Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I actually really enjoyed this movie contrary to what most reviewers have said
I actually really enjoyed this movie contrary to what most reviewers have said. Maybe i just don't get so serious about story line or build up my expectations (i swear some people are never happy). Having said that, I grew up in South Africa so maybe I can relate to the context of the movie better than most? Worth a watch anyhow!
Published 4 months ago by hp 2133 sucks

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mediocre Thriller which gets Stuck in Third Gear
The late Paul Walker plays Michael Woods, a good-looking, thirty something ex-con, who's fresh out of jail after serving an 18 month sentence, and looking to build bridges with his estranged girlfriend - his drink problem has caused issues in the relationship. He's released from custody on parole, which he promptly breaches, hiring a Hertz rental minivan (the titular...
Published 15 days ago by Bill


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mediocre Thriller which gets Stuck in Third Gear, 18 Jun. 2015
By 
Bill (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vehicle 19 [DVD] (DVD)
The late Paul Walker plays Michael Woods, a good-looking, thirty something ex-con, who's fresh out of jail after serving an 18 month sentence, and looking to build bridges with his estranged girlfriend - his drink problem has caused issues in the relationship. He's released from custody on parole, which he promptly breaches, hiring a Hertz rental minivan (the titular Vehicle 19), in order to make his way across town to his disgruntled other half. Woods finds a handgun inside the minivan, and then takes a call from a mobile 'phone he discovers inside the glovebox, a police detective who directs him to drive the vehicle to an address in a less salubrious part of town.
Before too long, the wild goose chase finds Woods with a tied up lady dumped inside the rear of the van, holding a pistol which she's pointing directly at his head...
This is a watchable, but workmanlike, thriller. It has something in common with Tom Hardy's movie Locke, in that much of the story centres on what happens to Woods whilst he's driving around town in the minivan. However, restricting much of the film to the confines of the minivan, and with much of the run-time focussing on just the one actor, places unhelpful dramatic constraints on the movie. Tom Hardy, who's an exceptionally gifted actor with a very wide range, couldn't really salvage Locke, the whole film revolving around just him stuck inside a car on a motorway. Paul Walker is a likeable screen prescence, but a less dynamic and intense actor than Hardy, and he too struggles to keep the film involving when it's largely centred on just him stuck inside a vehicle.
This is by no means an awful film, but it's definitely not in the same league as the better instalments of The Fast And The Furious franchise, where Paul Walker earned his fame. It's worth a modest 2.5 stars. If you're looking for a car chase thriller with lots of fast paced action, this film might well disappoint you. If you want to see hypercars like Koenigseggs and Bugatti Veyrons go head to head, Need For Speed is a much better choice than this flick.
Thank you very much for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars PAUL WALKER IN A CAR, 22 April 2013
This review is from: Vehicle 19 [DVD] (DVD)
Michael Woods (Paul Walker) is an America on parole in South Africa wanting to visit his wife or ex-wife at the embassy. He picks up vehicle 19 at the rental place and it is clearly not for him. This leads him into a battle with crooked police as the vehicle contains things to implicate them in illegal activity.

This film takes place in the car, and not just just bits and pieces of it, I mean all of it. Paul Walker in the car talking on the cell phone. Paul Walker in the car driving on the wrong side of the street. Paul Walker in the car talking to people outside. Paul Walker in the car being chased by the police. Paul Walker being pulled over. Paul Walker in the car being shot at. Paul Walker in the car going through a car wash. Paul Walker in the car while it is getting painted...seriously. Paul Walker is on the screen so much George Clooney wants to change agents. The plot grew boring with no twists.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 26 Jun. 2013
By 
chelios1981 (Glos, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Vehicle 19 [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst Paul Walker may not be the best actor in the world, he has at least turned out some good films. Sadly this is not one of them, and even worse he's a producer on this one.

Sometimes low budget thrillers work well with a simple idea of a flawed hero (in this case he is very troubled) stuck in one a bad location or situation (Collin Farell in phonebooth for example, or the Chris Evans film cellular).

This time our hero picks up a rental car, that also happens to contain a hostage in the rear and a gun and mobile phone in the front, in which he receives sinister phone calls with instructions to follow from the bad guys. A good set up for a thriller.

With a similar concept to other aforementioned films, but lacking the tension or pace this film again fails. The central premise is actually quite clever, as most of the film is shot inside the rental car that Walkers character has picked up.

There's some good car stunts, but the film is just so slow and plods, with the central character taking sinister calls every now and then from the unseen villains and then plods from one scene to the next, with the odd bit of action.

Despite Walker and the film makers trying to be original with story and style, it all falls flat and feels like a cheap TV movie.

Watchable and not the worst film made, it suffers as it's a good idea, but poorly executed.

3/5 for attempting to be something a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TOTAL GARBAGE .. very bad mov, 2 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Vehicle 19 (Amazon Instant Video)
i got this film as im a big fan of paul walker & the f& f films but this is 1 of the worst movies iv ever seen ,, very cheaply made .. poor in every way .. shame really that the late great paul walker got associated with this garbage .. dont pay money for this like i did .. i got it on dvd & i would willingly give it away to anyone who wants it .. it really is that bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst film ever, 10 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Vehicle 19 (Amazon Instant Video)
This has to be the worst film i have ever seen. It reminded me of sitting on the M25 in my car. Terrible please avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 May 2014
This review is from: Vehicle 19 [DVD] (DVD)
I m a huge paul walker fan and this film is the worst ever. During the whole movie you're expecting for something to happen. There is a car in this film and pretty much nothing else. He is a good actor but this is a bad movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Zzzzzzz...bore off! 👎, 26 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Vehicle 19 (Amazon Instant Video)
Just aweful! What an absolute load of tripe, buy the worlds biggest tin of paint, paint a wall, watch it dry then repeat until all the paint is gone and it would still be more entertaining than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother!, 23 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vehicle 19 (Amazon Instant Video)
What a shocker! This ranks amongst one of the worst I have watched with a very dull plot and appalling character development. I can't even say it was worth a mindless evening with a beer.
Fail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I like driving in my car, 25 May 2014
This review is from: Vehicle 19 [DVD] (DVD)
If I told you I was going to make a film and set all of it inside a minivan, you would say "no dont do it, thats the worst idea I have ever heard"
And you would be right, painfully slow, the few car chases just require paul walker to change gear, lean into the bend, move the steering wheel a fraction faster.
It would have been more interesting watching him try to work out how to tune the car radio for an hour & 1/2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Give it a swerve!, 2 Mar. 2015
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vehicle 19 [DVD] (DVD)
This has a two page script, a cast below double figures and reeks of cashing in on better movies. The locations are different but look cheap rather than interesting and the couple of chases offered are really sober affairs. Naima Mclean garners some sympathy as the leading lady who knows too much but despite trying, Walker couldn't prop up his lacklustre scripting. It's not a horrible film, just a pointless one. Luckily it has a beginning, a middle and mercifully, an end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vehicle 19 [DVD]
Vehicle 19 [DVD] by Mukunda Michael Dewil (DVD - 2013)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews