Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
181
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2015
Wonderful, what is not too like? Bought this for my four year old daughter who absolutely loves it, more so even than Frozen :) A lovely tale of a young witch (Kiki) who embarks in some training away from home and decides to set up a delivery service with a local bakery. Touching on the issues of starting a new life, making new friends and starting out in life, something we have all been through. I especially love her little black cat Jiji who is full of sarcasm and humour. There is no spirit world, dragons or waring armies in this film, but is just a warm story, spot on family entertainment
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2007
I think some reviewers are missing the point, this is very much a kids film, as someone said for 5- 8 in particular. Princess Mononoke, as a comparator, is unsuitable because of its violence. This, compared to much current animation has better pictures and better story telling. It may be slight to adult eyes, but it is actually about a rite-of-passage - growing up and leaving home - that features large in my 6 year old daughter's thinking about her future, and it provided a way for us to talk about her concerns and aspirations. That might make it sound more worthy than it is, really it is great fun.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2003
As usual Studio Ghibli have created a masterpiece, along with the help of Myazaki, which has managed to go unoticed by the public under the shadow of Disney.
The animation and backdrops are stunning and the flight scenes will blow you away. The story is great too as its about a young whitch who must leave home and inhabit a town to start her 2 year long training.
Great for the kids and a break from the unambitious recent attempts from Walt Disney.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Kiki's delivery service is another charming and warm film from the excellent studio Ghibli. It follows a witch as she tries to go it alone in the wider world and looks at the friends she makes and the adventures she has. It isn't as surreal as other Ghibli films, such as 'Spirited Away' or 'Porco Rosso', but it does have the usual high class animation. Even scenes without any major benefit to the story are rendered so beautifully that every second of the film is a delight to watch. This film would be great for kids as it's light to watch and not overly long, yet it has more than enough to delight an adult audience as well. I am biased, in that I adore Ghibli films, but this is a superb film to while away your time with and a joy to behold. Highly recommended.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Quaint typically soft Japanese animation.

Will make you feel warm inside.

A Very lighthearted and family orientated movie.

Well drawn and animated.

Currently priced at more than £25.00 it is however stupidly expensive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2004
I totally enjoyed this film and I recommend it to anyone who has an interest in Studio Ghibli films, or simply wish to try something new. The beginning of the film shows Kiki in a countryside village and then she sets off to the city to seek her fortune, meeting difficulties and new friends along the way. In my opinion, Kiki is just a typical 13-year old girl (apart from the fact that she is a witch, of course), but because she is a witch, she gets laughed at by other children. However, she always does her best and brings a smile to the audience.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
I bought this (and Spirited Away) a few weeks ago. I've seen the film before and it's a lovely story about a young witch trying to find her place in the world.
However the actual, physical DVD that was sent by the company (as with the Spirited Away one)doesn't play properly. It works for a few minutes, freezes, and then carries on playing, showing the pencil outlines of the animation. You have to stop the film and restart it from the beginning of the scene. It plays fine for a few more minutes and then repeats the same issue.
Beware of this when you buy. Maybe I was just unlucky - but 2 films with the same problem?
I won't give lower stars though because of this as the film is lovely and deserves the 4 I gave it.
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
This is a repeat watch for the most demanding 7 year old film critic in the house. It has remained a favourite a year later.

For the film buffs, this is hand drawn animation as good as it gets. Created by Japan's animation master in 1989, and with the music scored by Joe Hisashi, it is a work of art as well as a compelling children's' story. For art lovers, try to spot the buildings and landscapes, drawn and painted from life, of Stockholm and the Swedish town of Visby on the island of Gotland that are the setting!

For the reason why it is so compelling for girls, remember that this is the story of Kiki's transition into adulthood, with the issues of self-doubt, vulnerability and acceptance. All are dealt with, often visually as much as buy the film's narrative, and unless your heat is made of stone, you'll be cheering for her in the end! This is the girls film that adults will love to watch too.

This version uses the Disney 1998 English Language Dubbing, which is great for all roles but JiJi, the talking black cat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
Loved this joyful story about the journey of a 13 year old witch in her new town and the experiences she has there ,wonderful animation and good voice action ,Kikis sarcastic cat made me laugh . Really enjoyed this very relaxing and enjoyable more so if Japanese animation is a passion, musical soundtracks good too ,found the whole film delightful and had to get it after seeing it on film 4.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
My girls are 6 & 4 they watched this all the way through and said its better than totoro which is their favorite ghibli.. I still prefer Ponyo and i am 40. lol. It is very good for kids no chance of nightmares i would not recomend princess mononoke for little ones. The art is very beautiful as always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.