Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CREEPY ATMOSPHERIC TALE!!
This was a really welcome surprise. I picked this up on the strength of the sleeve & the story, as it sounded & looked like a half decent film. It was so much more than that. An excellent plot, really well directed keeping the tension building throughout, to a stunning finale. The cast all put in excellent performances & cannot be faulted.
These kind of films can be...
Published 9 months ago by BA

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry just didnt see what the bit deal was
The way some people were talking about this movie I was quite nervous. By the time it was over I was almost throwing it out the window. Il have a look at it again but there are some parts in it where I just cant believe that type of acting is even allowed these days. There were some good creepy bits in it but considering the amount of scary movies Iv seen in my life this...
Published 24 days ago by B. Appleby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CREEPY ATMOSPHERIC TALE!!, 3 July 2013
By 
BA (South East) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
This was a really welcome surprise. I picked this up on the strength of the sleeve & the story, as it sounded & looked like a half decent film. It was so much more than that. An excellent plot, really well directed keeping the tension building throughout, to a stunning finale. The cast all put in excellent performances & cannot be faulted.
These kind of films can be a bit of let down but I cannot recommend this enough, well worth a watch 5 stars !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry just didnt see what the bit deal was, 24 Mar 2014
By 
B. Appleby "snooze" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
The way some people were talking about this movie I was quite nervous. By the time it was over I was almost throwing it out the window. Il have a look at it again but there are some parts in it where I just cant believe that type of acting is even allowed these days. There were some good creepy bits in it but considering the amount of scary movies Iv seen in my life this movie was child's play. I thought it relied too much on gore, especially at the end and start which has never frightened me ever...EVER.

sorry just not good enough for me. If you want a good scare watch the conjuring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
If you like spooky movies this is definitely worth a watch and I would say its at least on par with the other spooky films out there and definitely better than the Paranormal Activity films which are just laughable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious horror with very few shocks, 7 April 2014
By 
Joanne Sheppard "Being Obscure Clearly" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
Dead Souls has a vaguely promising premise: a baby born into an isolated family with their own religious cult escapes sacrifice and then, in his late teens, inherits the house in which the massacre happened.

Unfortunately, all promise ends there. The plot becomes largely nonsensical very early on. There are very few actual scares. A pointless love interest in the form of an irritating runaway girl is introduced. The acting is terrible, the script is worse, there is absolutely no atmosphere at all, and it's impossible to make any emotional investment in the characters. I only paid about three quid for this, but it wasn't even worth that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than the conjuring, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
this is a real gem i found on amazon,if the conjuring bored you like it did me then this is for YOU" the first 10 min's is enough to make you watch the rest of the film&it's got real crows in the film not like the conjuring Again,spooky is wen it looks a bit more real too enjoy i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful.., 15 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
If I could choose lower than one star I would! I don't know what film the other reviewers were watching but it can't have been the same one!

The story itself could have been saved but the acting was that poor it ruined the whole thing.

Please, please, please do not waste your money on this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars film, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
Had some jumpy parts but overall was pathetic. Wasn't much to it and the story line wasn't the greatest. I'm scared of nearly every horror but this just wasn't scary at all. Would not recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking film!, 20 July 2013
By 
Harry Hancock (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely crap. This is the worst horror film i have ever bought and seen. If anybody thinks this film is scary they need their head looking at, it's about as scary as The Muppets.

Don't buy, waste of money and load of crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead in every context., 1 April 2014
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
Houston, have we a big problem now and it's not going away, it's infected a whole cross-generation of movie fans and critics alike, who've now becoming dumb and numb to the notion that a lavishly illustrated cover, provocatively suggestive title, cynical marketing spin and a desperate need for a so-called reality that they'd hate to experience, yet be so glad it could happen, means a horror film, when really it just means a "horror" film of today, and the only horror there is in that, so damn often, is what smart viewers would feel when they realise that's exactly what's missing. I know, I feel it so often, wading through these things at the rate a mouse's pulse beats a minute, burned each time, until I've generally worked out some way to avoid them, but in a horror marketplace as seemingly destitute as a Tory promise of decency, and with the will to find something, anything even halfway authentic with a pass rate, I continue to wade about in the hope something has to bite, after all, horror's not dead, it's just in extremely ill-fitting clothing at the wrong extended fashion show.

Many of these awful fakes I speak of hit cinema screens and stores with the horrible unrelenting buzz of a locust swarm without the locusts, an uncanny knack of chutzpah, indifference, plus astoundingly unwavering critical duress turning them into the monster-free monster hits they've no right to be-'Eden Lake', 'Paranormal Activity', 'The Last Exorcism', 'Sinister', 'Them', and 'Silent House' among them, often having copious sequels to make things even worse, but there are other no-budget cheapies that have so little to aim for, that they don't even take any, beyond getting the perfect cover design, horror-sounding title and flat out descriptive deception for the summary, and 'Dead Souls' is proudly one of these days, a piece of pitiful, insulting, soul-sucking blemish on a plastic toy camera lens that seems to proudly convey it was shot with one, when a cannon being shot at it would have had far more constructive effect, I mean is it really too much to even ask if just one fundamental horror ingredient be present, perhaps the most basic, like a slight fear inducement, but for a film like 'Dead Souls', a latent example of how no low is ever quite low enough, such a supreme effort to compromise ineffectual austerity and supreme nothing for a grasp beyond a clearly set limit may have paralysed the entire non-enterprise, for which we can never be grateful.

In an utter acting non-show, Jesse James hits a huge bum note after the on-track 'The Amityville Horror' reboot that outclassed the turgid original by starring as a boy inheriting a farm house from a brutal old preacher father who adopted him, with Noah Fleiss from 'Brick' and another weak horror 'Dead Girl' sorely stretching himself past snapping point as a local bully, a register-free girl no one knows playing a twee love interest to a boy she's just met a minute ago, and worst of all, Bill Moseley in undoubtedly his most thankless role ever. The camera shots couldn't rival a routine parent's recording of their young child's birthday if it tried, the film is ugly to look at, style, class, pacing and suspense are concepts apparently never even heard of, never mind considered, it's more washed-out looking and duller than sallow tallow burned into rust, with an iota of screenwriting only glimpsed through the battered lens of a thousand other better (even if bad) actual horror movies, and lastly, with not even the most modest but necessary special effect or even make-up attempt on show, this diabolical excuse of plastic is a rotten amendment to landfill sites everywhere, and is likely the only place it now resides, but space would be better, seeing as it wastes it so well, as have you, if you've even thought of parting with spare change, trust me, that spare change is far more valuable, and I say this as a huge horror lover. A mistake is a mistake, but enough about all involved, so was turning the camera on.

All you get for your money is a lovely, if highly suspect cover that would suit any horror novel, even a fantasy gamebook, as this tasteless, bothersome trash of utter incapability has only that to recommend it, and beware also of even more dubious quotes from laughable magazines as you should the product description of it, because two polar opposites have never been so freezing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful dont bother, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
This was a boring dragged out film should be classed as a thriller and never a horror film,Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb46d6e04)

This product

Dead Souls [DVD]
Dead Souls [DVD] by Colin Theys (DVD - 2013)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews