Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer is coming!
His first album 'Colour of the trap' (2011) was one of the most thrilling thing the music Industry gave us recently! The second one, this one, is pure energy with fantastic songs; all of them could be singles. The production by Ian is excellent and Paul Weller, Andy Partridge are added pearls in a treasure which lives because of its great value. Glam Rock, danceable...
Published 14 months ago by DaveOnSale

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - but not Great.
I really like Miles Kane - he's an amazing live act but this album doesn't really do him justice. There ARE good tracks but toward the end of the album is more filler tracks then anything. 'You're Gonna Get It' is one of those - Again I'm a fan of Paul Weller too but I just don't think it's either of their best work! I hope that the next album is more wholesome - Kane is...
Published 6 months ago by Blake Smith-Daniels


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer is coming!, 9 Jun 2013
This review is from: Don't Forget Who You Are (Audio CD)
His first album 'Colour of the trap' (2011) was one of the most thrilling thing the music Industry gave us recently! The second one, this one, is pure energy with fantastic songs; all of them could be singles. The production by Ian is excellent and Paul Weller, Andy Partridge are added pearls in a treasure which lives because of its great value. Glam Rock, danceable riffs, choruses and sharp guitars make this record a joy from the beginning to the last second; "Give Up" and "Don't Forget Who You Are" are the first singles you can listen everywhere, but my favourite Tracks are "What Condition Am I In?" and "Fire in My Heart". Honestly all tracks are great and I like the order Miles put these tracks in the Album. In Concert should be incredible! It's my Summer CD but I think I will love it also in Wintertime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Summer Songs, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Forget Who You Are (Audio CD)
Loved Colour of the Trap but after only a couple of listens think this is better! Catchy songs and great hooks. Will be in my car all 'summer'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent new album!, 13 July 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Don't Forget Who You Are (Audio CD)
If you enjoyed Miles Kane's debut album 'Colour Of The Trap', which I regard as a masterpiece of British record, then you'll enjoy 'Don't Forget Who You Are'. Although it is a very worthy followup, I don't think it's superior to 'Colour Of The Trap', his first remains his best so far.

The single of the same name is one of the highlights on here, a perfect feel-good song with a great chorus, but most of the others are worth listening to on repeat as well. Personal favourites include 'Taking Over', 'Better Than That' and 'Tonight', all of which are immediately catchy and energetic. Like other reviewers before me have written, 'Don't Forget Who You Are' is the CD of my Summer as well.

I don't think that anyone will forget who Miles is for a while, and if he continues to release such brilliant albums, I think that he will have a long career and shall receive the recognition he deserves as an extremely talented singer and songwriter.

Quality new album, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Follow-up, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Forget Who You Are (Audio CD)
In spite of a somewhat mixed reception using terms such as "60's pastiche" etc, I love this album. His musical influences are clearly there to hear, but he executes this style with absolute perfection. If this were Alex Turner rather than Miles Kane, perhaps the critics would have been rather more lenient! All I can say is that from start to finish, this amounts to a near perfect 40 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album of 2013, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Mark Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not a bad track on it. as good , if not better than, The Colour of the Trap, which was quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a duff track on it!, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Forget Who You Are (Audio CD)
No need to fast forward past a track that isn't really good enough - every song's excellent and could stand as a single in its own right. On the strength of this, I can't wait to see Miles on tour in the autumn. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not disappointed, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the singles released from the album, so decided to purchase the album. I was not disappointed. An album I will enjoy listening to throughout the summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great energy and Great tunes!!, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
MK almost manages to reproduce the energy and vitality of his memorable live performances on this record.
Just like on "Colour of the trap" it contains some fantastic catchy melodies but unfortunately does have a couple of duds!
Which do not detract too much ,from the overall enjoyment of the record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An accomplished sophomore effort, 10 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: Don't Forget Who You Are (Audio CD)
Mile Kane's debut Colour Of The Trap was a sleeper hit back in 2011, flirting with various styles of blues, indie and soul. This follow up sees him sharpening his sound into something more brash and aggressive, with oodles of finger-clicking melodies and hooks. For the most part, it works.

The tone is instantly set with opener Taking Over, a snappy, snarling bombast which is indicative of many of the tracks here (only 4 of the 11 tracks pass the 3 minute mark). The sleazy, glam-tinged You're Gonna Get It is equally thrilling, whilst Don't Forget You Who Are is probably Kane's most anthemic track to date.

The only dip comes in the tender Fire In My Heart, an ode to hopeless romanticism that flounders slightly. It's a small quibble in a set punctuated with thrills and excitement, with Kane sounding more assured and confident than ever before. Anticipation now begins to see what he can come up with on the next album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upbeat melodic power, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. M. Howe (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Miles Kane slams down an anthemic 21st century blend of melodies and attitude into the sterile blandness of most popular music. With undertones of the 1960s, layered with haunting melodies from the britpop 1990s, his sound has a confident edgy attitude that's worthy of modern ass-kicking music.

This album should be in every upbeat music fan's mp3 library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Forget Who You Are
Don't Forget Who You Are by Miles Kane (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews