Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game from Ubisoft once again!
I am a huge fan of the Assassins Creed franchise and have purchased all of their games, completing each one in their entirety. Black Flag has certainly added to the franchise with a much larger map and the alternative plain of the Caribbean seas for your assassin to master. The changing climate and varying size/ability of foes on the sea creates a more enjoyable arena...
Published 21 months ago by DTW

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A step too far
I am sure that Black Flag is a good game really. Unfortunately, the frame rate on the PS3 version is awful which really detracts from the experience. I wouldn't bother with it had I known.
Published 17 months ago by Daltone


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game from Ubisoft once again!, 4 Nov. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (PS3) (Video Game)
I am a huge fan of the Assassins Creed franchise and have purchased all of their games, completing each one in their entirety. Black Flag has certainly added to the franchise with a much larger map and the alternative plain of the Caribbean seas for your assassin to master. The changing climate and varying size/ability of foes on the sea creates a more enjoyable arena than the frontier of Assassins Creed 3.

The storey line has the usual twist and turns to capture audiences, but I have yet to complete the storey as I have been distracted by hidden coves and treasure chests on the various islands I have stopped at. There also seems to be a wider range of side missions compared to other AC games.

Fighting style is unique in comparison to other assassins as Edward has a more swashbuckling cavalier approach which makes him similar to Connor in his unorthodox movements. The duel pistols and swords works really well, allowing you to create some excellent fighting cinematics.

As to be expected from Ubisoft - another great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Return To Form For The Creed, 6 Nov. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (PS3) (Video Game)
Avast ye scurvy land lubbing matey dogs, etc, etc.... If this game doesn't leave you talking like a pirate I don't know what would!

Assassin's Creed IV transports you into the world of 18th century pirates with a cast of colourful characters, stunning graphics and engaging game play. There have been a succession of rubbish pirate games released on the PS3 but finally here is one that really nails the whole genre and beats all competition hands down.

Having played through the whole series I was hugely dissapointed by Assassin's Creed III which seemed an ill conceived, poorly researched game, full of graphics bugs and a very restrictive campaign. It seems like Ubisoft have taken note of these failings and improved on them in every way. So much attention is paid to consumer critisicm that this new game comes with an option to vote for what you think of each chapter - presumably with further game improvements in mind.

In Assassin's Creed IV you play Edward Kenway, a novice pirate who learns the trade from the ground up. His connection to the Assassin's of previous games is tenuous, but this gives the game a fresh new feel. For the first time you are out for yourself, aiming to make your fortune on the high seas. More so even than any earlier game in the series this feels like a roleplaying game with a great deal of options as to how you want to play it.

The basic gameplay remains similar to earlier games with your character sneaking about in undergrowth and over rooftops, killing enemies by stealth or in open sword play. There are the usual collectables as well as many practical rewards to be found exploring the massively detailed and expansive environments. You also get to sail pirate ships, battle other ships and earn money to buy better equipment and upgrades. Shops sell a selection of weapons and for the first time a choice of clothing so you can equip your character as you want. The game also includes crafting rules to allow you to modify and adapt your equipment even further.

The environment you get to explore is simply stunning. There are numerous islands and towns to explore, all full of colourful characters going about their business, making the world look and feel alive. Its like stepping onto the set of "Pirates of the Carribean" and the next best thing to a time machine. Simply exploring and interacting with the world should keep anyone entertained for hours.

The main plot though provides an engaging story to keep you involved and introduce you to the world of pirates. Bit by bit the plot develops and you are shown how to fight, how to sail a ship and ideally how to make your fortune. All the scripting is first class and extremely entertaining. I was especially pleased to find the main character is Welsh, which makes a refreshing change from the usual American accents you get in games.

The whole Desmond Miles plot has thankfully finished which again gives AC IV the feel of a new begining. There is however still a plot taking place in the present (or the near future) which is similar. So far in what I've played though this plot is less intrusive than the Desmond Miles story and doesn't interrupt the flow of the main story as much. I wish Ubisoft would realise that most people given the choice would prefer to play in this fantastic historical setting they have created than wander around a modern day office playing detective. Still, at least the animus plot gives an excuse for this great series to keep on going!

In addition to the single player game there is also a multiplayer option which has been greatly expanded and developed. These games involve you choosing from a selection of characters and trying to assassinate other players while remaining undetected yourself. Unfortunately though Ubisoft have been tempted by the lure of easy money to be made from multiplayer games and any of the numerous upgrades you can obtain from in game experience can also be bought with cold hard real life cash. This means that within a very short time of the games release you can find yourself matched against opponents with all the best upgrades courtesy of a generous bank account. These are not just cosmetic changes either, buying upgrades can make your character much more powerful than others with weapons and skills it would otherwise take months of play to obtain. To me this makes the multiplayer a lot less appealing than it should be, and I'm dissapointed in Ubisoft for such an obvious money making scheme.

Despite this criticism of the multiplayer game though the single player game in Assassin's Creed IV is still worth 5 stars. It is an experience unlike any other where the size of the world and the quality of the action is still somehow realised with such detailed graphics it takes your breath away. Even if you have never played any of the Assassin's Creed games before this is the ideal place to start. The fact that it is part of a series takes second place to the sheer fun and enjoyment of playing a pirate in such a detailed and interesting world. This is probably the best Assassin's Creed game yet and one that suggests there is plenty of life still left in the series. I highly reccomend anyone with a PS3 to give this game a try, and if you don't like it........ I'll make ye walk the plank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good game play and great environment, some bugs inherant though., 19 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (PS3) (Video Game)
Well this is my first play of an Assassins Creed title, as, saw it on a new Gaming TV channel , being reviewed. I did use to own a 3D model French galleon of 40 guns, and my own pirate gang called "The Pearls", in Second life. This was bought really for Christmas 2014, but decided to give it a go to see it was alright :D hehe

So also being a Cptn Jack Sparrow fan, I liked the look of the game, and its many facets, from stalking guards in undergrowth, to sailing the high seas, hiring crew, and of course making booty.

In reality, for a beginner to Assassins Creed, controlling the character effectively, takes some practice, as to my mind a few wierd actions stick out like a sore thumb. When Running after a target, the character, is hard to keep just running on the ground, as he will often, just climb a porch or wall, when you want to run on the ground, I found this very frustrating, and changed tactics a bit, by using roof tops to keep sight of target, instead of using all sprints. I came upon my first bug early on, which was very disappointing, it concerns the first time you arrive in Havana, and your supposed to get to a church spire, and do something called "Synch", well I got to the top of spire, not realizing it was actually the wooden ledge that stuck out a bit, so I fell off. However, on trying to climb back up the church front again, I couldnt , other parts of scene were covered in mist saying memory not available, I tried all sorts of ways to get back to top of church, but the climb feature had disappeared. The only way to try again, was to restart the whole game all over again. The second time. It went normally, found the ledge, and did the synch, and so far so good. Got to Nassau now, where Im recruiting and saving pirates, but unable to upgrade the jackdaw yet, the quartermaster keeps saying I only deal with captains??? Just hope no more bugs appear, as I wont go back to the beginning again. The game play is good, enemy's react well, The red alert and yellow alert icons are quite realistic, in as much as enemies do much as you would expect in real life. I found hiring a mottley crew of drunkards to help out, was a good way to beat down larger groups of enemy soldiers, as is hiring the dancing girls. but most fun for me, was playing droughts (checkers) in the tavern. I happen to have played this since I was 13, I cant play chess, but I can certainly bet the full amount, on droughts and clean the board & money. Im only in a little way so far, but love the turtles, the cats and hens you can feed, but then next , your spotted, and have to decide to run or fight. Upgrades are fun from the merchants and the loot is interesting. I dont know about the multi-player side, as the PS3 is no longer connected to the Internet, so I dont do multi player missions like I used to now. Pity about some bugs at the beginning, I just hope theres no more, as cant patch this game at all, overall, great game so far, rich environments and interactions take up a lot of time, so a couple of hours will fly by!! beware Addictive if you like Pirating and the high seas. may give edit as time goes by...recommended, but watch for some bugs?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was not as I anticipated... in a good way, 5 Dec. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (PS3) (Video Game)
I was not looking forward to playing this game as much as I should have. I loved all the games, attempted the platinum trophy on each - yet this one, this was the genre I was not looking, well, /excited for/, as much as the others. For example, when 3 came out (which I believe was not as bad as everyone stated it to be) I was absolutely full of ecstasy which seemed to inspire me moreover than even my favourite game of all time, Skyrim.

Assassin's Creed IV, however, pirates, pillaging, ships, and the like... I was disliking without even playing.

Was it the low advertisement? Was it the fact it was pirates? Not sure. But I purchased it out of dedication for the flattening series, and I have to say.. I'm addicted!

The ships and pillaging were by far the best aspect. What was once fairly executed in AC3 was flawlessly chopped through by Black Flag. The speaking animation is synchronized to the voice-actors unlike the awkward pauses inbetween conversations within the American-delved setting of AC3. I find the relationships between characters perfectly presented, for example Kenway and his crew, and the Jackdaw upgrading system is alright too.

Best bit: The optional objectives are a lot more forgiving and they stack, so if you are a trophy-hunter like myself and want to achieve that malicious 100% mission constraint trophy, you won't be with too much trouble here and have to restart memory too often. There has been a moment of grinding though!

One problem with the game is.. well not much - Chase sequences: good. Eavesdropping: Greatly improved. Tensity: Casual. Combat: Hmm... perhaps the animation not as rewarding to watch as in previous games, but it's a minority to the epic and engrossing gameplay you will delve into if you buy this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two parts Pirate to one part Assassin, 12 Nov. 2013
By 
J. Bush (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (PS3) (Video Game)
It's a better assassin game than Assassin's Creed III, but then that isn't saying much. It's not as good as ACII, which is a shame. However Black Flag isn't just an assassin game, it's a pirate game. It is also perhaps the best pirate game I have ever played.

Edward Kenway doesn't have Ezio's charm, but he's infinitely more likeable than his grandson Connor. His motivations are relateable and easy to understand. His status as neither a Templar nor a true Assassin allows this game to cast those ancient orders as the more shadowy and back-ground forces they are suited to being. Edward is hastily and somewhat clumsily introduced to the ways of the Assassins, but this allows the game to open up much more quickly than previous installments which shows an appreciated respect for series veterans.

Running around and across cities, stealth and combat gameplay have all been subtly improved, and the overall experience is engaging and rewarding. Quick-travel options are more comprehensive and available immediately. However the game truly shines when you take to the seas aboard the Jackdaw, whether you are sieging a coastal fort, engaging in naval warfare, boarding ships to plunder their booty or just sailing the open seas looking for new lands while listening to your crew singing heartily, the nautical experience is thoroughly enjoyable.

If you are a fan of the series (whether or not you liked ACIII) or if you have a fondness for pirates, you won't go wrong in picking up this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game with lots to do., 12 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (PS3) (Video Game)
Assassins creed 4 black flag is a good game and is very addictive.
The look of the game is fantastic and is a carriage of large towns, small forests, old temples, and the open ocean.
Gameplay is in the typical assassins creed style which equates to holding r1 for most of the game. The chariots control works ok but has the occasions where it duos what you don't want it to i.e. run up a tree rather then jump to the branch your among the stick at or jumping on a chest rather than opening it. The under water sections are rather a pain to control.
The story is not to bad but the present day sections break up gameplay with stupid tasks that are nether fun nor interesting. The main story is good but the side activities are the real fun in this game. Such as taking over forts, battling ships, doing assassinations with restraint of extra cash, the game takes all the good from old games and improves it.
No load times for most the map apart from 4 or 5 locations that are large towns.

Overall the game was fun and interesting and is the best ac game I've played. It has its odd boring section such as the underwater sections and the present day sections. It also has a good few follow or Eves drop missions that can get boring . As a non ac fan I think this game is by far the best both looks and gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's play Pirates!, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (PS3) (Video Game)
Never played an Assassin's Creed game before, this was my first. I was hearing a lot of talk about how it kinda takes Sid Meier's Pirates and totally beefs it up and that's what first got me interested in it since i love that old classic.

As a game, it's great. Really well made. I went in for the Pirate stuff and came out loving everything else included. The setting of the early 18th century Caribbean was so well done here, with the old British and Spanish at it on land and sea with Edward (Main character) and others in the middle taking advantage and what not. The feel of the controls and gameplay in general are very good also here, sure there are the odd hiccups in the camera or you may scale a wall by accident or something, but there's nothing major to mark it down.

To talk about the sea battles, or just having your own ship to sail round and fly your flag, it's simply amazing fun. If this game were to be re-branded "Sid Meier's Pirates 3D", you'd certainly accept it for how close it comes to giving the atmosphere of what being a pirate should be like. Also the shanties that your crew on your ship sing while you're sailing around is a really nice touch they added to the game.

All in all, a very well made game. Worth every penny in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After AC3..., 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (PS3) (Video Game)
After AC3 kind of.. not disapointing as I loved it but... with so many bugs, and a too patriotic American message that I personally hated...

THIS my friends is the best AC of all the series! Revelations was awesome, really, but AC4, even though I was kind of doubting about all the sailing missions and so (as they were the ones I didn't liked in AC3) you just can't stop once you take the wheel!
The graphics are amazing, the textures sweet, the environment spectacular, the characters cool as f***, the sea experience unbelievable, the variety of the game-play intriguing and the OST motivating!

The only thing I would say against it, and personally I don't even think it's something negative, is that it looks easier than the previous ones (or maybe I've played so much I'm just too good for it =P). No, but jokes apart, this is one of the masterpieces on PS3!

Thank you Sony for giving us, PS3 homo sapiens, the change to play this game with the new PS4 already out...

Recomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strothards review, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a fantastic entry to the franchise of Assassins Creed. As a fan of the second game, Brotherhood and Revelations, I was disappointed at the reviews of AC3. It sounded like it was too bloated, badly paced, and hugely flawed, but overall had some nice ideas. When I saw the trailer to AC4, I thought it looked amazing. I loved the Pirate setting, and knew this would make a huge change to the dynamics to AC games. Lo and behold, AC4 is an awesome game and I recommend it highly to fans and semi fans (like myself) of AC games.

I gave it a four instead of a five, because as always with these games, they are truly immersive with the exception of constant 'puzzle piece collecting' which in my opinion takes away some of the role playing aspect. But as this is a constant flow across the AC games, perhaps my rating of four out of five is what I would personally rate all the top games in the series so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game, lots of depth and plenty to do, shame about the crazy controls, 16 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (PS3) (Video Game)
I do actually like the game - I have clocked up a lot of hours playing this, but I always become frustrated by the annoying controls. Really, there is no reason for the controls to be so bad - so many missions go wrong not because of me but because of the badly designed/executed control system. The team behind Drake's should have developed the control system for them - this would then easily be a 5 star game in my opinion. For me, unless I hear they have drastically reengineered the control system, I will not be buying another Assissin's Creed. Unfortunately, I don't feel able to complete this game as it is just too frustrating to play, though I do really enjoy the sea combat, the controls for this work well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (PS3)
Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (PS3) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews