to follow as I'm hearing impaired. Too bad and shame on the dvd producers who should know better.....
Jan C MacLennan-Kennedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The White Queen [DVD]
The White Queen [DVD] by James Kent (DVD - 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews