Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CREEPY ATMOSPHERIC TALE!!
This was a really welcome surprise. I picked this up on the strength of the sleeve & the story, as it sounded & looked like a half decent film. It was so much more than that. An excellent plot, really well directed keeping the tension building throughout, to a stunning finale. The cast all put in excellent performances & cannot be faulted.
These kind of films can be...
Published 20 months ago by BA

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Reasonably Entertaining, Slow Burning Horror Flick
A middle aged pastor who owns a big farm in Maine, New England, and who has an unhealthy obsession with the Egyptian god Osiris, brutally slays his wife and two teenage children, before crucifying himself. His baby son Johnny survives the family massacre.
Eighteen years later, Johnny inherits the 150 acre farm, and very much against the wishes of his adoptive mother,...
Published 13 days ago by William Mason


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Reasonably Entertaining, Slow Burning Horror Flick, 15 Feb. 2015
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
A middle aged pastor who owns a big farm in Maine, New England, and who has an unhealthy obsession with the Egyptian god Osiris, brutally slays his wife and two teenage children, before crucifying himself. His baby son Johnny survives the family massacre.
Eighteen years later, Johnny inherits the 150 acre farm, and very much against the wishes of his adoptive mother, he moves back into the ancestral property. He immediately discovers a squatter in residence, a very pretty teenage girl named Emma, and before long they become romantically involved.
Johnny then slowly unearths the tragic history of his family, and as time passes, disturbing events start to take place in the farmhouse and the creepy looking Dutch barn next door...
This is a reasonably effective, slow burner ghost story. The two young lead actors give solid and likeable performances and they have strong chemistry together. The sinister history of the family, and the malevolent prescence lurking in the house, is revealed unhurriedly but engagingly. There were a few skilfully played shocks which had the effect of startling me, which is always a good sign of a creepily effective ghost story. This movie is not quite as good as stand out ghost chillers like The Conjuring, The Orphanage, The Devil's Backbone and The Shining, but it's still enjoyable and worth watching - The Conjuring [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free], Orphanage [Blu-ray], The Devil's Backbone - Special Edition [Blu-ray], The Shining [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [1980] [Region Free]. All in all, I'd rate this film at 3.5 stars.
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CREEPY ATMOSPHERIC TALE!!, 3 July 2013
By 
BA (South East) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
This was a really welcome surprise. I picked this up on the strength of the sleeve & the story, as it sounded & looked like a half decent film. It was so much more than that. An excellent plot, really well directed keeping the tension building throughout, to a stunning finale. The cast all put in excellent performances & cannot be faulted.
These kind of films can be a bit of let down but I cannot recommend this enough, well worth a watch 5 stars !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars needs a coat of paint, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
in this film a priest linking the Egyptian god Osiris to god makes a circle on the floor where his wife ,eldest daughter younger son give blood not knowing they are to be crucified that night,so out of fright the you boy hides the baby brother to save its life as his sister mother and then he are killed and crucified,even the priest trying to crucify himself,as the years go by a teenage boy receives a phone call from a solicitor telling him,he has been left a house and barn and 150 acres of land for farming,so the curiouse boy goes to stay,then while there a squatter gets in and she and he get talking as the house is to be sold the next day,now the ghosts of his real family come back to haunt him to finish the ritual, can he survive,,,,a great film get it and see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, dull dull, 16 Nov. 2014
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
Goodness me this was rubbish. Awful story, lamentable acting, I don't think there was a single deviation in emotion or expression whatever the scenario from any of the cast. Every event was met with the same dumb bewildered faraway look.
There's no scares here; no thrills, no innovation, no interest. Every other scene featured the same thing, person in foreground gazing into space whilst in the background there's a flash of a person walking past across the screen, or a shadow falling near them. No worries though, the two leads were too dumb to notice; this was just a respun and rehashed treat for the viewer.
An okay beginning to establish the story before descending into a boring mess. Some violence but it's still mystifying how it's an 18 cert.. No extras on the disc to stay consistent with the no substance approach to film making
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror Within, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
This one I have just finished watching and really enjoyed as to the concept of the story and the cast doing a fabulous job making it so real. A family are massacred by the husband and father, only one survives a baby who was hidden in a cabinet drawer, sound interesting so far, now to carry on 17 years later a letter arrives telling this young man of his inheritance and informs him he was adopted when he was a baby. He decides to see this place and upon him arriving some young men front him up and tell him to go back where he is from, not taking the good advice he carries on with his quest. I'll would listen to them but it's to late now as the fun is about to begin. Now I rated this an A grade plus as the cast did a fabulous job keeping the movie on the go and the story is great. Now there is a lot more but while spoil the show for you, time for the film and popcorn so its getting close to relaxing now find your favourite chair swing your feet around to the front don't bother putting them up it will be a waste of time. Marvellous entertainment full on suspense. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 out of 5, 3 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
Good story to it and quite creepy, I'd genuinely give it a 4 out of 5 the reason I've gave it 5 is because there's unfair reviews on here that's marked it down for no reason. If u like ghost stories with a good plot it's a very decent watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead in every context., 1 April 2014
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
Houston, have we a big problem now and it's not going away, it's infected a whole cross-generation of movie fans and critics alike, who've now becoming dumb and numb to the notion that a lavishly illustrated cover, provocatively suggestive title, cynical marketing spin and a desperate need for a so-called reality that they'd hate to experience, yet be so glad it could happen, means a horror film, when really it just means a "horror" film of today, and the only horror there is in that, so damn often, is what smart viewers would feel when they realise that's exactly what's missing. I know, I feel it so often, wading through these things at the rate a mouse's pulse beats a minute, burned each time, until I've generally worked out some way to avoid them, but in a horror marketplace as seemingly destitute as a Tory promise of decency, and with the will to find something, anything even halfway authentic with a pass rate, I continue to wade about in the hope something has to bite, after all, horror's not dead, it's just in extremely ill-fitting clothing at the wrong extended fashion show.

Many of these awful fakes I speak of hit cinema screens and stores with the horrible unrelenting buzz of a locust swarm without the locusts, an uncanny knack of chutzpah, indifference, plus astoundingly unwavering critical duress turning them into the monster-free monster hits they've no right to be-'Eden Lake', 'Paranormal Activity', 'The Last Exorcism', 'Sinister', 'Them', and 'Silent House' among them, often having copious sequels to make things even worse, but there are other no-budget cheapies that have so little to aim for, that they don't even take any, beyond getting the perfect cover design, horror-sounding title and flat out descriptive deception for the summary, and 'Dead Souls' is proudly one of these days, a piece of pitiful, insulting, soul-sucking blemish on a plastic toy camera lens that seems to proudly convey it was shot with one, when a cannon being shot at it would have had far more constructive effect, I mean is it really too much to even ask if just one fundamental horror ingredient be present, perhaps the most basic, like a slight fear inducement, but for a film like 'Dead Souls', a latent example of how no low is ever quite low enough, such a supreme effort to compromise ineffectual austerity and supreme nothing for a grasp beyond a clearly set limit may have paralysed the entire non-enterprise, for which we can never be grateful.

In an utter acting non-show, Jesse James hits a huge bum note after the on-track 'The Amityville Horror' reboot that outclassed the turgid original by starring as a boy inheriting a farm house from a brutal old preacher father who adopted him, with Noah Fleiss from 'Brick' and another weak horror 'Dead Girl' sorely stretching himself past snapping point as a local bully, a register-free girl no one knows playing a twee love interest to a boy she's just met a minute ago, and worst of all, Bill Moseley in undoubtedly his most thankless role ever. The camera shots couldn't rival a routine parent's recording of their young child's birthday if it tried, the film is ugly to look at, style, class, pacing and suspense are concepts apparently never even heard of, never mind considered, it's more washed-out looking and duller than sallow tallow burned into rust, with an iota of screenwriting only glimpsed through the battered lens of a thousand other better (even if bad) actual horror movies, and lastly, with not even the most modest but necessary special effect or even make-up attempt on show, this diabolical excuse of plastic is a rotten amendment to landfill sites everywhere, and is likely the only place it now resides, but space would be better, seeing as it wastes it so well, as have you, if you've even thought of parting with spare change, trust me, that spare change is far more valuable, and I say this as a huge horror lover. A mistake is a mistake, but enough about all involved, so was turning the camera on.

All you get for your money is a lovely, if highly suspect cover that would suit any horror novel, even a fantasy gamebook, as this tasteless, bothersome trash of utter incapability has only that to recommend it, and beware also of even more dubious quotes from laughable magazines as you should the product description of it, because two polar opposites have never been so freezing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like horror films and some films just don't do it ..., 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
I like horror films and some films just don't do it for me as the story lines are so predictable but this film I thought was great. I loved the storyline and the acting wasn't bad either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry just didnt see what the bit deal was, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
The way some people were talking about this movie I was quite nervous. By the time it was over I was almost throwing it out the window. Il have a look at it again but there are some parts in it where I just cant believe that type of acting is even allowed these days. There were some good creepy bits in it but considering the amount of scary movies Iv seen in my life this movie was child's play. I thought it relied too much on gore, especially at the end and start which has never frightened me ever...EVER.

sorry just not good enough for me. If you want a good scare watch the conjuring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
ok film just not scary enough for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Souls [DVD]
Dead Souls [DVD] by Colin Theys (DVD - 2013)
£6.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews