Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DO YOUR THING CUZ
This is one of the weirdest, unexpected sequels since Halloween 3. The film opens with a quick flashback and picks up exactly where the last one leaves off. The police, along with some vigilantes torch the Sawyer house with the murdering cannibals inside. A little girl is saved and raised by one of the vigilantes. Now that she is grown, (Alexandra Daddario) Heather...
Published 11 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It reminds me of that old Star Wars quote...
"Who's the more foolish? The fool, or the fool who follows him?"

That's how I feel. I wonder who's more to blame - the film-makers, for making this awful movie, or me for being stupid enough to expect it to be okay.

Now, anyone who chooses to watch a film with words like `chainsaw' and `massacre' is its title should, hopefully, know what they're...
Published 22 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It reminds me of that old Star Wars quote..., 30 May 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Texas Chainsaw 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
"Who's the more foolish? The fool, or the fool who follows him?"

That's how I feel. I wonder who's more to blame - the film-makers, for making this awful movie, or me for being stupid enough to expect it to be okay.

Now, anyone who chooses to watch a film with words like `chainsaw' and `massacre' is its title should, hopefully, know what they're getting. We know it's never going to be high-art with deep, high-brow, Oscar-worthy performances. However, what we do hope is that it will at least be an entertaining entry into the `slasher' genre. The Texas Chainsaw 3D isn't.

First of all, actually quite liked Michael Bay's 2003 remake and even found something strangely enjoyable about the prequel `The Beginning' so my hopes were reasonably high for this. It's worth noting that it totally disregards both recent outings and goes straight back to the beginning, i.e. it's a direct sequel to the 1973 original. We see the aftermath of the first film, where angry locals destroy the cannibals' house, all but a young girl, who's saved. Now, this is where it gets confusing... the story picks up 20-odd years later when the girl is (clearly) in her early twenties, which, by my calculations, sets the film in about 1995. Yet the exact year (and we know this by the gravestones) is 2012, complete with iphones etc to prove it. Anyway, glossing over that plot inconsistency, we're treated to more of the same... only worse.

Considering this is based on the movie that some might argue `spawned' the entire slasher genre, it plays into every single cliché going. Seriously... in this day and age, where the premise of a couple having sex then dying horribly has been so widely lampooned, i.e. Scream and Cabin in the Woods, why are film-makers still using it?

Again, the clichés could be forgiven if you cared for the characters. You won't. But there could be some decent gore for us to enjoy? There isn't. The `gore' looks totally fake and completely CGI (you'll find better special effects on a made-for-TV movie). What about the story, does it add anything to the genre? Yes and No. It tries. However, everything `new' it comes up with is completely unbelievable and stupid. I won't spoil it for you as there are some things you may not expect to find in a movie like this. Sadly, they're all too far-fetched to be believable.

What could have been a decent attempt to make a sequel to a classic has fallen well short, due to bad special effects, no likeably characters and a completely idiotic story.

As they say in Scream 4 "Never mess with the original."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable if you want a confusing yet corny horror flick, 28 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Texas Chainsaw 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm truly shocked by the number of positive reviews of this film. I would only recommend it to someone that has never seen a TCM film before as to not be distracted by the plot flaws and inconsistencies with the original. It is extremely cheesy and I would suggest not to over-think the plot. However, I feel this film is worthy of 3 stars because of the artistic elements and visual effects are quite good.
*spoiler alert*
These are the following issues that made me dislike the film:
1. Unless set in the 90s, the central female character (Heather Miller) is far too young for the dates to tally up.
2. None of the characters/victims are likeable (which at least Biel managed to portray in the 2003 version remake).
3. Showcasing of Trey Songz who adds little to the plot (I also believe a song of his is in it).
4.Attempts to humanise a sadistic killer. Heather Miller unquestioningly forgives Leatherface for just killing all her friends in order to forge family bonds.
5. Corny moments: Heather suddenly turns psycho in the back of a police car, stabs the plexiglass with a knife and cackles "I'm a Sawyer!".Also, "Do your thing cuz!" then hands Leatherface his saw.

As I said above, the main positive thing is the visual effects. Leatherface's lair is also artistically amazing with a really good 2013 'modern' feel to it. If you have never seen TCM, go for it! I much prefer the original, the 2003 remake and the 2006 prequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DO YOUR THING CUZ, 14 April 2014
This review is from: Texas Chainsaw 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the weirdest, unexpected sequels since Halloween 3. The film opens with a quick flashback and picks up exactly where the last one leaves off. The police, along with some vigilantes torch the Sawyer house with the murdering cannibals inside. A little girl is saved and raised by one of the vigilantes. Now that she is grown, (Alexandra Daddario) Heather discovers she is adopted and the sole heir to the Sawyer plantation in Texas.

She travels there with 3 college mates and picks up a person along the way, because the unwritten code of a Texas Chainsaw movie is the hitchhiker/rider. As it turns out, she is not the only heir left and you come to sympathize with the cannibal with a chainsaw.

The film has its share of severed bodies, blood, and gore. The 3D action is climaxed with a chainsaw tossed at the camera. Remember this is a sequel. Keep the expectations low.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. Implied sex. No nudity. Tania Raymonde bra/panties. Alexandra Daddario open shirt cleavage...and how did her shirt become buttoned shut once it was ripped open?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sawyers should have had more prominence!, 4 Aug. 2013
By 
Ms. Patricia Young "Freakoddity" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Texas Chainsaw 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
I was disappointed that the Saywers had such a transient appearance in this film bar Leatherface himself who became a more sympathetic character rather than scary. There are many horror cliches but entertaining anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it's not that bad, surely!, 27 May 2013
This review is from: Texas Chainsaw 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought the blu ray and after all the negative reviews I've read online I was expecting to hate this. However I ended up being pleasanty surprised as there were quite a few moments in the film that made me jump and especially in the first half of the film the build up to some of the kills were quite suspenseful. The film wasnt overly gory and I liked the attempt of trying to approach the franchise from a different angle (leatherface as an anti-hero). The downsides to the movie though was the lack of character development for Heathers friends and the questionable timeline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watered down trash., 9 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Texas Chainsaw 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
The only thing I liked about this film (and why I give it 2 out of 5) is the girl who plays Leatherface's cousin. She is hot. As for the film it is awful. They even manage to turn Leatherface into the films hero. In a he rescues the girl and kills the bad guys type of way,heck just give him a vest and a catch-phrase for the next movie if this is the direction the series is going. Utter trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hearty Hollywood Fodder, 22 Oct. 2013
By 
This review is from: Texas Chainsaw 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
Just to set the record straight, 'Texas Chainsaw' is intended as a sequel to the 1970's original and I quite liked the way this was established at the start of the film (by means of a montage of clips). From then on though, the whole thing feels a bit forced and VERY silly.

If you try and forget comparing it to the original by taking 'Texas Chainsaw' on it's own merits you basically have the usual Hollywood fodder of good looking teenagers, bad decision making, plot holes a plenty and some gore. Some examples of the dumbness follow...

Spoiler Alert!

- You've just realised you're adopted?....how calmly did she take that!
- You've just realised you're adopted?....let's have a road trip/party!
- You meet a stranger on route?....why not leave him in your newly inherited house all on his own!
- You're interviewing a victim of a horrific attack?....why not leave a box full of photos/newspaper clippings of the victims dead family with her to really lighten the mood?

As you can imagine 'Texas Chainsaw' is as deep as a puddle and easy to dislike. That said, I was in the mood for cheese and cheese is what I got! Despite plenty of head shaking, I have to say it held my attention and delivered some decent gore!

If you approach 'Texas Chainsaw' to pick holes you'll simply hate it and have plenty of ammo for a Hollywood rant, should you so wish. My advice is don't....but hey, if it's a tongue-in-cheek bloodbath you're after (as I was on this particular evening), you could do a lot worse. Worth a look....just don't stare!

Enjoy

AJM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite of the franchise!, 3 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Texas Chainsaw 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
This is my favourite movie from the Texas Chainsaw franchise. This one follows a girl who inherits the 'chainsaw house' after never knowing her real family. It's great to see the past and present collide throughout this plot. I can't say too much without giving anything away, but the ending is a fantastic one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome sequel!, 29 May 2013
By 
john (liverpool) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Texas Chainsaw 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
Texas Chainsaw takes off where the original left off. It has a realistic story and tension to match the blood & gore.
Without giving away the storyline, it stays true and the photography is exquisite.
Excellent film for those who loved the original, and one of the best entries in The Texas Chainsaw Massacre saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TEXAS CHAINSAW LETDOWN, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Texas Chainsaw 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
I AM ONE OF THESE THAT LIKE REMAKES . THE FIRST TWO WERE GOOD, BUT THIS ONE IS A BIT BORING WITH A SILLY PLOT . HAD SOME JUMPY MOMENT'S BUT WAS'NT TO KEEN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Texas Chainsaw 2013 [DVD]
Texas Chainsaw 2013 [DVD] by John Luessenhop (DVD - 2013)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews