Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars needs a coat of paint
in this film a priest linking the Egyptian god Osiris to god makes a circle on the floor where his wife ,eldest daughter younger son give blood not knowing they are to be crucified that night,so out of fright the you boy hides the baby brother to save its life as his sister mother and then he are killed and crucified,even the priest trying to crucify himself,as the years...
Published 4 months ago by D.W.hattermann

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, dull dull
Goodness me this was rubbish. Awful story, lamentable acting, I don't think there was a single deviation in emotion or expression whatever the scenario from any of the cast. Every event was met with the same dumb bewildered faraway look.
There's no scares here; no thrills, no innovation, no interest. Every other scene featured the same thing, person in foreground...
Published 10 days ago by All of them Witches


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars needs a coat of paint, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
in this film a priest linking the Egyptian god Osiris to god makes a circle on the floor where his wife ,eldest daughter younger son give blood not knowing they are to be crucified that night,so out of fright the you boy hides the baby brother to save its life as his sister mother and then he are killed and crucified,even the priest trying to crucify himself,as the years go by a teenage boy receives a phone call from a solicitor telling him,he has been left a house and barn and 150 acres of land for farming,so the curiouse boy goes to stay,then while there a squatter gets in and she and he get talking as the house is to be sold the next day,now the ghosts of his real family come back to haunt him to finish the ritual, can he survive,,,,a great film get it and see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horror Within, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
This one I have just finished watching and really enjoyed as to the concept of the story and the cast doing a fabulous job making it so real. A family are massacred by the husband and father, only one survives a baby who was hidden in a cabinet drawer, sound interesting so far, now to carry on 17 years later a letter arrives telling this young man of his inheritance and informs him he was adopted when he was a baby. He decides to see this place and upon him arriving some young men front him up and tell him to go back where he is from, not taking the good advice he carries on with his quest. I'll would listen to them but it's to late now as the fun is about to begin. Now I rated this an A grade plus as the cast did a fabulous job keeping the movie on the go and the story is great. Now there is a lot more but while spoil the show for you, time for the film and popcorn so its getting close to relaxing now find your favourite chair swing your feet around to the front don't bother putting them up it will be a waste of time. Marvellous entertainment full on suspense. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CREEPY ATMOSPHERIC TALE!!, 3 July 2013
By 
BA (South East) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
This was a really welcome surprise. I picked this up on the strength of the sleeve & the story, as it sounded & looked like a half decent film. It was so much more than that. An excellent plot, really well directed keeping the tension building throughout, to a stunning finale. The cast all put in excellent performances & cannot be faulted.
These kind of films can be a bit of let down but I cannot recommend this enough, well worth a watch 5 stars !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, dull dull, 16 Nov 2014
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
Goodness me this was rubbish. Awful story, lamentable acting, I don't think there was a single deviation in emotion or expression whatever the scenario from any of the cast. Every event was met with the same dumb bewildered faraway look.
There's no scares here; no thrills, no innovation, no interest. Every other scene featured the same thing, person in foreground gazing into space whilst in the background there's a flash of a person walking past across the screen, or a shadow falling near them. No worries though, the two leads were too dumb to notice; this was just a respun and rehashed treat for the viewer.
An okay beginning to establish the story before descending into a boring mess. Some violence but it's still mystifying how it's an 18 cert.. No extras on the disc to stay consistent with the no substance approach to film making
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars my advice is not to bother, 20 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
Another rubbish,garbage dvd.Another totally unbelievable story and another dvd we wished we hadn't bought.A man kills his family with just a baby as a survivor,rescued before he could be found and sacrificed.Guess what?When the kid at the age of 18 becomes the only person to inherit the farmhouse where it all happened,off he goes to start the' inheritance ball' rolling.Lets face it----if you were confronted by a load of creepy,weird happenings as soon as you arrived in a place,what would you do as a sane rational person???YES THATS RIGHT!!Decide to stay all night long,by yourself!!! Of course----well,no .Cant recommend.And why do these things always occur in an,isolated building?!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry just didnt see what the bit deal was, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
The way some people were talking about this movie I was quite nervous. By the time it was over I was almost throwing it out the window. Il have a look at it again but there are some parts in it where I just cant believe that type of acting is even allowed these days. There were some good creepy bits in it but considering the amount of scary movies Iv seen in my life this movie was child's play. I thought it relied too much on gore, especially at the end and start which has never frightened me ever...EVER.

sorry just not good enough for me. If you want a good scare watch the conjuring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 4 out of 5, 3 Aug 2014
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
Good story to it and quite creepy, I'd genuinely give it a 4 out of 5 the reason I've gave it 5 is because there's unfair reviews on here that's marked it down for no reason. If u like ghost stories with a good plot it's a very decent watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like horror films and some films just don't do it ..., 21 Oct 2014
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
I like horror films and some films just don't do it for me as the story lines are so predictable but this film I thought was great. I loved the storyline and the acting wasn't bad either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good creepy fun, 24 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. F. P. Moon (Hull, East Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Souls (DVD)
Not a bad little movie. It ticks all the usual boxes and threw in a couple of new ideas and kinda ended how I guessed it would. A great movie for switching off to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious horror with very few shocks, 7 April 2014
By 
Joanne Sheppard (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Souls [DVD] (DVD)
Dead Souls has a vaguely promising premise: a baby born into an isolated family with their own religious cult escapes sacrifice and then, in his late teens, inherits the house in which the massacre happened.

Unfortunately, all promise ends there. The plot becomes largely nonsensical very early on. There are very few actual scares. A pointless love interest in the form of an irritating runaway girl is introduced. The acting is terrible, the script is worse, there is absolutely no atmosphere at all, and it's impossible to make any emotional investment in the characters. I only paid about three quid for this, but it wasn't even worth that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Souls [DVD]
Dead Souls [DVD] by Colin Theys (DVD - 2013)
£2.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews