Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars41
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 April 2013
I heard this album playing in a record store - there are still some around, fortunately - and was immediately captivated by the singer's voice. I was intrigued by the title too; Quercus is of course the latin name for oak. I wanted to know more about this record.

The song which was playing turned out to be the first on the album, Lassie Lie Near Me, a setting of a poem by Robert Burns. The words could be construed a number of ways, and interpreted in any number of moods, but June Tabor finds a quiet contentment, with the barest hint of resignation. It's a remarkable voice, with practically no vibrato, the warmth of tone echoed in the saxophone of Iain Ballamy.

After wrapping his sounds around that of the singer, Ballamy occasionally takes up a few motifs and goes off to develop the lines, supported by Huw Warren on the piano. The instrumentalists are understated but sympathetic in their support of Tabor, creating a mood with the barest palette of colours.

The tone of the album is one of quiet reflection, in the main. It's uplifting rather than depressing though, and one has the feeling of being somehow renewed after listening to it. Perhaps it's the gentle strength in June Tabor's voice, the ability to make one look forward with hope, rather than back with regret.

A gem of a release from ECM.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
Re T. Phillip's (otherwise excellent) review, I think the flaw in the saxophone sound is natural mouthpiece noise. As a source of irritation it's on a par with Keith Jarrett's grunts or too much fret noise in a guitar performance, in other words what you sometimes have to put up with when you want to experience greatness. Whether ECM could or should have engineered it out is a moot point. Don't let it put you off or you'll deny yourself too much that is wonderful.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
I've been a big fan of June Tabor for many years-whether she's performed with the Oyster Band/Martin Simpson et al. This was with two excellent jazz performers and the result was stunning! Beautiful vocals, spine tingling saxophone and flowing piano. Can't stop playing it. Reminiscent of Jan Garbarek in places (same record label ECM) but that's good. Catch their live tour as well- this is really excellent and I've sent it to friends in California.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
Great combination of talents. Love June Tabor (voice) and Ian Ballamy (sax) pacing one another on Come Away Death. Classic June Tabor on Brigg Fair - no accompaniment - just that wonderful resonance. Huw Warren's piano is perfect - so right for June's voice, and beautiful by itself on Teares.

June could sing any thing and I'd love it, but this is a real bonus!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
I've long been a follower of June Tabor and this unusual and haunting album is a luscious addition to her canon. Like many other people, I was initially concerned about what seemed like distortion on the saxophone - though it's also worth saying that's more noticeable and intrusive when listening on headphones, and less of a problem when using speakers.

The version of Butterworth's Lads In Their Hundreds (a long term favourite of mine from the English song repertoire) is outstanding.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
This is a stunning album. I have all of Tabors music and have been a fan since the start. Her version here of As I Roved Out is completely different from, but equal to the version by Planxty. There is in my view no higher praise. The music is quiet, yet forceful and deeply moving. Tabor is capable of many moods and styles of music, this disc concentrates on one aspect of her talent but in collaboration with her fellow musicians she has produced a major statement as well as a really great listening experience. Give it a try, then go back through her catalogue, there are jewels everywhere.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
I do not usually listen to jazz, being folk or folk-rock oriented (or classical: another strength of the brilliant ECM label); but anything bearing June Tabor's name must be <hugely> worthwhile -- andd so it is with Quercus. Wonderful album! (And, yes: I bet she'd make a great Prime Minister!)

There is no more sensitive musician around that this -- I remember her referring to "the blessed Richard Thompson" when introducing one of his songs (she has covered plenty of them); but the word "blessed" is equally valid for herself and I hope she knows we think this way about her (we, her fans)

Quercus blew me away, first time I listened to it. Enough said...it is exquisite! Go forth: buy and enjoy!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
June Tabor's unmistakeable voice blends perfectly with the saxes of Ian Ballamy and the piano of Huw Warren. So - beautifully performed, well chosen, a total pleasure.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
I'm listening to it for the first time now. It's gorgeous, and though I'm a folkie rather than a jazzie I've always liked Tabor's more jazzy stuff as it suits her voice so well. Now go buy "Ashore", her 2011 masterpiece, which was overshadowed by the excellent but flawed Ragged Kingdom collaboration. Whilst lacking the jazz element, Ashore - like this - has the spare, undecorated, quiet, and powerful vocals: understated and overwhelming.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
June Tabor’s voice is marvellous here (as always). The songs are wonderfully played, and are often delicate and melancholy. The only small criticism is that it can sound a bit anodyne after awhile, and you (well I anyway), just long for a bit of edge somewhere.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)