Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful
This fantastic book does exactly what it says on the cover: it offers a systematic and fantastic guide to how to write a novel in 90 days. One of the best things about this book is that the author is clearly experienced and knows exactly what he is talking about. I don't usually buy advice books, as I often find them unhelpful, long and boring. They are also often written...
Published 14 months ago by ncm

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure...
The hints are ok, but the quality of the cover and editing are horrible! Cover is just a random internet image that have been enlarged, then millions of dead pixels appears on the cover.
Then, about the editing, you will realize that on pages 14 and 15 he forgot to edit the words "edit" after the subtitle of each subject... and then on the top of even pages,...
Published 6 months ago by Roberto


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful, 21 Jun 2013
This review is from: How to write a book in 90 days.(Extended)(A tried and tested system by a prolific author) (Soft Target Series) (Kindle Edition)
This fantastic book does exactly what it says on the cover: it offers a systematic and fantastic guide to how to write a novel in 90 days. One of the best things about this book is that the author is clearly experienced and knows exactly what he is talking about. I don't usually buy advice books, as I often find them unhelpful, long and boring. They are also often written by self-asserted gurus, who in truth have little experience to offer. However, this book is completely different and has been incredibly helpful. The author speaks from his own experience, sharing his thoughts and discoveries along his personal writing journey.

This book is very well written and easy to read. I've always wanted to write my own book, but simply haven't known where to begin. This great book has really helped me develop my ideas and get my dream onto its feet.

Everything from grammar and punctuation to writing style, creative process and publishing is covered in this great guide - it really is everything you need to know for the entire process. Even when I have read the entire book I will keep referring back to it, as I hope that I'll write more than one book over the next few years.

The advice offered in this book simply isn't available anywhere else, and it's priceless knowledge that the author learned from experience.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this book to any aspiring writers. One of my friends is currently studying a creative writing degree at university and I plan on buying this book for her birthday, as I know writing novels is what she eventually wants to go into. I wouldn't hesitate to give this fantastic book a 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great system, 16 July 2013
By 
Helen Welsh (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to write a book in 90 days.(Extended)(A tried and tested system by a prolific author) (Soft Target Series) (Kindle Edition)
This little book provides a simple but thorough system for getting your novel written, and written well. I was stuck on my fourth draft but this model has reinvigorated me; it's quite a discipline but it's still manageable, and it allows both for new writing, and revision of previous writing. I have found my characters and plot fleshing out in a nice organic, unforced way. Looking forward to Day 90!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strategic approach to novel writing, 18 Jun 2013
The initial idea for writing a novel may at first be an exciting and inspiring prospect. However, for many, all too often the creative urge promptly disappears when faced with the daunting task of consolidating an idea into 70K words! For those thinking of making a living from this kind of work, a simple and effective method is needed in order to be able to produce a steady stream of work.

Conrad Jones approaches this task as an experienced writer with nine thrillers, four horrors and two biographies to his name. His very practical guide deals with the nitty gritty issues of word count, grammar, the task of rewriting, researching and finding inspiration. He covers the inclusion of marketing hooks and promotion, and provides links to useful sites.

Jones outlines a systematic approach, not necessarily intended to be applied prescriptively, but as a starting point from which writers may develop their own working style. And it is a great starting point. Budding authors can avoid mistakes and time wasting by gleaning from Jones' experience as he deals with frequent pitfalls and outlines a step-by-step plan of action for novelists.

This book is not a tool for developing and improving creative writing technique but it is a helpful aid for transforming ones creativity into the tangible (and publishable!) form of a novel. There is no abstract theorizing, merely a concise and easy to follow tutorial on the process of novel writing from start to finish.

There does seem to be an unnecessary amount of attention and detailed explanation given to some areas, such as use of social media. But overall, this book is encouraging and instructive and the information provided is relevant and useful. In addition, the guide carries the weight of being written by someone who knows what he is doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired by his BBC News appearance, 24 Feb 2014
This review is from: How to write a book in 90 days.(Extended)(A tried and tested system by a prolific author) (Soft Target Series) (Kindle Edition)
Great method that you cannot argue with. I have read all his books and they are brilliant. If he says that is how he writes them then I'm going to do the exact same with mine. Great system, Conrad thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short But Valuable Advice, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to write a book in 90 days.(Extended)(A tried and tested system by a prolific author) (Soft Target Series) (Kindle Edition)
Mr. Jones gives what looks like excellent advice on writing a novel and how to market it by social media. I say "looks like" because I'm an aspiring novelist rather than a published one. :)
There is no filler here, I read this in an hour. It is to the point. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Confidence to get started after reading this exceptional book., 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to write a book in 90 days.(Extended)(A tried and tested system by a prolific author) (Soft Target Series) (Kindle Edition)
Conrad Jones lays out clear strategies in a concise manner.

The summaries are especially helpful in keeping the reader focused on the objective of the book. It has given me a structure and the confidence to actually write.

Unfortunately this ipad kindle version seems to have no chapters so referring back is a pain. It also means it contradicts Conrad's key points on marketing and presentation. For this reason I can not give it 5 stars which the content definitely deserves.

Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide., 12 Aug 2014
This review is from: How to write a book in 90 days.(Extended)(A tried and tested system by a prolific author) (Soft Target Series) (Kindle Edition)
This book is written by a successful and prolific author who has used his experiences in an invaluable way, to produce a very good guide for authors.

Whether you do write your book in 90 days or not, this book offers sound information and guidelines on many points.
The author started his career having to juggle a ‘day’ job with his writing, and so he fully understands the pressures writers are put under both personally, by others, and situations around them.

As well as the expected advice on the importance of doing your homework, building characters, word counts and targets, the book is full of good ideas to improve your writing. The author has included some really good examples of how, by making changes to your writing style, you can make the same story scene much more interesting, and how to increase the sales and marketing opportunities by adding ‘hooks,’ which link the book to specific places etc.

His repetition of the importance of rewriting may sound a bit daunting, however, anyone who has written a book knows that this becomes second nature after a while.

No-one can guarantee that you write a best seller, the original ideas have to come from you, however, the amount of advice given in this book is phenomenal, and it is given in a no nonsense style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure..., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The hints are ok, but the quality of the cover and editing are horrible! Cover is just a random internet image that have been enlarged, then millions of dead pixels appears on the cover.
Then, about the editing, you will realize that on pages 14 and 15 he forgot to edit the words "edit" after the subtitle of each subject... and then on the top of even pages, there's his name "Conrad Jones" and on the top of odd pages "Book title" instead of the name of his book.... I know, little things... but little things that can actually bring readers to buy and enjoy or instead, diminish the author's reputation! I think the book is fine, but yet, not worth 5 I would say that for the number of pages (67) and the lack of attention on small details, 2.50 would be a fair price to ask for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good books!, 28 Dec 2013
This review is from: How to write a book in 90 days.(Extended)(A tried and tested system by a prolific author) (Soft Target Series) (Kindle Edition)
A winning system for me. It makes you think about how to disipline your writing and think about what you're going to do with it once you have completed your book. I can't understand the poor reviews, which say there is no system! Did you read the book or are you stupid? It is simple but obvious yet I will be applying it to my work from tomorrow. You can't argue with a guy who has written so many good books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect guide, 12 Jun 2013
This review is from: How to write a book in 90 days.(Extended)(A tried and tested system by a prolific author) (Soft Target Series) (Kindle Edition)
Ok so I it would be unfair for me to not do a review on this book, its simply the answer amateur writers are looking for. This book is hands down the perfect guide for helping first time writers to get off the ground with accomplishing their dream. I simply have to say hats off to the writer for putting together such a wonderful book and for spending the time to put all these valuable information together in one simple book. The truth is most authors would definitely hold back on such detailed secrets but thanks to Conrad Jones writers can now be liberated, Thanks Conrad for putting together this gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews